We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talented Staff make property home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Talented Staff make property home away from home”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Vicki Crichton at the front desk is a difference maker. She is the main reason I return to this property every trip to NYC. Vicki has gone out of her way to make me feel welcome. For the times she is not available at the property she introduced me to Venus. On the times Vicki isn't available Venus takes good care of getting me checked in and welcomed back. I have stated at this specific property for over 8 years straight due to the excellent relationship that has been developed with Vicki.

Room Tip: Be respectful to the front desk agents and they will make sure to take good care of getting you in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Rob P,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our property and for taking the time to mention two of our outstanding employees: Vicki and Venus. I will certainly share your feedback with them as I am sure they will appreciate the kind feedback. We look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    1,750
    989
    358
    257
See reviews for
1,005
1,457
268
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my 6th stay at this hotel, I love the fact that while its not in the super busy Time Square area it has a very convenient location. The staff makes me feel very welcome as I have a few specific requirements considering I stay 2-3 weeks each time. Nice breakfast in the morning, good bar in the evening and 100 restaurants around it. Great gym. I also would like to thank someone in the GM's office for really helping me with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosair12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bosair12345,
Thank you for the amazing feedback! I am very pleased to know that you consider our property to be your home away from home . We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to your continues visits. Should you need anything while you are here with us, please feel free to contact me directly at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My first impression was how nice. Then I realized they charged you to even have wireless available in your room. They did provide in the lounge area...but not enough seats for everyone wanting to use it. The bar staff couldn't have been more rude. I only went to ask for a menu, because the Check in receptionist told me to. I got completely ignored...then when another person come out. He basically refused to help me. When I arrived to my room it was nice. They were in the middle of remodeling. (Can I just say how EXTREMELY nice the maid staff and maintenance crew were) The room never got cold. - I'm from the south I like it 69 when I'm indoors. Food was way over priced for quality. On a positive note...very comfortable bed. First time away from home I actually slept the first night.

Room Tip: I received a end room that was handicap access...seem to have less noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Sear Shannon J,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very happy to hear that you found the maintenance staff and the housekeepers to be very pleasant. I do apologize for the rudeness of the bar staff. I do hope that you will stay with us again so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We gave 2 nights in Manhattan as a graduation present. Everything was supposed to be prepaid, but when they arrived, they were told a $200 (security?) deposit was required ($50 x 2 rooms x 2 nights). This caused a lot of stress -- phone calls, emails, faxed forms with guarantees to pay, etc. Otherwise, they loved the rooms, service, location and were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mary Jane P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us . We do require a security deposit of $50 per night for any incidentals that you may incur during your stay. I apologize if this caused you any inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good, Adjustable lighting and great service good talking to the house keeping workers so it was a good experience for my first time in NYC, i spoke to someone who recommend me to this website he goes by the name of Noel, good to talk to if you are looking for conversing with someone.

Room Tip: Go Higher, The lower floors have a terrible view of a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sparta G,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We hope to see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was so impressed with the hotel, very clean, people very nice and warm, the value of this hotel is worth it because the attention of the hotel personel was on time and with much care to please me. Many places near the hotel, it is the best hotel in New York

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mercedes60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mercedes60763,
Thank you for the terrific review. We are very pleased that you were pleased by the attention to detail of my team. I will share your wonderful feedback with them. We hope that there will be many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in February last year (2013). An adequate hotel and good base for walking to nearby times square (about a 10 minute walk). It was great for what we needed it to be, just a base to explore the city. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. We got a lovely warm cookie on arrival which was nice. Room was nice and clean and beds were comfortable. I would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraTurner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear LauraTurner23,
Thank you for submitting your review! I am happy to know that your experience with us was wonderful. I hope that you will stay with us again this year and also utilize other facilities of the hotel so that you can update us on how we are doing. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,834 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#363 of 468 in New York City
2,346 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#340 of 468 in New York City
1,821 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#327 of 468 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 468 in New York City
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing