We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed from Jul 10th to the 13th and we had a good time. The hotel is in a nice location, walking distance to Central Park, Grand Central, and many other attractions. It has a train station right next door as well as a Metro Cafe where we ate our breakfast. Our room was the 1648. The room was clean and it was a good size for two people with 3 luggage. The only complaint would be that you could hear the doors slamming from the other rooms, and this could be frustrating in the morning. We got a great rate through priceline name your own price so we feel that we paid a good rate. If you are a Hilton Member make sure to use our account, it seems like they have 2 floors just for that and i am assuming that the rooms might be better.

We didn't have any issues with the elevator, and felt that it wasn't as slow as other here mentioned. We do recommend this hotel and if we find the same rate, we would gladly stay again on our next trip.

Room Tip: We have AT&T internet and we used our login account to get free wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingoMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear MingoMiami,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy that you had a lovely stay and hope to see you for future stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,700
    950
    340
    240
See reviews for
968
1,400
255
1,099
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shreveport la
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We got in early so we had to hang out in the lobby for a while which was fine, but then the check in process was very slow and there were long lines. Not something you want to deal with when you have been traveling all day. We were in room 1001, and they upgraded us to a king bed which was nice. The room is still kind of smallish but we didn't plan to be in it much. The biggest problem we had was that they didn't clean the room every day. I really hate that, we were there for a whole week, and it cost 1700$, to me for that amount of money they can make the bed and take out the trash every day. One day they came by after diner time around 7pm to see if we needed house keeping. Very insufficient. Having a clean towel every day is something I have at home, so I expect for this much money to have that same thing. Especially when wifi and breakfast are additional charges. I probably would t stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfrance002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Mfrance002,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the inconvenience with your room not being serviced everyday. We thank you for informing us of this, we will certainly follow up with our housekeeping team to prevent the recurrence of this event.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Ha Sharon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel through booking.com they had a nice deal that included free Wi-Fi. The room was convenient and clean. I stayed for 4 nights and was very pleased with everything.
Gym is nice and is open 24x7. The location was perfect for me as I had meetings across the street all week.
The only blemish was a corrupt doorman who didn't let my yellow taxi wait for me while I picked my suitcase on the way to the airport. (he asked the cab driver for money!)

Helpful?
Thank Achi_H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Achi_H,
Thank for the feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am happy that the convenience of our location worked out perfectly for your meeting and that you were pleased with your room. I must apologize for the experience that you had with the doorman. This is not the kind of experience that we want our valued guests to have. I will certainly conduct a further investigation into this matter. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

could not ever get the temp in the room down to a comfortable level. Staff looked at the problem and said it was operating correctly. Thermosat was hard to program, just kept reverting back to wrong setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ken C,
I ma very sorry to hear of the hassle you experienced with the thermostat in your room. I have passed on your comment to our Engineering department about our AC units. They are currently working on how to make it easier for our guests to maneuver the thermostat. If there is anything else that we could have done to make your time with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know, so that we can improve upon our service for future guests. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon.
Nadria Buchanan - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This was a good trip for us. The kids really enjoyed it. The staff, especially Venus at the front desk and the housekeeping staff, we're VERY friendly...going out of their way to help. We've stayed in 5 star hotels and this staff ranked well with them. The rooms were average. They were clean, but showed wear. The tub in the bathroom drained extremely slow which turned a 2 minute shower into a shower/ bath. For the price and the overall experience/location, we'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sekou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sekou M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very happy to hear that Venus went above and beyond to assist you. Thank you for bringing this details to our attention, we will certainly use your comments to improve our services. Thank you for staying and we look forward to your next visit.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Vicki Crichton at the front desk is a difference maker. She is the main reason I return to this property every trip to NYC. Vicki has gone out of her way to make me feel welcome. For the times she is not available at the property she introduced me to Venus. On the times Vicki isn't available Venus takes good care of getting me checked in and welcomed back. I have stated at this specific property for over 8 years straight due to the excellent relationship that has been developed with Vicki.

Room Tip: Be respectful to the front desk agents and they will make sure to take good care of getting you in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Rob P,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our property and for taking the time to mention two of our outstanding employees: Vicki and Venus. I will certainly share your feedback with them as I am sure they will appreciate the kind feedback. We look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my 6th stay at this hotel, I love the fact that while its not in the super busy Time Square area it has a very convenient location. The staff makes me feel very welcome as I have a few specific requirements considering I stay 2-3 weeks each time. Nice breakfast in the morning, good bar in the evening and 100 restaurants around it. Great gym. I also would like to thank someone in the GM's office for really helping me with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosair12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bosair12345,
Thank you for the amazing feedback! I am very pleased to know that you consider our property to be your home away from home . We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to your continues visits. Should you need anything while you are here with us, please feel free to contact me directly at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#351 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#328 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,685 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing