We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The DoubleTree Metropolitan was an easy 30 minute taxi/cab trip from JFK (recommended). The 51st E subway station was also just outside if you are adventurous enough to catch the train from the airport. Upon check-in hotel was clean and comfortable. We even received a cookie upon checking in, and free cookies were handed out in the early morning. This was a nice touch. The queen bed sized room was standard, and the bath room was large. However, the shower was designed for hobbits with the shower head fixed at hip height. While we hope that we were the exception, our room service/cleaning was really poor. Our room was often skipped, or was serviced after 5pm (after we returned from a day of sightseeing). The front-of-house hotel staff were rude and refused to add our stay to our Hilton HHonors because “we booked via a 3rd party site”. This was the first time we’ve heard this. Lastly, after checkout and settling our account, our credit card had a two extra pending authorizations that we never authorized. These were in addition to the initial authorization for incidentals upon check-in. While we would recommend this hotel, we do so purely because of the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRayTracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear TheRayTracer,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us. I am happy to know that the location worked our perfectly for your sightseeing needs. We are able to add your you Hilton Honors number to third party reservations, however, you will not be able to receive any points for stay as it is not considered a quantifying stay as it was booked through a third party. I am sorry if you were misinformed. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,698
    950
    339
    239
See reviews for
968
1,398
255
1,097
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our experience was just wonderful from start to finish. The ease of booking and check-in were fantastic. The staff was helpful, courteous, & really friendly.
We were so pleased to find our room so spacious & pristine. The morning breakfast was varied & well prepared, a great start to the day. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njgeorgefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Njgeorgefam,
Thank you for the wonderful review. It is always such a pleasure to hear that our guest have such an amazing experience with us. We hope that there will be many more visits. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many many times. It is my preferred hotel in New York. It's right next to the subway and a few small cafes for breakfast or a fast lunch. The breakfast at the hotel is superior too, a great buffet. As far as the hotel staff - they are the BEST! I am actually going this weekend and can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Shari K,
Thank you for the amazing feedback. I am very to happy to hear that you enjoy staying at our property. We look forward to having you over the weekend so that we can surpass your expectations.Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here NYE. it was a last minute decision to get a hotel and obviously the rates are at a peak. I've stayed in doubletree hotels before but OMG was this one small. Location was okay. But the room was so tiny we had to step over our luggage to get to the other side of the room. Couldn't even shut the bathroom door without hovering over the toilet, there just wasn't enough room. The damn heater was blowing out cold air ALL NIGHT LONG. We were so exhausted after leaving Times Square when the ball dropped we didn't bother telling the hotel of this issue. Instead we piled ALL of our clothes on top of the heater to stop the cold air. That's what got us through the night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Nic M,
I am very sorry to hear of the experience you had with us as a result of the HVAC unit in your room. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experience as a result of this. We aim to make all our guests comfortable and it is very unfortunate that we were unable to do so for your stay. We thank you for staying with us and really hope that we will see you for future stays so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

i go to this hotel every week. the rooms are clean. it's in a great location. and the staff is very good. i could go to other hotels in the area, but i like this one because of the people. and while everyone on the staff has been very helpful - really, not a bad one in the bunch - there are 3 who always seem to look out for me: doran, taryn, and stephany. it is really a nice thing to come in after travelling and have someone take the time to ask how i'm doing.

so when you go, ask for one of them. or frankly, just be nice to whoever it is who's helping you out, and you will be set. it's midtown manhattan so they're going to have to deal with a lot of jerks. don't be one of them.

Room Tip: odd numbered rooms on the upper floors will likely have a view of the chrysler building. at night, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ross A,
Thank you for being such a loyal guest to our hotel. We are truly humbled and honored by your loyalty. I am very happy to hear that Taryn, Doron and Stephany always exceed your expectationsof service. I will certainly share your comments with the team. We look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Room 747, cramped, A/C adjustments did not work and unit was loud, room stayed at 75 degrees all July evening... bathroom wallpaper was stained with what looked like dripped coffee or hot chocolate – gross. Called front desk, transferred to I think maintenance but the phone rang and rang, no one picked up at 10 PM

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Dom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Dom M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for your displeasure with your and the inoperable HVAC unit in your room. Please be assured that your concerns are heard and will certainly be addressed as this is not the kind of experience that we want our valued guest to have. We would be humbled if you decided to stay with us again so that we can demonstrate the quality service experience that you expect and deserve from our hotel. Should you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com so that I can personally assist with your reservation needs. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Manhattan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are not a preferred hilton member, you will have to pay for Wifi. I found the room clean and sufficient for the purpose of the stay, if I were to vacation there, I would find a place with a refrigerator or more space. Since it is a small room and no refrigerator. But it is centrally located and it is easy to find decent places to dine in the area, subway close, and other transits easy accessible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alycia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Alycia M ,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us . I just wanted to take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel does provide refrigerators to guest rooms upon their requests. We hope that we will see you for many more visits so that we can better serve you. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,683 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing