We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of the Hotel's staff, are fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All of the Hotel's staff, are fantastic”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Booked the double tree for 10 days in NYC. Before we arrived I emailed the hotel to see if I could pay for an upgrade, and Bassem (who is the hero of this piece) upgraded us to a higher floor free of charge!
Reception was always happy and helpful, and the housekeeping service seemed happy to service our room whenever we left, day or night.

The only downside is the concierge, who are an outside company. A new person on the desk everyday, and don't even bother to ring because the phone isn't answered and messages aren't returned. We had trouble with ticket bookings, which I won't go into in detail, but luckily Bassem saved the day again!
Would return on business, probably for leasure too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Piers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
DEar Pier M,
I am very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Bassem was able to assist you on multiple occasions before and during your stay. I will certainly convey your wonderful comments to him and the rest of my management team. We hope to see you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    1,774
    999
    362
    259
See reviews for
1,027
1,481
271
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this location for work related reasons. The room was nice although you could hear every car horn, fire truck, police car and EMT vehicle racing down the street. The bar and restaurant was far too pricey considering the overall cost to stay (over $900.00 for three nights). For example, it cost me $25.00 for two drinks at the bar. I was also charged almost $30.00 for breakfast and was automatically charged gratuity. The only thing the staff brought me was a cup of coffee and orange juice. I served myself and no one offered to run my check up for payment. If you're going to charge me that much for breakfast at least do more than just seat me, bring me two drinks and leave the check.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Rick R,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the comments and will certainly keep them in mind as we continually improve the services we provide. We hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Th only good memory I have of this hotel is the hot cookie provided on check-in. Whilst the location of the hotel is good, the rooms are very average, if not inferior to that. The bathroom as well as the room itself are worne out and desperately need refurbishing. Wifi is only available for a fee whilst this is nowadays provided free of charge in most of the hotels I am staying. Staff is very average as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Vacationjudge,
Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to the Big Apple. Please be assured that your candid feedback is truly appreciated as we continually try to improve our service offerings. I am sorry to hear of your displeasure with our rooms, I will certainly share this with our facilities team for their review. We thank you for staying with us and do hope that you will reconsider staying with us so that you can let us know how we are doing.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Jeju Island, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a good experience, and Jennifer Taylor at the front desk was very nice, friendly and helpful. Also she is give me the very delicious cookies. So, I have favorably impressed by this hotel and Jennifer Taylor at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taesan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Taesan L,
Thank you for the extraordinary comments regarding the wonderful experience you had at our hotel and the service you received from Jennifer Taylor! I will share your comments with the rest of my management team and also be sure to recognize Jennifer for a job well done. We certainly hope to see you again for future visits. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Quick business trip to NYC. Experience and hospitality were of the highest order. Everything in this hotel was of the caliber that one would expect in Midtown Manhattan. Staff was very welcoming and helpful. I will be back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Bobby S,
I am very excited to hear of the exceptional service that you received from my team during your most recent visit. It is always a pleasure to hear form our guests , especially with positive comments. We look forward to many more visits so that we can surpass your expectations of service.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked 2 Delux rooms for elderly parents from china, total 6 people....3 in each...arrived and told that only one room was booked....needed another room so we purchased one...problem 2 single beds...no rollaways, no other room....called credit card company to verify That I was charged for 2 rooms, indeed I was but the hotel had reversed charges on one the day before we arrived...they denied this....said we could change I the morning.....Morning came a different person at the desk .....no sir you can not change your room, we do to have one......Never again Ever.....I heard later they pull this when they have over booked....Now you know....

Room Tip: Try another hotel,we travel the world and recommend you skip the So Hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear James L,
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially about areas where we can do better. We are sorry that we couldn't supply your reserved room type. Our front desk department goes through a detailed process every day to make sure that our guests receive exactly the room they expect. There are times when we won’t be able to have the same room available to guests extending their stays with us. Once again, we’re sorry for the inconvenience and hope that the next time your family travels to the area you’ll stay with us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Now - for avid viewers of my other reviews, it won't come as any surprise that I'm very honest! We were travelling all around the East Coast before we ended up in Manhattan - somewhat by surprise. To cut a long story short, we had a very well planned out and executed itinerary and then there was a little rain in Mystic....so we decided that 3 days in The Hamptons with no sunshine guarantee might be a little dull and we re-routed into Manhattan! Good idea all round.....

I had to speak with the team at Central Reservations as we travel in interconnecting rooms wherever possible (and certainly knowing what Manhattan room sizes tend to me). They could see that the Metropolitan had interconnecting & parking, so we booked. We booked an King Room interconnecting with 2 doubles. All was well. The rooms were showing as interconnecting on the online booking system as well and I felt pleased.

We arrived in Manhattan relatively painlessly and parked in the hotel garage - which is an experience in itself!

Now the painful bit. Check in was a bit of an unprecedented nightmare. The queues were exceptionally long and there was a $2 fee per bag, per drop off and pick up.....this seems very unusual, but hey ho! We're HHonors members so we have a special desk - sadly with the most unhelpful member of staff i've ever had the pleasure of meeting in a hotel, and that's saying something. She the advised (still without a smile) that our rooms were not interconnecting because 'someone had stayed an extra night'. "Nothing can be done".

Cue the obligatory "can we speak with the manager please" and we had the absolute pleasure of meeting Missy. She is fantastic at her job and understood immediately the problem.

She went out of her way to resolve and certainly the resolution made for a very pleasant stay.

The hotel has been recently refurbed, lifts are very efficient, the staff (generally) very pleasant and good fun. There are a couple of really good breakfast places next door. The subway is right on the corner outside.

The hotel is centrally enough located that you can walk where you want to go - 5th avenue is very close, central park is very walkable as it the ESB.

Good location, just watch out for the Moody Margaret on reception.......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelavectweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Travelavectweens,
Thank you for the detailed review you provided of your most recent visit to the DTMet. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had at check in . We want all our guest to have a wonderful stay from arrival to departure and clearly we failed to do so. I am very happy to hear that Mitzie was able to make things right and accommodate your requests. We would be humbled if you decided to stay with us again so that we can surpass your expectations of the service you received . Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#176 of 467 in New York City
7,906 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,206 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#343 of 467 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#363 of 467 in New York City
2,388 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,574 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#334 of 467 in New York City
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing