We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #336 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Great location , subway station next to the hotel, even the E train from jfk stops two blocks from hotel if planning to take the airtrain, very clean , comfortable bed and fair room size, great rate also avg 180 per night. The Cafe Metro downstairs good for breakfast, very good location. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had the farthest room in the floor, beware of that checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank touristpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Touristpr,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your most recent stay. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and we hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,619 - 2,625 of 5,009 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

Hotel is average, lobby and bar are subpar. The rooms were clean. The restaurant was not worth the time or money. If you are just looking for somewhere to sleep, this hotel will be fine. There are no extras.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Janet D,
Thank you for staying with us and providing your comments. We hope to see you for future visits so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan-Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The place was nice and clean and perfect for a Manhattan stay. A little pricey but I guess expected for NYC. Entrance into the subway was right at the corner. It was within 2 miles of all that we wanted to visit. There's no food after a certain hr, so if you come back to the hotel hungry, you'll need to order pizza or something. Other than the housekeeper who mistakenly entered our room without knocking (thank goodness we weren't naked!), everything else was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Julie Y,
I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay . I must apologize on behalf of the housekeeping staff for the intrusion in your room. I will be sure to have our housekeeping managers address this with the staff. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can better serve you, Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have recently returned from a four-night stay at the Doubletree. This was part of a twin centre holiday to New York and Barbados. (Please see my other review: Almond Beach Resort, Barbados.) I flew to New York with Virgin Atlantic from Heathrow airport, via Manchester, and my party consisted of two adults and one child aged fourteen years.

On arrival at the hotel, checking in was quick and easy and everything was clean, modern and inviting. All the hotel staff were friendly, and we were given free cookies at reception - this was a nice touch after a long flight. Unfortunately, though, there were no tea and coffee making facilities available in the room to make a drink to go with them! I'm not saying this is something we particularly missed during our stay, but as we were staying on a room only basis it would have been nice to be able to make a tea or coffee first thing in the morning.

Our room was on the nineteenth floor, but this was no problem as there were several lifts, which were fairly quick, and we did at least get a good view from the window. The room was clean, bright and modern too, and everything was always cleaned, changed and tidied up when we returned to our room in the evening. The only other comment I would make about the room was that it had a fixed shower head over the bath, which was quite high up and could not be adjusted. As I am only small, I found showering a somewhat daunting experience!!

There was no free Wi-Fi in the room, but there was in the lobby area downstairs. It was very quick and reliable and there were plenty of comfortable areas to sit in - needless to say, lots of people were down there on their tablets and phones! There was also a bar, restaurant, gift shop, small business centre, hairdressers and beauty salon in the hotel, but we didn't use any of these so unfortunately cannot comment on them. There was also a very tempting chocolate shop next door, which I did plan to go in but never got chance to in the end!

The hotel was well situated in Manhattan for getting out and about. There was a
Subway station just across the road, and you could easily walk to the main shopping areas and Central Park. There were plenty of places to eat all over New York at reasonable prices - much cheaper than the UK. There were also plenty of coffee shops around; including the old faithful chains like Starbucks.

We bought last minute tickets for a Broadway show which the hotel staff helped us with by telling us the best place to get cheap tickets from, and we got great seats! We also booked our taxi back to the airport through the hotel, as well as checking in online and printing off our boarding passes via the computer and printer in reception.

During our stay we didn't do any organised tours, just our own! We did some shopping, visited Grand Central station, Central Park, Times Square, Broadway (incl the theatre), soho, China town, Little Italy, and Brooklyn Bridge by day and night (and walked across it). Lots of people gather in Brooklyn Park to watch the sun go down over the city, and what an amazing sight that was! We also did a cruise around the Statue of Liberty and went to the top of the Empire State Building, but the queues for the Empire State were awful and we had to queue for about an hour and a half. Obviously this should be a lot quicker out of peak holiday times or late in the evening if you fancy seeing it by night, as it doesn't actually close until 2 am! We also saw the two 9/11 monuments which are pretty spectacular and a real credit to the city. We had fantastic weather while we were there with blue skies and hardly a cloud in sight. This was perfect for sightseeing, if not a little too hot at times - so don't forget lightweight clothing for the summer months! The subway was particularly hot and humid and not somewhere you would want to be standing around in for too long in those temperatures.

So, all in all, we had a fantastic time in New York and enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: A higher floor will give you a better view across New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Jaye England,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am happy to know that our location was very convenient to your needs for shopping and sightseeing . We are humbled by your recommendation and hope to see you soon. Thank you for staying with us
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

needed hotel last minute, had no trouble booking. excellent room in very heart of manhattan. perfectly located for tourists and business people. nice sized room with all modern conveniences. slow elevator, but found service elevator to be helpful too.

Room Tip: request HHonors room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sea123Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Sea123Liverpool,
Thank you for staying with us. It was our absolute pleasure providing accommodations during your visit to the Big Apple. We hope to see you again for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The front desk staff vey helpful we arrive early Kurt accommodated us went out of his way to find the housekeeping staff to get the room clean ASAP the housekeeper that clean the room was very nice pleasant also the bell staff , door man , was very helpful with direction for the subway system this hotel is right in the middle to all the main attraction you want to visit in walking distant if you like to walk 24/7 drug store next door the cookie at the front desk are to die for that the staff give out no matter what time of the day I ate so many cookie I put on 5 extra pounds :)

Room Tip: I like to stay on the lower floor to get to the lobby faster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MIkeDeDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear MikeDeDe,
Thank you for staying with us and providing such a wonderful feedback. I am very happy that Kurt went above and beyond to provide an early check in and that you truly enjoyed our delicious cookies. We hope that we will see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I've written about this property before, because I stay there so much. I'm writing now to praise one of its' housekeeping employees. Her name is Pulmalie and she works on the 19th floor. I've known her for a few years and she's always cheerful and calls me by name. Last week, she made sure I had water, a refrigerator and a roll away bed. She isn't even the water person, but went and got four bottles of water for me. Usually, you need to go to the front desk to make the above requests. Way to go, Pulmalie. Verona has a gem, with you.

Room Tip: 18th and 19th floors. Even numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Joe P,
Thank you for the wonderful review regarding the special attention you receive during each stay from Pulmatie!. I will certainly share your comments with her floor supervisor Ms. Verona and the rest of her team. It is always a pleasure catering to your lodging needs and we look forward to your next visit.
Nadria Buchanan- Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#215 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,815 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,922 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £97 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing