We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #85 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed at The Affinia Gardens many times. It has always exceeded our expectations. A great hotel in a great location. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, plenty of closet space, kitchenette and more. Great staff. Always helpful and friendly. We really don't consider other hotels when we are in NYC. The Affinia is simply our favorite NYC hotel. The only complaint is that WI FI should be free. Looking forward to staying at the Afffinia Gardens again.

Room Tip: There are patio rooms on the first floor. Depending on the weather it is nice to have access to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Terry E,

It was such a pleasure reading your review of one of the many stays you have incurred here at Affinia Gardens. I am elated to read that you get that home away from home feeling every time you walk in. This just reiterates what we pride ourselves on; You will get the same kind service and clean, comfortable rooms with every stay.
I will take note of your suggestions about our Wi-Fi charges. I appreciate this feedback as it will make our future guest stays all the more better.

Thank you for considering Affinia Gardens as your only hotel of choice while in NYC. I hope I have the pleasure of meeting you on your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days in October 2013 (multiple times in the same month) due to a friend's illness and treatment in Sloan Kettering Hospital. They have a Sloan Kettering rate for the friends and families of the patients, so it is very helpful. The staff overall was very helpful but the cleaning lady in my floor kept asking questions about my visitors to the room. It was a religious holiday and my friend was going through a horrible cancer, I decided to host his family for coffee to celebrate the holiday and getaway from the stress of the hospital. As I was bringing cookies/donuts, the cleaning lady kept picking into the room to seed who is in there and then questioned me about my guests. It was little uncomfortable, she told me that she understood but I was not very sure. Overall, I liked the hotel and my room had a small kitchen, living room and it was very specious and clean. Very convenient location and the parking garage is just next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oktay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Oktay S,

Thank you for leaving your honest review on trip advisor about your stay. I can understand when a loved one is undergoing treatment; it can be a very stressful time for family and friends. We know this all too well here at Affinia Gardens, as many of our guests are patients at Memorial Sloan. We were happy we were able to accommodate you, but very sorry to read about the room attendant's redundant curiosity of you and your guests. This is certainly not a regular occurrence and I will be speaking to her regarding this issue so that our future guests won't have the same issue.

Again, I apologize for this experience and I hope that this does not deter you from staying with us in the future. Please feel free to contact me for future accomodation requests at etimmons@affinia.com

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Hotel is like a flat. All the rooms have a kitchen which is really good with kids, if you have a big family you also can book a double bed room, which is really big.
Now with 2 kids, I always stay at this place, the location is fantastic you're close of Bloomingdales one of the best department stores in Town, just one block from the supermarket, pharmacy, and also in my opinion the 60ths and 70ths are the best part of the city.

Room Tip: Try to book in a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Emilio N,

Thank you for writing about your experience at Affinia Gardens. I was thrilled to read that you and your family had a lovely stay with us and that you choose us over 448 hotels every time you come to town. Wow! Our spacious accommodating rooms can accommodate any size family and being with in walking distance to the famous Bloomingdales is just a plus!

Emilio N, I appreciate your kind words and would love to meet you and your family on your next trip in.


Kind regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Affinia Gardens May 9-11. It was our first time there and everyone made us feel welcome. We loved having a full kitchen, due to my food restrictins ( allergies). The supermarket was walking distance. Quiet block, but you could walk to the subway to go uptown to museums or downtown to Times Square. The staff was very helpful, whether it was directions, or where to find a place for brunch. We felt very well taken care of. The jr. suite was wonderful. I would go again, if I ever needed to stay in that part of city.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, if you want extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Meryl M,

Thank you for a gem of a review that you have left for all to see on your stay at the Affinia Gardens. It is important for our first time guests to capture all that we have to offer. Our amazing staff and convenient location are what really set us apart from other hotels in NYC. I am happy that you were able to feel welcomed during your stay; As all guests should feel like they are walking into their own home. I would like to have the opportunity to meet you and your family next time you plan to stay here on the Upper East Side.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Affinia was a wonderful retreat for our family. We all received VIP treatment - including the puppy! Deanna Coudounas was a great hostess and the staff was attentive and efficient. They took care of all the details, making our stay very special! The junior suite was clean and very spacious - everything you might need in the kitchen, a comfortable living space, dreamy beds and immaculate bath. The Upper East Side residential district is an excellent location. Thanks, Affinia for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InternationalNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear InternationalNYC,

It was such a pleasure to read your review on your recent stay here at Affinia Gardens. I am thrilled that you felt like you received VIP treatment. This is something that we like all of our guests to experience as we treat everyone as our VIP, especially your pets! Deanna was thrilled to read your comments about her. I have commended her for making such an impact on your stay.
InternationalNYC, we appreciate your business and I would love to meet you nest time you decide to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We call the Affinia Gardens our city home. The doorman, Caprice, always goes above and beyond. It is perfect for our family of four with two young children. Walking distance to central park, the zoo, shopping, groceries, everything you need. Yet, as soon as the doors shut, the Affinia really does offer the quiet and comforts you crave after a day of exploring the city. We've stayed at a handful of NYC hotels and we now only come back to the Affinia every year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganButtersRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear MeganButtersRae,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts about your most recent stay. I was so happy to hear that you and your family had a great experience here at Affinia Gardens. Our amazing staff including the doorman and Caprice really see our guests as family and want you to feel that comfort when you enter. Thank you for seeing us as your home away from home.

I hope to meet you on your next trip into town.

Kind regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Does the idea of a large apartment in a quiet neighbourhood, but still close to all the sights of NY, appeal to you? Then this definitely is the place. Only a few minutes from the subway, (buy a 7-day MTA pass for $30) with the Food Emporium nearby for all your food requirements, plenty of restaurants for a meal out if you want a change from the Emporium's ready-to-eat meals, a large room with a comfortable bed and lounge area and a good size bathroom. I'm not sure why folks would pay more money to stay downtown. As others have indicated, try and obtain a rear room facing over the gardens as it's very peaceful. They will also organise a car to JFK airport at a reasonable price. I would have liked to see free WiFi in the rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WalkersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear WalkersWA,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your most recent stay here at Affinia Gardens. It was so refreshing to read your review as if it was an advertisement add. We really are that quiet refuge with the tree lined streets and the no honking laws of the Upper East Side. I am thrilled that you felt the essence of what Affinia Gardens is all about; Serenity!

I hope I have the pleasure on hosting your next vacation here in New York.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#172 of 469 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#219 of 469 in New York City
3,863 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#166 of 469 in New York City
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 469 in New York City
1,906 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#35 of 469 in New York City
1,629 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#203 of 469 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £220 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing