We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff makes the stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Staff makes the stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

First and foremost the staff at the Affinia Gardens make this an excellent choice on the Upper East Side. In particular, Caprice at the front desk is supremely helpful and Pedro the Manager has always been more than accommodating. If you need an excellent restaurant suggestion, be sure to ask the smiling Bellmen Sal and Kris.

The rooms are clean and spacious and although we primarily dine out, the kitchenette has been a nice bonus. This hotel is the best choice when visiting the medical facilities (MKSCC, etc) but would also be great for business travel.

While you might find a more luxurious NYC hotel (at twice the price), you won't find a more pleasant and professional staff who always seem to be smiling.

Room Tip: As for a room with a balcony including the Penthouse level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jeffrey S-

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of the Team Members that you encountered while a guest at the Affinia Gardens. Caprice, Pedro, Sal and Kris as well as the rest of the Team are always happy to assist and ensure that you have a memorable visit. I will certainly mention your comments and give them all the kudos they deserve. I agree that the hotel is in a great location no matter what the purpose of your visit to New York and it works well for business, pleasure or whatever other reasons may bring you to town. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    475
    104
    49
    22
See reviews for
834
306
91
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with 3 kids for 3 nights...first night we checked in late - greeted by black flies, giant moth, mosquitoes in room - housekeeping came at 10pm with a vacuum to help the situation - still swatting bugs trying to make morning coffee in room...hair in bathroom that was not ours - buckled carpet, broken lamp, flickering light in bathroom, cobwebs in ceiling corners- had walk out patio - not like pictures at all and even a mystery staircase leading down to an open door?! - due to late check in had no choice but to stay - they did switch our room the next day, mentioned compensation, but received none. Next room was also a suite - again nothing like the pictures - 8th floor so no patio - and no change in price. Used hotel website to make breakfast reservations at Alice's Tea Cup - even received confirmation from the concierge, but upon our arrival the restaurant did not have any reservation for us. Last morning, went to the complimentary coffee area and they were out of regular coffee - at 6:30AM. We will not be back and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Kelly C-

I was extremely disappointed to read about the issues you encountered during your stay. While we did try to upgrade you upon arrival to better accommodate the size of your party, I can understand how any issues would certainly offset the gesture. I apologize that we did not handle the situation in a manner that was satisfactory to you and will reach out to you privately to ensure that we take care of this properly. Again, my apologies and I do hope you will reconsider and return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I had the best experience staying here. We flew in from LA and arrived at 8AM. My family (wife, 2 kids, & 16 yr old niece) loved the comfy beds and the great location to subways and Central Park. The doorman Michael was especially helpful and made our stay very comfortable. He took the time to make sure we knew where to go, and helped with our luggage even before we were able to check in. He even took some very good pictures on our camera so we could have a complete family pic. Priceless. Very family friendly in my opinion. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank motusYT .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear motusYT-

It is such a treat to hear that your stay in NY was a success and we were part of it. Thank you for mentioning your interactions with Michael. I will be sure to recognize his efforts. I am happy to hear that he helped capture that special family picture- we often reflect back and someone is usually not in the picture- I am glad this will not be the case. We strive to make all guests comfortable and when we can do so with a full family, it means we are getting it right! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was the first time in this hotel but not the first time in New York City. The staff here were friendly and helpful.
I am traveling with three good friends and the room was spacious and comfortable. Oh, yes, the kitchenette came in handy too. I'm sure we will be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Caroline D-

Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your recent trip to NYC. I am glad that you decided to try us for this visit and hope that we have made another convert! Our kitchens are a wonderful amenity when traveling with friends and family and can make such a difference in your overall stay. We are happy to hear that you will be back and we will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband decided totrat our family to a vacation in NYC last week,our first time with our 2 grandchildren,ages 7 and 11.
He picked the Affinia Gardens because of its quiet, safe, convient location on the
Upper east side.
This hotel was in a great location, with convient food and wine shops as well as restaurants across the street and a short block away.
However, what this hotel alsooffers is a wonderfulstaff, and very nice spacious suites.
When our 11year old granddaughter saw their suite,she immediately said we all should come back next year to stay at this hotel for 2 weeks! Therooms were spacious,the beds very comfortable, the kitchen had all appliances and dishware, and if you get a suite at the back of the hotel, you also have a lovely view of thetree lined street.
The hotel staff were not only professional, but always cheerful and kind. Pedro,
Who is taller than I imagined hi to be from talking over the phone, made sur
We got into our roomsearly so we could the go to the Empire State building.
Chris was very swwet to our grandson, even giving him a ride on the luggage carrier! Chris answered all our questions and was always in a great mood. Johanna at the front desk was also very helpful
I would highly recommend this hotel, and we certainly hope to vacation there again next year.
Kathy Berkowitz

Room Tip: If you get a suite at the back of the hotel, there is less noise, and a very nice view out your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Kathleen B-

All of the Staff here at the Affinia Gardens agree with your granddaughter that you should definitely come back for two weeks next year! Thank you for the lovely comments and for recognizing Pedro, Chris and Johanna in the review. The Affinia Gardens Team works very hard to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. I was also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the kitchen during your visit. It is such a great amenity and can make traveling with a family so much easier. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have stayed in many different NYC hotels all over the city through the years, and Affinia Gardens is definitely the best place I've ever stayed. The room was very spacious with kitchen and living area. Great closet space and separate dressing table. Really loved the location, too. Very quiet with a residential feel to the neighborhood. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall awesome stay!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor. Nice view of trees. 1st floor gardens look nice and will try that next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Deb C-

How wonderful to read about your stay and how we were able to provide an oasis in the city for you. Thank you for also giving a shout out to the staff. We do try to ensure that every guest has a memorable stay and it looks like we were able to make that a reality for you. We are excited to be your new "home" in NY. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location for travellers who already know N. York.
Very spacious room (jr. suite), comfortable beds, new bathroom, ample well equiped kitchen. Carpet in not so good condition. Attentive staff, special thanks to Pedro. Four bycicles for guests to enjoy for free for the first four¡¡¡ hours of use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Nest48-

How wonderful to see that you traveled from so far away to stay with us during your visit to NYC. I am glad to hear that your interactions with Pedro were all pleasant and that he was able to make your stay more enjoyable. I have to agree with you that the bikes are certainly a great amenity and a lot of fun for exploring New York and the Upper East Side. I did see your note on the carpet and will certainly inspect the room you were in for any deficiencies that we can address. I apologize if that affected your stay in any way. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing