We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of hidden fees” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beware of hidden fees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is well located, the rooms are large and confortable. Most of the staff is friendly. But some of the staff is not. When I made the reservation it said and still says: “Now when booking your room online on affinia.com receive complimentary Wi-Fi during your stay.”. Not exactly. It covers only one device. I was with my daughter and we had 5 devices and I was charged 14.95 dollars a day for a total of 388.70 dollars even though I didn't connect any other devices. (I bought an unlimited Simm card valid for 30 days for 80 dollars). It took me an hour talking to a not so friendly manager (Mr.Pedro) to convince him to cancel the debt on my credit card which he had already charged without my approval. I have stayed in several Affinia hotel in Manhattan before and this was my first bad experience. I will not return to the Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank machadojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Machadojr-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I know that my Director of Front Office has been in touch with you and that the charges you were concerned about were removed before you left property. I apologize if you felt this was not handled quickly enough and will speak with my Team about the matter. I hope you will return in the future to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    475
    104
    49
    22
See reviews for
834
306
91
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a wonderful place to lay your head after the go-go fun and pride of a NYC day and night! The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rates were very reasonable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquatraxf15x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear aquatraxf15x-

So happy to hear that we were able to be your home base while you enjoyed the Pride festivities in NY! Our location does lend itself well to enjoying the city and I was glad to hear that you had a good time while a guest with us. We look forward to your next visit, but don't wait a whole year before you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really enjoyed the Affinia. The suite afforded us a lot of room. Other than sleeping, we spent most of our time in the living area. The bathroom was small, but well-designed to maximize space. We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness throughout our stay. This is a great location. It was in walking distance of restaurants and other services. We lost a cell phone in a cab, and found a very friendly AT & T store right around the corner to get a replacement. The location was quiet and safe, but certainly not tame, since there are many UES attractions nearby.
The hotel personnel were friendly, especially the bell staff, and, among them, especially Michael.
I feel certain we will return on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Roy H-

I would certainly agree that our rooms are spacious and allow for you to spread out and enjoy some quiet time between adventures in the city. Thank you for your comments on Michael's service and I will be sure to pass them along. We look forward to having you back soon as our guest. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

First and foremost the staff at the Affinia Gardens make this an excellent choice on the Upper East Side. In particular, Caprice at the front desk is supremely helpful and Pedro the Manager has always been more than accommodating. If you need an excellent restaurant suggestion, be sure to ask the smiling Bellmen Sal and Kris.

The rooms are clean and spacious and although we primarily dine out, the kitchenette has been a nice bonus. This hotel is the best choice when visiting the medical facilities (MKSCC, etc) but would also be great for business travel.

While you might find a more luxurious NYC hotel (at twice the price), you won't find a more pleasant and professional staff who always seem to be smiling.

Room Tip: As for a room with a balcony including the Penthouse level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jeffrey S-

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of the Team Members that you encountered while a guest at the Affinia Gardens. Caprice, Pedro, Sal and Kris as well as the rest of the Team are always happy to assist and ensure that you have a memorable visit. I will certainly mention your comments and give them all the kudos they deserve. I agree that the hotel is in a great location no matter what the purpose of your visit to New York and it works well for business, pleasure or whatever other reasons may bring you to town. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with 3 kids for 3 nights...first night we checked in late - greeted by black flies, giant moth, mosquitoes in room - housekeeping came at 10pm with a vacuum to help the situation - still swatting bugs trying to make morning coffee in room...hair in bathroom that was not ours - buckled carpet, broken lamp, flickering light in bathroom, cobwebs in ceiling corners- had walk out patio - not like pictures at all and even a mystery staircase leading down to an open door?! - due to late check in had no choice but to stay - they did switch our room the next day, mentioned compensation, but received none. Next room was also a suite - again nothing like the pictures - 8th floor so no patio - and no change in price. Used hotel website to make breakfast reservations at Alice's Tea Cup - even received confirmation from the concierge, but upon our arrival the restaurant did not have any reservation for us. Last morning, went to the complimentary coffee area and they were out of regular coffee - at 6:30AM. We will not be back and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Kelly C-

I was extremely disappointed to read about the issues you encountered during your stay. While we did try to upgrade you upon arrival to better accommodate the size of your party, I can understand how any issues would certainly offset the gesture. I apologize that we did not handle the situation in a manner that was satisfactory to you and will reach out to you privately to ensure that we take care of this properly. Again, my apologies and I do hope you will reconsider and return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I had the best experience staying here. We flew in from LA and arrived at 8AM. My family (wife, 2 kids, & 16 yr old niece) loved the comfy beds and the great location to subways and Central Park. The doorman Michael was especially helpful and made our stay very comfortable. He took the time to make sure we knew where to go, and helped with our luggage even before we were able to check in. He even took some very good pictures on our camera so we could have a complete family pic. Priceless. Very family friendly in my opinion. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank motusYT .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear motusYT-

It is such a treat to hear that your stay in NY was a success and we were part of it. Thank you for mentioning your interactions with Michael. I will be sure to recognize his efforts. I am happy to hear that he helped capture that special family picture- we often reflect back and someone is usually not in the picture- I am glad this will not be the case. We strive to make all guests comfortable and when we can do so with a full family, it means we are getting it right! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was the first time in this hotel but not the first time in New York City. The staff here were friendly and helpful.
I am traveling with three good friends and the room was spacious and comfortable. Oh, yes, the kitchenette came in handy too. I'm sure we will be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Caroline D-

Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your recent trip to NYC. I am glad that you decided to try us for this visit and hope that we have made another convert! Our kitchens are a wonderful amenity when traveling with friends and family and can make such a difference in your overall stay. We are happy to hear that you will be back and we will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing