We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #83 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here for 3 weeks in the summer. First the pros:

Location - on a quiet part of the Upper East Side but within about 10 minutes walk of Bloomingdales, 5th Avenue and Central Park. There are also subway stations pretty close. Really convenient. There are lots of grocery shops and chemists/drug stores nearby. Plus dry cleaning too so you don't need to pay extra by getting it done by the hotel.

Room Quality

Really big living room and a fair sized bedroom as well. My family stayed with me for a week and there was plenty of room for all of us. And there TVs in each room which was great when I tired of the Disney Channel...... There was also a small kitchenette with a big fridge, microwave and dishwasher which was great as I made food in the room a few times. The bed was very large and very comfortable.

Staff

All very helpful and pleasant. Made it an enjoyable stay.

Cons

The corridors have a bit of a strange smell (and look a bit tatty). Not sure if this was the other families' cooking but it was a bit odd.

Conclusion - if I went back to NY for business or pleasure I would certainly stay here again as I think it was great value. It's not as fancy as some of the big hotels but, quite frankly, who cares.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeejTeejTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear TeejTeejTeej-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. Our location is certainly something we think is a huge attribute and the large rooms make for an enjoyable stay. I was concerned on your comment regarding the odor in the hall and occasionally, with kitchens in all of our rooms, the smell might enter the public area. I apologize and would let you know that we do work to ensure that is something that is addressed whenever we learn of it. We were glad to hear that you would come back to visit us and look forward to that future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We needed a place near the upper east side hospitals for a seven week stay -- this was perfect! The staff (Pedro, Caprice, Krys, Marla, Michael, to name a few plus every other door and desk agent) was kind, exceptionally helpful and upbeat. We lacked for nothing. We were in a one-bedroom suite which was spacious and more than comfortable and overlooked a garden/patio area in the back of the hotel. There are many terrific restaurants within walking distance. And local grocery stores with delivery service. We highly recommend Affinia Gardens.

M&J

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MandJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear MandJ76-

Thank you for the lovely review. Your comments are very much appreciated and your kind words regarding the members of our team will be passed along to them. I was sorry to hear of the circumstances of your visit, but glad that we were able to make you more comfortable. The local area restaurants and grocery stores make traveling easy and our kitchenettes are a great additional amenity. thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

For a family of six, our stay in NYC could not have been better! The location, price, and staff were fantastic. We arrived late. Rather than having to unload and then find parking, the staff at the front desk gave up their parking space. What a way to start off our vacation in NYC!

Thanks again to the staff at Affinia Gardens in NYC!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fav6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Fav6-

Your review was very much appreciated. Our large rooms certainly make for a great place to rest with a large group after a day in the city. I was especially happy to hear that the night team went above and beyond to get you into your room after your day of travel. Come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I loved my 3 weeks stay at Affinia Gardens. Got the room with garden, that is spacious but a little bit dark. Maybe a renovation will be need in a short while. Take special attention and don't choose room 106, so noisy! The bed is so comfortable that when I got home had to change my mattress!! Groceries, transportation and Central Park are nearby in a lovely neighborhood. The staff is very friendly and efficient, especial thanks to Cris and Caprice! Hope to get back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElviraBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear ElviraBaer-

It was wonderful to read about your stay and I was excited to read how much you enjoyed our beds. They sure are comfortable and give you a great night sleep! Thank you for commenting on the service you received from Cris and caprice. Our team members pride themselves on the service they give and we couldn't be more proud of their efforts. Our kitchens, transportation options and of course, proximity to Central Park are some of our greatest attributes. We hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Affinia Gardens very much. The room size and location were really the winning factors for us, being so close to both good transportation (N, R, Q, 4, and F trains) and to Central Park. We are ex-New Yorkers, so it is nice to get around easily, and to have a big enough place for our friends to visit.

I only have two small worries, both of which I think could be sorted out at the time of reservation.

1) Ask about the wifi - ours was included in the rate, but if it isn't, I believe there is a 2 device limit, and then you get charged, which is just wholly inadequate these days (we travel with six phones, two ipads, two laptops and a kindle!) and could add a lot of cost to the stay.

2) Once you have booked you can't make changes to the reservation without the system re-booking the whole reservation, which means that if you are lucky enough to get a low rate at the time of booking you will lose it if you need to change anything. I wanted to arrive a day later and called within the window of time when changes are allowed but was given a quote of almost $1,000 more for the whole stay, so we left it as is. I've had this before with the Affinia hotel group - and it is something they really should change.

But, for a great stay in a nice neighborhood in NYC I recommend it thoroughly otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theinphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Theinphillips-

Thank you for your review and for staying with us on your recent trip to New York. Our location and proximity to so many transportation alternatives really is a big plus and makes it easier to navigate through the city. I was happy to hear that our wifi as included in our affinia.com booking promotion was satisfactory during your stay. Regarding the changes you were looking to make to your original reservation, we do try to be accommodating, but unfortunately sometimes we are not able to make modifications without it affecting the booking based on the promotion that was reserved. I do hope this was not too much of an inconvenience and I was happy to see that you had a great visit with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed at the Affinia Gardens many times over the past 5 years, most recently in June 2014. The hotel is on a quiet side street and offers spacious, well appointed rooms with fully equipped kitchenettes. Groceries are readily available nearby for those who like breakfast or snacks in the room. Beds are very comfortable. The lobby has been recently renovated and the lounge area is well stocked with tea and coffee selections until noon. The doormen are attentive and friendly. The location is great- close to all of the shopping, cultural, and gastronomic amenities of UES and a couple of blocks from the subway and the crosstown bus.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are especially quiet and look out on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kathy P-

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are always so happy to hear when we have made a friend who is loyal and continues to stay with us. Our kitchenettes are definitely a nice feature that make traveling in NYC so much easier. We hope your travels will bring you back to the area soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stand out features are the great location and very friendly and efficient staff inc Kris, Caprice & Joana. Stayed 4 nights. Our two 9 year old boys slept in our room on the sofa bed. Space was tight but perfectly adequate. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mark B-

Thank you for mentioning the wonderful Team Members who made your stay so special. We love to recognize them here on property and will certainly include your comments. Our location does make it easy to get around the city. We look forward to your next visit with the family. Hurry back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#173 of 470 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#208 of 470 in New York City
3,914 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#212 of 470 in New York City
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#88 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#150 of 470 in New York City
918 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#36 of 470 in New York City
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £209 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing