We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Eshkolot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely great service”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Our second stay at Affinia Gardens. Staff turnover is virtually non-existent, which indicates that management knows that when the staff is happy, so are the guests. Never had an unanswered question. Never saw a face that didn't have a smile. When we dealt with someone even one time, they never forgot our names (I'd love to know that secret). Special kudos to Latoya, Michael, Chris, and Alex, who really knows what his guests want, even before they ask.
Affinia Gardens is the only place on our list for future NYC visits.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    491
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
870
310
94
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I stayed here for a week on business and was accompanied by my wife and toddler. We selected this hotel because of the location (close to Central Park) and the fact that it had separate kitchenette, which was useful for our young son.

The room is probably one of the largest I have stayed in in New York city - very spacious - with plenty of crawling and walking room for the toddler. The bathroom was small, but that was not such a big issue. Great food delivered from the Italian restaurant on the corner (Accamedia de Vino) and a supermarket close by. Don't be fooled by the "tea room" on the ground floor - really just an extension of the lobby.

The staff were great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed 4 nights and the service was great. The first night we had a small graduation get-together for our son and Emily (who was in charge of housekeeping because someone else was gone) was a huge help! She checked to see if we needed anything and was very pleasant. Our stay couldn't have been better. The room was very nice and the personnel at the front desk were gracious. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansas53Wichita_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We paid the bargain price of around $250+tax which was an incredible bargain for a centrally located 1BR suite in Manhattan. The suite was spacious and had great amenities for a family with kids (microwave, stove, dishwasher). Bathroom was small but made great use of space and the products were excellent. Carpet in the suite was stained quite badly and is probably due for replacement, but otherwise the unit was clean and felt updated. Our only complaint is that the quality of housekeeping on the first day was exceptionally poor with the tub left dirty, not all towels replaced, and water left on the kitchen floor. On subsequent days the service was to standard though I'm sure it was because I left a generous tip on the pillow. Hotel staff were helpful and cordial, though could have been more friendly. I would recommend this hotel to young families and others looking for a well located suite, so long as the rate remains competitive.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AffordableComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

My wife and i managed to obtain three nights in a junior suite here for a bargain price. On arrival we were greeted very courteously, and everything we had asked for was in the room. The suite itself was huge, with facilities for cooking, making drinks etc. It was perfectly clean and comfortable, although parts are looking a bit dated and tired (this seemed to be our experience all round the US, unless you have mega bucks!), so for the money we were happy. Not having been to the US before, we found the location quiet (we were on the 12th floor) and a good place to explore NYC from. The subway is less than 5 mins on foot, and very easy to navigate. Within 10 mins walk you can be at Tiffanys and the other exuberant shops on 5th. The only thing i would mention is that you'll need to buy your own tea/coffee as this is not supplied. If you want wifi this is extra as well. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it as a great base to explore NYC.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed 5 nights in april at the end of a three week NY trip, quite frankly i found the hotel to be overrated and over priced for what it was. We stayed at Affinia Manhattan and found the staff there to be much more personable and competent than at Affinia Gardens and found the rooms, although more dated more adequate for the price we paid.
We had a junior suite i think it's called at AG, the first room we had was huge, on the 10th floor at the front of the building but we were only there two of our four nights as someone directly below us was smoking and it was filtering up through the vents and choking us. As it's supposed to be a non smoking hotel this was unacceptable and the way it was handled by management quite unsatisfactory, in fact i emailed a complaint through the website on return from NY and never received a response, this was typical of the management style we observed during our stay. Whatever you do don't buy breakfast at the hotel, we received it free as compensation for our terrible first two night and we threw it out it was so terrible, when i told the front desk on check out (they tried to ccharge us for a supposedly free breakfast too) they just shrugged and said sorry to hear you didn't enjoy it. The pastries were stale, coffee was bad, a granola/museli bar and a bottle of apple juice in a paper bag...what a rip off, glad we didnt pay for it.

anyway, this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our stay and that included stays at two Thompson hotels which were far superior and in a completely different league, but $40 a night cheaper, go figure, i wouldn't bother with Affinia Gardens again and have told my friends not to bother for their trips.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank haymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We often stay at Affinia hotels, because they are suite hotels, which have studios with kitchens. We hadn't stayed at the Affinia Garden, which was probably a converted apartment building. The room was large, clean, with huge bathroom; the bed was good. The style was stark, minimalist, mono-tonal - an unfriendly look. There is no restaurant, but guests can order from a menu, and the breakfast is delivered from a local shop - better than I expected. The neighborhood is mostly residential, with a hospital across the street - nothing interesting to walk to. One computer, for which extra was charged, on the main floor.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badbacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing