We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious suite - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Spacious suite - great location”
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We have stayed at the other Affinia's in the city before and have always been satisfied. This time we wanted to stay in a different location, so we decided to try out Affinia Gardens. The suite was more like an apartment, with a separate bedroom, small dining area, and a small kitchen that came in handy. The location is wonderful...only a few blocks to Central Park and within walking distance to the museums. It was fairly quiet, for New York City standards, and made for good sleeping. Staff was pleasant and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    491
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
870
310
94
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We went to NY for three nights and booked two rooms. By european standards, the rooms were huge. Both had two double (Queen size) beds with large bathrooms and small compact but well stocked kitchens. The hotel is in a quiet residential area between 2nd and 3rd Avenue but is only a 50yd walk from Taxis and Buses. We walked to Times Square in 30 minutes and Central Park in 15 mins.

The Hotel has no restaurant but will arrange for food to be delivered but it is expensive. Across the road is a small mexican restaurant that is good and cheap. However, the best aspect of this place is its staff. We were made to feel genuinely welcome by Sal, Pedro and Jennifer from the moment we arrived. Kris organised transport in advance for us from Newark and quite frankly nothing seemed to much trouble for them.

Bad points? None really but minor paint touchups in the bathroom would be welcome. Would I go back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redeyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmurat, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2010
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us a comment about your stay. We have taken good note of your comments and will follow up. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.......Marjory Murat (Director of front office Operations)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

My husband, our dog and I just came back from a fantastic weekend at the Affinia Gardens. We stayed in a room on the first floor with a fabulous patio that was fully fenced in and very private (what an amazing amenity to have in NYC at this moderate price range). From our dog's perspective, he really liked being able to go in and out of our hotel room onto the patio without having to wear a leash. The only downside was that there wasn't any grass on the patio on which he could go to the bathroom (nor was there any substantial patches of grass in front of the hotel or for several blocks around), so we ended up having to walk him to Central Park for that purpose. (As an aside, we recommend using the park entrance at 67th and not the one at 61st, because all of the grassy areas and shrubbery near the 61st entrance are fenced in or blocked off, whereas there is grass right near the park entrance at 67th).

In terms of the noise from the street, the room in which we stayed was amazingly quiet. We couldn't hear *anything* at all -- no ambulances, no car horns, no garbage trucks -- nothing. It was almost like not being in the city at all. The only noise we heard was from people in the hallway, but this was probably because our room was situated next to the elevators and so we were able to hear people coming and going (although even this noise wasn't very loud). However, the next time we stay at the Affinia Gardens in a room on the first floor with a private patio, I'm going to request one at the end of the corridor away from the elevators.

Another nice feature of the hotel room was its size. For NYC standards, it was quite large. The bathroom was also nice -- other than bathtub itself (which looked old and too small for an actual bath), the rest of the bathroom (faucet, sink, towel racks, toilet, toilet paper holder, etc) had clearly been remodeled within the last few years. The kitchen was more out-of-date (it looked like it hadn't been updated in about 25 years other than the installation of new granite countertops). However, despite its age, the kitchen was still quite functional and I enjoyed having access to it while we were traveling.

Another nice part of our stay at the Affinia Gardens was that the staff was very nice to us. Everyone we met was very friendly and welcoming, especially to our dog. After spending the weekend there, I can truly say that the Affinia Gardens is pet-friendly and not just a hotel that "allows" dogs to stay there.

Overall I was very pleased with Affinia Gardens and I would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially those people traveling with pets!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear sarah7038,


My name is Alex Spektor, General Manager of the Affinia Gardens Hotel. We continuously review guest reviews on tripadvisor.com as we find it to be the most valuable source of suggestions, recommendations and/or simply compliments for our staff and the hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful weekend in NY and sounds like your dog did too! I will be sure to pass on the compliments to our staff who works hard on ensuring that each and every experience at our hotel is unique. We look forward to welcome you back at the Affinia Gardens soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Affinia Gardens staff were wonderful! The rooms were clean and comfortable and all requests were taken care of immediately. The location of the hotel is ideal with many attractions/shopping within short walking distances. Chris, the Doorman, was particularly helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable. I will definitely return to Affinia Gardens!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My family of 4 stayed here in April for 3 nights; in 2 junior suites. The rooms are spacious (400+ sq ft) with a small but well-equipped kitchen.

I love the "pillow menu" as I was able to request a memory foam pillow for our stay. Beds are comfortable, and decent closet space. There is an in-room safe, iron & ironing board. Bathroom size is adequate, with complimentary shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion.

The kitchen is well-equipped with full-size fridge, microwave, 4-top gas burner with oven, coffee maker, and toaster. Cooking utensils are provided (one medium pot, one frying pan), so we were able to cook simple meals. The supermarket Food Emporium is just around the corner from the hotel. There is also dish detergent provided in the kitchen.

The hotel is in the residential area of Manhattan's UES. With well-insulated windows, we hardly noticed any street noise at night, even though I'm very sensitive to noise. Subway stations (3 within walking distance) are nearby, as is the crosstown #66 bus.

All the staff we came across (front desk, bell hop, housekeeping) were friendly and courteous.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at Affinia Gardens, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y2000k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

If you're looking for a friendly, upscale neighbourhood suite hotel within easy walk of both shopping and central park, this is a one worth checking out. My wife and I stayed April 15 - April 18 and it was everything we wanted. Good sized, clean rooms, helpful friendly staff and a truly beautful neighbourhood. We stayed here once before, in Oct. 2008, and were very glad we came back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights while celebrating our Silver Wedding anniversary. On our arrival we were immediately congratulated and upgraded to a suite which felt like an apartment more than a hotel room - complete with a kitchen! The bed was huge and amazingly comfortable and there was a sitting room area too which was handy as we ordered breakfast on the third morning ( great value at only $10 pp. This place was an oasis of calm after being in the buzz of the city. The bathroom was lovely, shower great, and everything was clean and bright.
The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Latoya Gibbins at the front desk who always welcomed us with a smile.
The hotel was situated in a peaceful part of town which was close to the subway and also within easy walking distance to Central Park and Times Square.
We will definitely be back! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing