We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel with Spacious Room & Kitchen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #62 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel with Spacious Room & Kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We really like the Affinia Hotels in NYC -- we stayed at the Affinia Dumont last year and tried the Affinia Gardens this time because of close proximity to Central Park. It is a great hotel with a unique complimentary tea bar. I would loved to have had one of the rooms/suites with a patio, but opted for less expensive one which was still wonderful -very spacious and nicely appointed. Really comfortable, quality beds. LOVE the fully equipped kitchen - nice size refrigerator - makes it great for mornings, snacks, lite lunch, etc. It was close to Central Park, but still a little bit farther walk than we thought. Very close to Bloomingdale's and other great shopping! Nice upscale neighborhood.

We were a little confused about "complimentary breakfast" - would have cost us $10.00 each so we opted out. Overheard someone else looking for the breakfast area - never saw it ??? The staff is very friendly and accommodating - they really try to help with directions, etc. but a couple of times they didn't know all the little details that can be helpful; eg; we wanted to go to Junior's Restaurant near the theatre where Lion King was playing, but they gave us the address for the one at Grand Central .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSSarah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGOManager, Executive Office Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Dear MSSarah2010,

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite so much. It sounds like you got familiar with many of the wonderful things the neighborhood has to offer!

I also wanted to clear things up about our breakfast in the hotel. Unfortunately, at this time we do not have a breakfast area. We only have delivery directly to our guest rooms. Breakfast comes as an additional service that can be added to the guest account. This way, our guests do not have to worry about what to eat each morning. Breakfast is included in some of our packages, but is generally charged per person directly to the room.

I hope this clears things up, and we hope to have you join us for another cup of our signature tea in the very near future.

Be Well,
Emily Workman
Executive Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    476
    105
    49
    22
See reviews for
837
307
91
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

The real selling point of this hotel - for me - was the location. 3 blocks away from a subway station, lots of restaurants and shops nearby, easy access to downtown theatre district, upper east side, central park and even a quick subway ride to Union Sq or Soho. Gives you the feel of living in a Manhattan neighbourhood while having good links to other sights and to all the necessary amenitiies (pharmacy, supermarket, salon, bank, cinema are all within one block). It's got a great low price in comparison to other hotels in the same location/class.
The staff were really helpful and friendly - always smiling. Loved the fresh iced tea at reception! Some excellent restaurants on the same street if you are tired after a day of sightseeing (try China Fun across the road)
We had a one bedroom suite with a sitting room, small kitchen (quite outdated and a bit rickety) and a nice living room with a desk and TV. Very comfortable beds and good decor. However, the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. They did clean every day but they never did a proper thorough job. The bathroom was always left dusty and kind of half-heartedly wiped up. Would expect more for a hotel of this class!
All in all, would definitely recommend for the great service, good location and excellent price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear honeymoonhunt ,

My name is Alex Spektor and I am the General Manager of the Affinia Gardens Hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at our hotel. Affinia Gardens is designed to offer you a true Upper East Side experience just as if you were a New Yorker and all within a close proximity to the center of the city.
Our Housekeeping Department takes great pride in their daily work and i was surprised to learn about the challenges with cleanliness. However, we are addressing your comments with the staff.
We hope to welcome you back at the Affinia Gardens Hotel in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

The staff was comforting and the rooms were clean with precise climate control. The room was huge for the value, unexpectedly delightful with a kitchenette and simply a place I need to go back to. The beds, divine.

The Tea room is more than tea. It is where you can meditate on the beautiful floor pillows, where you can sip on specialty teas, all while having some fascinating conversations with the staff members.

Calm, serene and comforting was an experience I had at this hotel during the worst crisis of my life. Thank you, Affinia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lysle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We had a one bedroom suite that was just what we were looking for. The rooms were spacious, the bathroom was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. Everything you could ask for. I would definitely return.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PKM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and children for an extended Memorial Day weekend trip. This was actually my second stay here. My first was for business in December, 2009. I liked the hotel so much that I decided if I ever brought my family to NYC, we would stay here.

The Affinia Gardens is a very nice hotel on the Upper East Side (64th Street between 2nd and 3rd Avenues). The rooms are large by NYC standards. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which had two queen beds in the bedroom, a living room with a pull out couch, a small kitchen and one bath. They also have one bedroom deluxe suites which have a larger living room and a dining area - which is the type of room I had in December. If I go again with the family, I will definitely choose a deluxe suite over a regular suite - there is a lot more room.

The hotel is in a nice area of NYC - a short walk from Central Park and several subway stations - so getting around is no problem. It is also very close to Bloomingdales and other shopping meccas on Lexington Avenue.

The real charm of this place is the staff. Everyone who works at the Affinia Gardens that we came in contact with was wonderful - always asking if you were enjoying yourself and if there is anything they could do to help you. It started from the moment my wife checked in without me - when the doorman opend the doors to our van for the kids and quickly gave them a keycard so they could go to the bathroom in the lobby.

We met the GM at a manager's wine and cheese reception on Friday. She was a very nice woman, whose name I unfortunately can't recall. She has been with the company for 10 years. When I remarked to her about how nice everyone at the hotel was, she explained that Affinia is a family owned business that makes customer satisfaction its top priority.

Kris Karol, the bellman/doorman, deserves special mention. He was absolutely wonderful with my youngest daughter on the morning of her birthday, when my wife and she were heading out to breakfast at the American Girl store. He made an incredible fuss. On the day we checked out, he came and got our bags in our room; stored them for us; and gave us a phone number to call about 15 minutes before we were going to be ready to leave. We called him and 15 minutes later when we got to the front of the hotel, not only was our van there, Kris had it loaded with all of our luggage. A very nice touch which allowed us to hold onto the relaxation of our vacation for a few more hours.

If I had to find something to complain about, it would be about the kitchen supplies. The Affinia advertises a "fully stocked" kitchen. I would not exactly call it "fully stocked". I'm not sure I could have cooked a meal there. However, there was enough to allow us to get by.

Overall the Affinia Gardens is a very nice hotel with a superior staff. I would not hesitate to stay here again, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmurat, Front Office Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you so very much for taking the time to complete a trip advisor comment regarding your experience at our Hotel. Its comments like these that make us enjoy what we do on a daily basis. I appreciate the acknowledgment of our charming staff and feedback regarding kitchen supplies. I’ve taken good notes and will definitely follow up. Please consider Affinia your hotel choice for any future travels…….Marjory Murat (Director of front office Operations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We just returned from a 7 night stay and have no hesitation in recommending Affinia Gardens. We did NOT want to stay in the touristy, crowded hotel areas in Midtown or Times Square but rather wanted to stay in a real Manhattan neighbourhood to get away form the hustle and bustle at the end of each very active day. We went all over the city as the hotel is really central to everything - you just walk, grab a cab or take the subway. We looked forward to getting back "home" at the end of each day. Very quiet and comfortable hotel and area. We had a large suite with kitchen and 2 very comfortable queen size beds and lot of comfy pillows. Staff was very friendly (hi Michael) - General Manager,Alec, introduced himself on our first day at his Friday wine and cheese reception. Lots of nice places to eat in the UES. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We have stayed at the other Affinia's in the city before and have always been satisfied. This time we wanted to stay in a different location, so we decided to try out Affinia Gardens. The suite was more like an apartment, with a separate bedroom, small dining area, and a small kitchen that came in handy. The location is wonderful...only a few blocks to Central Park and within walking distance to the museums. It was fairly quiet, for New York City standards, and made for good sleeping. Staff was pleasant and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing