We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Went for a quick weekend getaway close to Christmas. Prices for hotels at this time of year were outrageous so we chose this one, which was slightly cheaper than others. We were impressed. Great location, great value! We were in a corner room, which had no view but was large. Bathrooms were updated and nice. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    924
    784
    336
    224
See reviews for
325
1,311
121
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I was very disappointed by this hotel which by no means deserves the 3-star rating, and is far below the NH Jolly standard in Europe. The rooms are old, small, and dirty, the bathroom was better (or at least kept clean). We were staying there in winter, and the room was either too hot or too cold, a very old and dusty radiator could not be regulated.
The only advantage of this hotel is a great location near the Grand Central Station, 15 min walk from Times Sq, and about 30-45 min to Central Park.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank A_t0_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

a 3* hotel with excellent midtown location & italian flair. small and slow lifts take you to small, but well appointed rooms. Small meaning a guest is only able to fully-stretch-open a standard size Samsonite suit case on a bed. Bathrooms well maintained, with standard "NH" branded (orange-yellowish) soap amenities. Window kept slding down, allowing fresh/cold air into the room during night. If not in a package, a modest buffet breakfast costs 22 USD + tax + tip. Not worth the coast, IMO. They do serve a real cappucino/espresso/latte in a real china, though. Front desk staff and bell boy very helpfull. Barman in a hotel bar very nice and hospitable.Breakfast crew moods depends on a day. U might get lucky and run into a charming italian waiter. hotel offers a very good price/location ratio.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing away from Madison, to make your stay quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The only positive experience from our stay at NH Jolly Madison was the proximity to grand central and the empire state building. Everything about the hotel is old and smelly.

Room Tip: There are better hotels in the city in the same price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I booked six nights at the Jolly Madison Towers, having read some reviews i was a little worried
however I found the hotel to be clean comfortable and friendly. I was in budget accomodation, and I knew what I had booked, so didnt expect more than the basics.if you ask first you can pay the security deposit in cash with no problem, but you do need a credit / debit card to get online. The hotel is a few minutes walk from Times square, Grand Central Station and the Empire State. I was on the 7th floor facing Madison Ave and had a view of the Empire State Building. I would go back iin a heart beat. Just accross the street is the Moonstruck Diner which was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner including take out. 72 hour Grey Line hop on hop off bus, with tickets for attractions was well worth the money.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Madison Avenue, a little more noisy unitl about 9pm, but you get the view. 7th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhona9710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Jolly for three days in February . We found it ideal for our visit just a few minute walk from the theaters and times square ,Grand Cental station and the Rckerfeller Center (Top of the Roc ) well worth a visit.Staff pleasant and helpfull .would go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have very few complaints about this Hotel. For the price we paid we got an excellent location, the room was cleaned every day and fresh towels and bedding were provided.

I requested a good view and I wasn't disappointed, we were given a corner room and had views of the Empire State Building on one side of us and a breathtaking view down Madison Avenue on the other.

There was a well stocked mini bar which we dipped into on a couple of occasions.. a Gray Goose vodka was $8 and a can of Coke was $4.. sounds a little pricey but to be honest I was expecting them to be more expensive, so we weren't too shocked when we got the bill.

The room, if a little on the dated side, was very comfortable.. the bed was quite big and very comfy and the bedding was nice and warm, we slept great all week. We were provided with an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer and there was no shortage of complimentary toiletries.

The residents bar is a little on the pricey side, $11 for a (quite small) glass of wine, in my books is a little dear, you would expect to pay that up on Times Square. If you're looking for a nightcap and don't fancy venturing very far, Blaggards Irish Bar is just 5 minutes walk up on 38th and Fifth.. We found this a very good little pub.

The staff were always helpful and friendly.

Like many others who have reviewed this Hotel, we didn't not eat breakfast here, we went across the road to the Moonstruck Diner most days and ate here.. very reasonable and good food.

I will be recommending this Hotel to Friends and Family and should I go back to New York I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xzanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,779 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Property: NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Address: 22 E 38th St, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing