We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service needs improvment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #387 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Customer service needs improvment.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Called to verify reservations that had been made prior to trip. A total of 11 persons were traveling and 4 rooms with 2 beds in each room were needed. Well to make a long story short they has us booked for 3 persons per bed!!!! I had to call their central booking who were not able to accommodate us. We had to change hotels at a higher fee. Will never book here again. Hopefully we won't have any problems with our new booking. Vacation will begin in May.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    932
    791
    337
    231
See reviews for
330
1,320
123
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel was adequate for our requirements owing to it's location, which is why we chose it. The bed was comfortable, however only a sheet & one blanket is offered and the weather was bitterly cold. There is a heater/a/c in the room which wasn't explained to us & was spasmodic at best..There is building work going on across the street & on the board it expects it to be finished by fall 2014. Currently it starts about 5.30 and doesn't finish until approx 10,30pm 6 days a week and it's pretty loud. Hotel staff appeared totally unaware when we mentioned it! We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we were happy to eat out, but the prices are very high compared to other outlets. The staff are as friendly as they need to be to get a tip-funnily enough when we arrived two staff members were discussing tips-even with one saying how much he made that day. Then on the day of departure the same guy was discussing the same subject with another member. Save it for the staff quarters please, not what guests want or need to listen to!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubambiancefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked our NYC hotel stay at Jolly Madison only because NH Hotels sent us a special offer, which we used. For the price, it is OK. Not terrible, not terrific.

When we arrived, the front desk person had the room rate incorrect ($49 MORE per night than our written confirmation). He never did change the rate, but because we elected to upgrade at a charge of $49 per night, he deleted the upgrade charge so the rate would be what was confirmed.

After reading all of the reviews of this property, I am wondering what a non-upgraded room would be like, since the upgraded room (we were in Room 1755) was good but not great. Again, for the price, there are many other great choices.

Several people mentioned the terrific location of this hotel, which is accurate. The hotel is located in such a place as to access numerous NYC attractions and restaurants quite conveniently.

Even with a special offer, in our next NYC visit we will probably go to another hotel. NYC has so many terrific hotel offerings that this one has nothing special to offer. Besides the terrific view from Room 1755, there was nothing about the room or services that is anything but three stars.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room. If you don't, you will probably be writing reviews similar to what th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The only reason i am not giving the hotel a 5 star is because they do not offer free wifi!
Other than that i can not fault this hotel one bit! Reception area is lovely and welcoming and the staff were brill! - rooms are clean and bathrooms really nice!
The location is perfect i would definitely stay at this hotel if i go back..
Recomended :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have recently returned from NYC, where I stayed at Jolly Madison for 10 nights.
They were brilliant when we arrived. I told them it was my birthday and got upgraded to a deluxe room at no extra cost. The room was wonderful, very clean and roomy. The bathroom had a lovely deep bath, just what is needed after a hard days touring.
I had read previous reviews and had been worried what to expect, but the hotel and staff were outstanding.
I would definitely recommend booking this hotel, very convenient to local attractions; Empire State, Times Square, Grand Central etc.
I would certainly stay there again if I ever travelled back to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here for business in February for 4 nights. The room was adequate for my requirements. It was cited as a superior room, but unsure what the differences would be between levels. I presume the room size.
It was quite a sizeable room by NY standards, but the hotel & room were a little tired, and would benefit from a refurb. I was surprised to see that this hotel was part of the NH chain, as many of their European hotels offer a better quality of decor and comfort.
The room was noisy due to traffic noise, but I think this is the case with most NY hotels unless they have super double glazing.

The breakfast buffet was over priced, especially given the more affordable options close to the hotel, even with the $4 discount if you book in advance.
The wiFi costs were expensive, and even my check in clerk advised to go to coffee shops for their free wiFi than pay for their service.
When I attempted to buy a session the service kept kicking me out before I could even pay.

I had a problem at check out with their card machine unable to print my card receipt, this was solved eventually with a promise to email me the receipt, which they did.

Despite the hotels short comings it was in a nice safe and central location, and did the job for somewhere to rest at night. With so many lodging options with New York I probably won't return, but good to have experienced and add to the list of cheaper options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great place and wonderful location. I felt like we were the only English speaking guests in the hotel. Great bathrooms and location however, tube televisions and mini bar are a bit dated. Once we realized it is a European chain hotel we understood the great price and habitants. Wonderful for price and location.

Room Tip: When you want to see NYC on the cheap. This is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#364 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,812 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
628 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#440 of 468 in New York City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Property: NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Address: 22 E 38th St, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing