We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Beware when checking in. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #394 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Reception staff miserable and we're now pretty sure our room wasn't a superior as paid for on Floor 4. Despite this a good location for sightseeing especially The Empii State Building. Worth getting the NY Pass to save money and hassle

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had booked this hotel as part of a British airways package but when we read some of the reviews we became rather concerned. Too late to change we went ahead anyway and so glad we did. Yes it does lack glamour and is tired in places but the room ( 1065) was very acceptable with a nice bathroom and good shower. Very good cleaning service with fresh bed linen daily. A lovely view of the Empire State from the room but the downside of a Madison ave room is the perpetual traffic noise. Our only gripe was the heater which was noisy and hard to control! But, as all reviews agree, the location is brilliant . For the price we think it would be hard to beat.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Whilst reading a lot of the other reviews, I can honestly say the Madison is hard to beat
I have now stayed here 4 times, and will be returning again in April
Yes parts of this hotel are a little tired, but you don't go to NYC to sit in your room, its clean, house keeping every day, and the reception staff are always helpful
I have stayed in many NYC hotels but this is I favourite NYC hotel for valve for money and also location, one just one block from 5st avenue, and you can be at Central Station, Rockafella, Empire, Central Park, Times Square all within a few minutes, and also all walkable
As a repeat visitor, once you have stayed in an NH hotel 4 times, you do get free wifi as well, so I can not fault any thing

Room Tip: Higher floors, its new York! so all streets are always busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robf998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is towards the budget end of the Manhattan hotel line up. Being located in Midtown only a few blocks away from Grand Central Terminal means that it has fantastic connections for public transport (it isn't far from Penn Station either!). This was the main plus point for us and the main reason for choosing the hotel.

As for the hotel itself I can only really describe it as a 'get what you pay for' place in that for the £100 ($160) a night we were paying it was perfectly adequate. The lobby is quite nice and the staff are friendly to a point (looking for tips) which gave a good initial impression, I also couldn't fault the cleanliness of the hotel in the communal areas and the rooms. The room itself (we were in a standard room on the 8th floor) was a little dated with a CRT TV and a pretty knackered looking (though functional) A/C unit. The bathroom was also a little tired looking as well but also perfectly functional (though the shower did take a while to heat up!).

We didn't try the breakfast as we felt it was expensive and we could get better value from local deli's including the Gigi Café on 34th Street and Essen on Madison Avenue.

All in all I was fairly happy with the hotel but would probably go somewhere a little more upmarket if budget permitted.

Room Tip: From what other people have said apparently the rooms on the higher floors (deluxe rooms) are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

the location of this hotel is perfect for a trip to Manhattan. Located at 38th and Madison you can walk up or down to the main attractions. The room was clean although somewhat outdated. but spacious for NY standards.
We had breakfast in a diner across the street which is very good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Felt compelled to write a review because other reviews would have put me off booking here. We stayed on the 9th floor. Our requests made at the time of booking were all met. The rooms did not have the wow factor but they were very clean and serviced thoroughly every day. The location was perfect with almost everything within walking distance. If you spend time in your room anyway you are missing out in what NY has to offer. There was a well stocked mini bar. The heating/cooling system was not the best but in our adjoining room there was a more up to date thermostatically controlled system which was better. The staff were polite and helpful at all times. Don't let the more negative reviews put you off. This hotel was value for money.

Thank Josusan36
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have just arrived back from this hotel. First of all it is in a great location. Our room was a twin room, for us two girls was what we asked for. The rooms are very clean, beds were comfortable ours had a fridge in it. You do get noise, but you would expect it as New York, take earplugs if needed.
Our problem we had was that there is not enough bedding for cold weather, only a thin blanket and sheet. We did ask for some more blankets, which we did get one, they said they didn't have anymore. We used our coats as blankets.
The price for this hotel was good, it was better than we expected inside.
The staff we saw some were very friendly, some were not.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we thought it was expensive.
This hotel covered our needs, and our whole trip was brilliant. It is what you make of a holiday.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenlovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#207 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,464 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#287 of 470 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
939 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Address: 22 E 38th St, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing