We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay with Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay with Family”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I recently returned from a three night stay at the Marriott East Side and my somewhat tempered expectations were exceeded. It was the first trip to NY with my kids - ages six and three.

For starters, I was upgraded to a larger room that accommodated two doubles and roll away. Said differently, we were not subjected to the kids beating each other up in the same bed until my wife and split up and each took one. This was accomplished with a pre-arrival e-mail exchange with reservation manager who was delightful.

We arrived at around 11:30am and I was surprised to find our room available. Check-in was a breeze and I was shown all the love that my Platinumness is supposed to yield. The kids were thrilled when that evening when milk and cookies arrived shortly before bed (I was less thrilled, but that's more of a sugar issue).

The room was large by NY standards. The view was of the center core of the building which was dark anyway you slice it. I would gleefully trade view for room size anytime (particularly when sharing a room with the kids) so this wasn't a big deal. And, not surprisingly, we were rarely in the room.

The concierge lounge was among the busier ones I've seen in the Marriott system. Despite that, they were wonderful with the kids (offered a Marriott coloring book) and the breakfast offerings (eggs, bagels, cereal, fruit, good coffee) was more than good enough to save the $852 for four breakfast charge via room service (okay, slight exaggeration). Keep in mind that the lounge closes for the weekend at 1pm on Friday.

Internet was more than good enough and the LCD TV kept my kids entertained when we were getting ready. The location at 49th and Lex was an easy walk to just about everything in midtown.

Great stay and would (and will) return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verysnobbytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    895
    421
    142
    74
See reviews for
515
523
96
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night getaway at this hotel. It is very conveniently located. Great restaurants all around, subway 2 blocks away, close to Times Square, and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I just stayed at this hotel last weekend and found it to be a very clean and comfortable place to stay at a reasonable rate in NYC. Check-in was a breeze! We arrived in the city at 2:30 (check-in wasn't until 4) but they accommodated us right away which was a nice surprised for a Friday on a holiday weekend. The room was average-sized...I've stayed in an similar-style Marriott in DC where the room was a tad bigger (even had a couch) but this is NYC so I expect smaller accommodations. When we arrived in the room we immediately did the bed-bug test (lift up the mattress to see if you see any critters scatter - bed bugs hate light) and it passed the test! Phew! The water-pressure in the shower was incredible, and they provided Bath and Body works toiletries (we also called down for a couple of toothbrushes and they provided them which was helpful).

A few other notes... We didn't use the hotel WiFi as I believe it was $16 which seemed pretty pricey. We also skipped the hotel breakfast (also pricey) and the room service; however, my boyfriend did go down to the hotel bar/restaurant (525 LEX) where he had three beers and a plate of edamame for $50! (Yikes!) This hotel is conveniently within a block or so to some decent restaurants and bars (Ess-a-bagel, Starbucks, Dos Caminos, Snafu (dive bar that serves popcorn)) which was great in a pinch. Overall, would recommend if you can find a great rate or deal for the hotel (not sure if I would pay full price).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenM021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I did not go to New York on buisness, strictly pleasure. Therefore I did not need internet connection or the computers there. However, if you are going here on buisness the wifi is very expensive and the buisness center charges 35cents per minute! and to make and copies or print anything. The staff is very very nice and will get you a taxi anytime you need one and they also have so much knowledge about the city! The concierge desk can also get you tickets to shows, schedule reservations, schedule a time for a pick up in a car, and also get game tickets for various sports. The room itself is very nice they have a flat screen tv in every room, the bed is comfortable, and the ac is able to be set on various settings. the shower also has very warm water and there is excellent conditioner and shampoo provided. Not the cheap stuff. I definitely insist on going up to the top floor of the hotel where you will have a panaromic view of the city. Which is awesome. Very good location in walking distance of times square, 5th avenue, and canal street. Or a cheap taxi ride to any of these.

Room Tip: Well as far as finding a quiet room it's not going to happen because it is New York. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSSS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel was located near many things to do. We went to the broadway show WICKED (excellent show). The hotel and the employees were exceptionally nice. Good food but only served breakfast and dinner, no lunches but plenty of places around to eat it is NYC.

Room Tip: We got a King size-non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy32164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It's a very good location in Midtown and the room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the people who worked there are incredibly nice - quick check with a long line of people. There are not a lot of bells and whistles if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife & I just got back from a weekend stay at the Marriot East Side. The location is perfect for enjoying all that Manhattan has to offer. Three blocks from Grand Central, plenty of great places to eat, close enough to walk to broadway shows and Central Park. We reserved our room on Priceline and the result was fantastic. Our room was spacious by New York standards; the staff was very reindly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsprit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing