We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a corner room with a view of the side street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #280 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had a Stay-Cation here over the July 4 weekend. The city is a great time to visit during a summer holiday weekend because all the locals left the city to be in the Hamptons or Jersey shore. Check-in was quick and busy during a Saturday afternoon as the front desk handled the guests smoothly. As Platinum members, we were upgraded to a corner room. Ask for to be on the side street of the hotel as it is quieter. The corner room is a spacious room for enough room for 2 people. Bed is very comfortable with quality linens. Bathroom is good size, updated, and a powerful shower head. Fridge and Safe are in the room. Staying at this location, you are walking distance to Bloomingdales and lots of shops on Lexington Ave. Subway stop is Lex/53rd. For Restaurants and Bars head to 3rd and 2nd Avenues. We like to go to Hillstone, 53rd at 3rd Avenue. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. We booked a larger room which, by New York standards, was good. The bed was comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly. Bathrooms are small but - hey - this is NYC. The lobby can get crowded at times. The lobby bartenders are excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed there 4 nights in June. Room was small and bathroom very small. Elevators can be very busy. Our room had O view. The location is terrific but thats about it. The Doorman Mike and a Bellman named Patrick were great. I'm also very dissapointed that Marriott changed their award points program. It now cost almost twice as many points for rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel was pricey but worth it because we had three adults and two teens in our group and we needed plenty of space. They had a room (jr. suite) for us that was very spacious, clean, comfy and quiet with two rooms. The location of the hotel was in a nice and safe area that was very clean and upscale and less hectic than times square. If you are looking for comfort this is a great choice. If you want to save money, you may need to keep looking. Very expensive food and drinks, so you'll want to eat outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor. Loved it. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAPPYCAMPERSFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Terrible service upon check-in. Ruined my whole taste for the hotel. Will not recommend at all. So many other hotels to choose from in the area. Poor views good location. Not worth the money. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parislover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I booked the King Cozy Room through Expedia.com at a rate of $300 for the night (average for a decent room in NYC). The room was quite cozy, but still a decent size for NYC. It's big enough for 1-2 people max. The room was clean. The bathroom was a good size. Only a few walkable blocks from Grand Central Station. I have no complaints other than for some reason our clock radio alarm went off by itself at 6am and we could not for the life of us figure out how to turn it off. We even tried to unplug it and it still went off. We are convinced it was haunted.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToyHarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

For positive comments: Don't be afraid of this place for uncleanliness or safety. Its "fine" but that's all. This is a decent hotel and has a good location. Easy access to 5th Ave shopping Central Park and Times Square. The 6 Train subway stop is nearby. Its an historic Hotel alright but its a tired facility. The odd elevators are a curiosity often noted but that was not a serious drawback. I found the small drab room disappointing and musty. There was a vague ?fruity smell in the room. Not sure if it was a cleaning agent, the fridge or the humid air during the heat wave during my stay. The beds were nice and good bedding and duvets. Bath was small but fine. he AC and toilet made some odd noises but worked well. We had 2 windows facing the concrete wall next door.
The reservation was made specifically for 2 double beds (EXPEDIA), and there was a choice on the booking of 2 doubles or a queen. On arrival we found that there were no available doubles, only King rooms. After some griping we got the manager to fix it so that the double could be had. On the plus side they were happy to check us in when we arrived. It was only about 11 AM.

The nearby sites and attractions are OK and the cost was low (for NYC) but I would not stay again. I hate to pay so much and feel that I should stay out and about until the very last since I had no desire to spend an extra minute in that dank room. I guess it is worth it to pay $100 more per night to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a view. 6th had nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bchs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#268 of 470 in New York City
3,530 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#331 of 470 in New York City
1,359 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#195 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#144 of 470 in New York City
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing