We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try. Try again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #286 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try. Try again!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stay there twice a year for at least he past 6 years. Our last trip this summer was a disgrace. No one seemed to care. Front desk clerk rude. Went to dinner, our waiter left! Yes left, took forever for manager to address the situation.
In short, not how it used to be. Trying one more time in January ....

Room Tip: Ask for rear of hotel away from Lexington .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    895
    421
    142
    74
See reviews for
515
523
96
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Agree with the reviews of others as they are accurate. Good location, plenty of restaurants and attractions nearby, good staff, nice to have a small fridge in the room and a bar in the lobby (although the restaurant was only breakfast and lunch). On the downside, older hotel, noisy even with the fan on high depending on the room location, somewhat dated in many ways from the appearance to the elevators. Pricey for what you get and what you have to pay for, including the $33 cold buffet (breads, fruits, cereals, etc.) and the nonsense wifi charge. No information sheet on hotel amenities, services, wifi connections, etc. was found in the room. Plenty of other hotels in the area and worth shopping around for a better deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight due to an early start in the morning. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. Out room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The concierge lounge offered many snacks although we were not there for the buffet that they had during the evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

2 adults and 2 children stayed here in July. They first gave us an accesible room, and it was very average. After two nights, and after the bathtub started getting clogged, we asked to be moved. They did so, and placed us in a regular inside room. The room itself was nice (for Marriott standards), with normal amenities. This room also had a water problem and they tried to be as accommodating as possible, but it just took too long. It seems that issues take a while... but again, staff were polite and friendly. The hotel is in a very good location, next to many Midtown attractions and sites within walking distance. I personally like Marriott hotels, but this one was not the best I´ve been in.
The fitness room has amazing views of the city. It´s worth it to just go up and check it out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We went to NY last weekend and stayed at the Marriott and loved it. The hotel staff was
extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, we were very close to
Rockefeller Center, Times Square and Radio City. I would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank boston1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We having been staying at this hotel often for about a year. We love the location and the boutique like feel. We are lifetime platinum members with Marriott.
The rooms are adequate although smaller. The bathrooms are adequate as well. There is nothing splendid to report here but no major negatives either.
Housekeeping service often fails to leave refills of toilet tissue and soap. The wifi service falls short in that you need to sign up each day of your stay. Also, if your device goes to "sleep", you need to reconnect. This becomes quite burdensome.
The concierge lounge is OLD, and messy. We have been told that a newer , better one is in progress, but little attempt is made at maintaining the current one. The breakfast service has all the usual and necessary items. There certainly is no attempt at presentation. The fruit has been rotten several times and often times the melon still has green rinds attached. One of our favorite things in this lounge was the mesculin salad every night. We are healthy eaters and we looked
forward to it. It has been discontinued.for a while. We have made several attempts to discuss this with food service, but they do not return our phone calls.
The A/C system is old, noisy and has trouble maintaining temperature.
Front desk staff is friendly and the bell service is very accommodating.
We have been wondering lately,if the hotel has changed management since service appears on the decline. We would like to continue staying here, but it is becoming difficult.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Spent a long weekend in NYC with a friend from the UK. Her first visit. Location of the hotel was super. We walked everywhere - day and night. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was fine and spotlessly clean. Small but had 2 doubles which is not an easy find for a reasonable rate. Our only complaint was the extra charge for wifi in the room. Seems rather ridiculous in this day and age, but this was pretty minor and we used the wifi in the lobby bar. I would defiinitely stay here again!

Room Tip: back of hotel - higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing