We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wifi needs to be upgraded!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wifi needs to be upgraded!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Conveniently located for the purpose of our trip, with rooms of adequate size for NY. I concur with other reviewers about having to wait for elevators in the morning and evening. My main complaint is regarding wifi: its only free in the lobby and outrageously expensive in rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good morning

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We are always eager to hear what you liked about our service and the quality of our hotel and how we can improve.

We will definitely discuss the issue regarding the elevators and the cost of having Wi-Fi in our rooms. Every thing we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please contact us at your convenience so we can further discuss these issues.

Once again, thank you and we hope you choose the East Side hotel the next time your travel plans brings you to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    883
    405
    140
    74
See reviews for
502
513
92
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The New York Marriott East Side is conveniently located and nicely appointed. My room was a double/double and was very spacious and attractive. Good bedding, most TV channels are HD, and a very good concierge floor for premium guests. Staff is pleasant and accommodating. A good choice in New York.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The mixed reviews on trip advisor are a bit scary but when we arrived here we checked in with no problems, nice staff and the lobby had a good atmosphere. Lifts always seemed to be pretty quick to arrive too!
Room was very clean and tidy, on 10th floor. No view but to be honest we were hardly in the room in daylight! Used the aircon/heating which worked well too.
Shower great, nice toiletries in the room too. Used the fridge to store our champagne my husband had ordered for our arrival! Tea/coffee making facilities in room too. Plenty of plugs (strange highlight I know but with all our phones and camera batteries to charge this was a great plus!!). There were 3 of us in the room and the size of the room/beds was fine.
We didn't use any of the bar or restaurant services so cant comment on them. We didn't use the gym (LOL we had walked off all excess calories!) but went up to see what it was like - great equipment but not a soul in it! Looked like it had great views!

It's all about Location in NYC and for us this was a fabulous location! Being so close to Central Staion was great but only a couple of blocks from the Rockefeller and 5th Ave etc was great.

Really recommend here for a stay if you want a good location at a reasonable price. We were glad not to be staying in the crazy chaos of Times Sq but close enough to walk there easily!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Used the bar one evening for a drink...we werent residents but looked good....2 glasses of white ZIN and a cocktail = $50....tip added too....smarmy service..what a rip offf...avoid this place even if you go to the liquor store!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your recent visit to the Marriott East Side Hotel and also for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your experience in our Lobby Bar. I assure you that your concerns will be addressed. Customer satisfaction is one of

From your comments, it seems we did not provide proper communication regarding the pricing of our goods in the Lobby Bar and I do apologize for that. We would love to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at your convenience. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was one of the weakest Marriotts that I've ever stayed in. The staff is nice and my room was decent sized for NY. However, my view was of a brick wall looking into other rooms. I assume there are better views in this hotel but I'm gold and this was where they put me so don't count on a nice view :) The concierge lounge was okay but nothing special. The worst part of this hotel is the elevators. In the evening they are slow and crowded. In the morning they take at least 5 minutes and possibly much longer. I had to use the stairs because they are all too full for me to get on. It turned out to be good exercise but this might really bother some people. This hotel clearly needs more elevators or at least faster ones. Make sure you leave plenty of time to get to the lobby in the morning. Kind of disappointing for a Marriott.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BostonFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Good morning

Thank you for staying with us at the Marriott Eastside hotel and also for taking the time to give us your feedback.

From your feedback, it seems you had difficulty getting on and off the elevators and also not being checked into a room with a view. I understand your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by this.

Let me also take this opportunity to inform you that we are always working on finding ways to improve our services and the quality of our hotel.

We value your trust in our hotel and will do our best to meet your expectations for future visits. Please contact us at your convenience so we can discuss these issues further. Thanks again for your honest feedback and we hope you choose the East Side the next time your travel plans bring you to New York city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Service is great as expected. Rooms are on the small side and definitely could use some touch up in the maintenance and decor department.

But overall shower pressure was good, concierge room is fantastic, beds are soft, rooms are quiet and dark. Nice hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were in the city for only one night so this hotel worked out ok. The staff was friendly and attentive. We were there on a paid rate of $179.00. Very inexpensive for New York City so I can't really complain. We are Platinum members and I called ahead to see if we could get an upgrade to a larger room so that the room with two double beds could also accommodate a rollaway bed (which was an additional $40.00). They were able to do that. When we got to the room I was surprised that this small room would be allowed to hold a rollaway but they somehow fit it in.

The hotel is an easy walk from grand central and the location was great for doing what we wanted to do, especially on the East Side. The hotel itself is outdated. The room was the same. I know they can't change the building structure (which could be charming) but a little bit of updates would help. Room windows were very drafty and the heating system clanked everytime it kicked on. We were on the 10th floor and the street noise was loud. But, you are in New York City that is to be expected. The concierge breakfast offerings were very good. Eggs, plenty of Danish/breads, fruit that was very fresh, oatmeal and cereal. Coffee was very good.

I probably wouldn't stay here again unless we got a really good rate. I much prefer the Renaissance Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordycatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Good afternoon

On behalf of the Marriott East Side Hotel, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel, and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

From your feedback, it seems you were not satisfied with the size of the room, and the overall noise caused by the heater in the room and the traffic on the outside.

We are always eager to hear about your likes and dislikes regarding our service and the overall quality of our hotel and how we can improve. As one of our valued customer, everything we do is aimed at providing you with excellent hotel servce. Please contact us so we can discuss your issues further.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing