We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #290 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Manhattan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good location, good service, over-priced bar. Room was clean but a bit dated and the radiator was loud. Nice, small gym.

No major complaints, but there was no "wow" factor. Reasonably priced hotel, probably best for business travel and not far from Penn Station.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cait684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_East_Side, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Cait684,

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

You indicated in your response that you had an overall pleasant stay however experienced a few disappointments. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us, so we can further discuss these issues.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    885
    417
    141
    74
See reviews for
508
517
94
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice lobby and very friendly front desk staff when I checked in. Just stayed for the night but this was a great location. Hotel rooms, hallways, décor after you get past the lobby and bar/restaurant are somewhat outdated and nothing special. I always stay at Marriot's and I got a decent deal on this hotel for the night but if I had to pay the posted $350 a night rate for this hotel - I would consider elsewhere in Manhattan and I'm a huge fan of Marriot's. $65 for valet and $17 for internet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalimo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_East_Side, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Dalimo1,

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

You indicated in your response that you felt some parts of the hotel were outdated. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations. Additionally, we have passed along your associate compliments to our staff and thank you for the recognition.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The late night bellman and check in staff were not happy to see us. When we got out of the cab , the bellman pointed imperiously to the narrow windy ramp so we could roll our bags up. When we finished struggling to get our multiple bags to the door, he asked if he could help us with our bags inside. No thanks. As we are "Elite" Marriott members, the desk staff informed us that "this hotel does not participate" in some of the amenities. Once in the room we discovered there's a lot of street noise from busy Lexington. First room in 4th floor was so loud we asked to be moved. Higher up room on 10th was slightly less noisy. They claimed to have no higher rooms. Part of the challenge is the construction in the area, which may improve when the projects finish. Sound abatement would help. Rooms in need of repair. Housekeeping mostly good but sometimes spotty, which is not unusual. Beds need replacing. Balance of staff very nice and concierge lounge good when it's open. Great location otherwise, but we hope not to stay here again at least for a long while.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francofile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_East_Side, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Francofile1,

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

You indicated in your response that your room was unsatisfactory and the arrival experience was disappointing. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet yours or our own expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.


Thank you again, for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

my sister and bro were spending a couple of nites here before the superbowl weekend and i was visiitng them and it seemed like pepsi had taken over the hotel and only the superbowl guestes mattered. there werent even any chairs to sit on the lobby, the the whole area was taken over by pepsi. the restaurant / coffee shop was under repair....so again..no place to sit.

the rooms....average....so not worth the price.

overall...disappointed....only the location rocked.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaycee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_East_Side, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear KACEE28,

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

You indicated in your response that you were unhappy with your overall experience while visiting your family. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us, so we can further discuss these issues.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

In town for a reunion. Chose this property because of proximity to subway (that back fired. Oh Well) Rarely stay in NYC due to expense. Decided to splurge and this was worth it (for room and amenities)
Some negatives: Why do the expensive hotels charge an extravagant price for internet access when the budget hotels offer it for free? And why should BFast at the hotel cost $34 when an equivalent Bfast around the corner was $10?
We were upgraded to a penthouse(?) Jacuzzi room a bit larger than lower floors but required an elevator change for access. Did appreciate the quiet of the upper floor
As to subway, MTA closed station closest to hotel for weekend repair work. Could not have predicted when we reserved
A bit more expensive but worth it for a NY vacation

Room Tip: The higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuikAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here using our Marriott points and was very impressed with the staff at check in. They were very helpful, efficient and courteous. We were upgraded to a corner room with a sofa bed. The rooms more spacious than I expected for a hotel in Manhattan. The bed was extremely comfortable. I can't find any fault with this hotel, or its staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1momo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hubby and I stayed here this past weekend, Saturday April 5th. Paid $150 total on Priceline. Nice room, big for Manhattan standards, clean, etc. Hotel is in good location. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebart112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing