We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better this visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #277 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better this visit!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had stayed at the Marriott East Side before and was disappointed with the room (dark, small, ripped bedding). This time the room (2103) was quite large, nice and bright and the bathroom and products were nice as was the coffee/tea storage. The only downside was upon our arrival I noticed a desk that indicated Elite members here - I approached and was rebuffed by the desk clerk - she wasn't ready and there was a line (no line - one man awaiting a desk clerk in front). Felt quite foolish by the rebuke. Also, restaurant needs an update, food is limited and need a late night menu (croissants, scones, some lite fare). Was approached by a manager/assistant manager one night while awaiting some coffee and tea. Very nice! Our check in/check out was 4/23/2014 and 4/24/2014.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright, light room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfishgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    928
    431
    147
    75
See reviews for
539
541
100
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice hotel, but the room was tiny. The room was nice, but for the location and price I just expected it to me nicer. Room was ready early, which was a blessing. Staff was nice. Walking distance to many things.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to show all of our guests an exceptional experience. I'm sorry the room wasn't the size you were looking for. They are cozy and classic to represent our East Side location. We really value your feedback and I'd like to pass this along to our team.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It was a pleasurable stay at Marriott East Side. My daughter and I were coming in NYC for an audition and they allowed us to check in super early, 7a. What a great relief to get rest and ready before the audition. Thank you, Marriott!
Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeceID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stay at Marriott because it is usually reliably high quality from one hotel to another. I was disappointed with Marriott east. We needed to switch rooms initially because the first room backed up to the elevator banks! The second room was small, no light in the closet, and toilet supplies,coffee cups were not replaced. The cable reception was spotty. The lobby decor was dated. On the positive side, the staff was excellent and very helpful given that my complaints are beyond their individual control. The location is excellent.
These deficiencies ought to be easily correctable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hschub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Hschub,

Thank you for your feedback. I'd like to apologize for having disappointed you. We pride ourselves on the quality of our service and our classic East Side location. We really value your feedback and are in the process of modifying our rooms, decor and some of the many other out dated features of our hotel. You're correct; they are easily fixable and hopefully the next time you decide to come to NYC we will be refreshed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just love this place! Normally when I stay in New York it's a Courtyard Fairfield etc. because the Marriott Eastside is priced out of my range. I do always check and luckily for this stay it was in line.

Location is perfect, at least for
me. It is on the east side, away from a lot of the noise and crowds but easily accessible. There are tons of restaurants
within easy walking distance.

The hotel is best described as
stately. There is a uniformed doorman out front, and the architecture is old and impressive. The staff is always friendly, the lobby is addicted out in red carpet and wood. You feel like you're arriving at a classy establishment, very
different from typical chain hotel.

The rooms can be variable. Understand had a corner room, high up with a nice view of the
Chrysler building. The room for me was large by New York standards clean and
comfortable with a shower and tub. It was very quiet.

I had concierge lounge access for breakfast, which was great selection of eggs other hot
items as well as cold.

This is a great choice for those coming to New York and wanting a special experience
but not wanting to pay $500 a day.

I guess you can tell I like it here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A "girls weekend" of shopping, walking, sight-seeing and fun, staying in this hotel was perfect. One flew in, now came by train, and we met up at the Marriott. Our room was ready early, a blessing (it always is). The maids are fast, efficient and the bell captain always seems to have cabs at his fingertips, the 525 Lex (bar and light restaurant off the lobby) is perfect if you are foot weary and don't feel like slogging out for a bite but feel like you are not lazy enough for room service.. A great place, our favorite to return to frequently.

Room Tip: As for a room up near the top for a better nights sleep, the higher you are, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

At my daughters request, we took a trip to NY for her spring break (she is not quite 8 so this was surprising). I had called a month prior to request a room on a high floor with a view however, apparently the request wasn't relayed correctly (7th floor, no view right next to the noisy elevator). The 2nd night I requested to be moved and my request was granted in a BIG way!! We were moved to room 3207 which had 3 windows and a breathtaking view of the Chrysler Building.
The staff, room cleanliness and surrounding area was fantastic and I will definitely be returning soon!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang06062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#276 of 467 in New York City
3,288 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#151 of 467 in New York City
2,274 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#320 of 467 in New York City
4,351 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#295 of 467 in New York City
1,309 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing