We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #280 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We recently spent a few nights at the Marriott East side. It is a very nice building, well located on Lex & 49th. Close to the 5th Avenue and a nice walk to Times Square. The rooms were a little small (understandable for an old hotel building), but who comes to NYC to stay indoors anyway? Overall it was quite a nice place to stay. The Concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a wonderful time in New York the team at this hotel were friendly and warm. Location was not ideal for where we wanted to be but thats not their fault. Gym was well equipped and at least close to the underground I do recommend for a simple stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We arrived in the City shortly before 11:30 AM and were delighted that our room was available. Check in was smooth and efficient. The room was 1536. It had three windows and was very quiet and comfortable! Location is great for sight-seeing! Staff was always friendly. Valets were prompt and kind. Highly recommend this property and will absolutely stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Travel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were surprised and delighted with this hotel! The staff was so friendly and helpful; the room was very large with 2 queen size beds, two large windows, coffee maker and a large, updated bathroom with rain shower. The beds were very comfortable, too! Great location: 5 blocks from Grand Central and 4 from American Girl and 30 Rock. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellie4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Extremely poor value for money at over $500 per night; no room service, not even a bottle of water in room, you can "buy from the vending machine". The 16th floor had open wiring hanging from the roof on the way to the gym; btw getting to the gym means 3 different lifts to a cramped room if you are unlucky enough to stay below the 16th floor. How could I possibly pay the same as the Marriott in Washington DC the night before? Completely ridiculous and I'll make sure no-one at our company stays there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank shouldhavegonecampin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Good morning

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel I would like to thank you for your concerns regarding your recent visit. From your comments, it seems you were very dissatisfied with the quality, the convenience and the cost of the room and for that we do apologize. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations.

However, our goal is to address your concerns and improve on them to the best of our ability. Please do not hesitate to contact us, at your convenience to further discuss these issues. Once again, thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward to hosting you brilliantly in the near future. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice rooms. Comfy beds. Nice coffee machine in the room. Well located for business and restaurants. Friendly staff. Plenty of Hobbits and no Orcs. No elves sneaking into the room in the middle of the night looking for trouble. No dwarves. No wizards. No Bassilisk. Three point to Gryffendor. Free sorting hat. Nice lobby bar. Not too much traffic noise. A bit pricey but it was Frodo's shout so why should I care? ................................................................................................................................................................................. .............."...............................

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dumbledore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel was good in many ways, but it just doesn't live up to the price or the ranking of a five-star hotel. The pro's were the M-Lounge that I was allowed to use for being an Elite member. The location is excellent and it is clean inside. I found my room to be plenty large enough, with some nice updates done to the bathroom. The reviews are correct, it is very noisy, but I suspect that's hard to change without some very costly updates. It seems to be a trend for older buildings in NY. However, for over $500 a night, there just was nothing special about the service or amenities. I will say that when spoken to and asked questions, the staff was very friendly and responsive. But no one offered to take my bags, open a door, or acknowledged me with even a hello if the M-Lounge. It just doesn't have the feel of a 5-star hotel. I have been trying to decide whether to stay in the Marriott program or to start venturing out and trying hotels. I think for the prices Marriott charges, it's time for me to try other hotel brands. The perks for Marriott Rewards members are not that great, especially being a member who has their credit card too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareAgent, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for this feedback. I'd like to apologize for having disappointed you in regards to the service provided. We pride ourselves on personalized and polished service service. I don't believe this represents our usual standard of service. I will ensure that this feedback is shared with our team. We strive to show all our guests an exceptional hospitality experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me so that I may personalize your upcoming stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#269 of 470 in New York City
3,537 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#331 of 470 in New York City
1,361 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#193 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#144 of 470 in New York City
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing