We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #276 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Marriott East in New York City. This hotel really needs a makeover. Very small lobby and quite noisy. The restaurant is open to the lobby and bar area, not very romantic.
The food is below par. Had to send ours back and ask for refund. The room itself was somewhat
seedy and could also stand to be redone.
Overall was quite disappointed with the Marriott East. Would not recommend staying there until some changes are made.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good morning

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback regarding our service and the overall quality of our hotel.

From your comments, you mentioned your disatisfaction with the size of the room, the food in the restaurant and also the atmosphere in the Lobby. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations in most areas.

Our goal however, is to address your concerns and improve on them to the best of our ability. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience to further discuss these issues.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward in serving you brilliantly in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
There are newer reviews for New York Marriott East Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very attentive staff will see to your every need. Concierge is excellent and won't steer you wrong. The rooms, like most in NY were a bit small and could use some updating, although you had most everything you needed. Small things like cleaning the glass on picture frames or wiping off the lid on the Q-tip holder seemed to be overlooked but overall was very clean. Bathroom was small and my wife had no place to sit to put on makeup. Shower had great water pressure and temperature worked pretty good, but it drained a bit slow. A/C never seemed to be as cool as the control stated, but was very sufficient. The best part was the bed. Very nice mattress and makings. Plush pillows. Very nice overall. Nice sized desk with lots of plugs and internet connections. Wi-Fi was extra. We did not dine at the hotel but they had a nice dining room. Gift shop was very small. Top notch service everywhere. Location wasn't bad. East Central Manhattan and close to the subway. Many restaurants within walking distance and Broadway shows were only about a 20 minute walk.

Room Tip: A hint-if you like it quieter at night, don't get a room on the front side of the hotel. We ha...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here in May for a sightseeing trip with our 12 year lad. The Hotel was great. I am afraid we didn't see much of it as we were out from morning till night. We were on the 15th floor. We had a great room at the back of the Hotel. The room was very clean and very spacious. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We did have a drink in the Hotel bar one evening just while we caught up on emails etc..but after coming to $40 for 2 glasses of wine and a soft drink we decided not to do that again. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here either.There was a fridge in our room so that was good to keep water, soft drinks and beer cold!! Also had tea and coffee making facilities. We found this Hotel was a great central location to everything we wanted to see. It looks like a long walk on the map's but it really isn't that far. We were close to it all. Central Park, 5th Avenue, Chrysler, Empire and Times Square. On the morning we were leaving, our flight wasn't until 6.30 that evening so the Hotel stored our bags for us so we could go out and enjoy the time we had left. When we collected our bags I noticed they had a computer and printer available to print off our boarding passes. If we ever go to New York again I will definitely book here and I would also definitely recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enacasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The New York Marriott East Side offers a serviceable place to stay in an incredible city. I have not slept in many NYC properties because I usually stay at family or friends' apartments. In this case, I was in the city for one night, needed clothing for a family member's wedding and wanted to be close to large department stores. From that perspective, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Saks Fifth Avenue, Barney's and Bloomingdales are all within 20 minutes' walking distance, along with many shops along Fifth Avenue.

In terms of service, the front desk was pleasant and the doorman helpful. Overall, however, I found the hotel's outside curb environment and lobby to be frenetic and impersonal. I was not greeted till getting to the front of the registration line to check in. The feng shui of the lobby is off, with people and luggage clumped all over the place. The space needs definition, furniture, and a warmer sense of welcoming. There is also an overly chemical, saccharine smell to the lobby which I found disconcerting and unpleasant.

I found the hotel room just passable. It was dark in terms of both light and feeling. There was just one tiny window in the corner. The bathroom was rough around the edges with tired paint cracks in the door and door frame. The room lacked a hair dryer: a staple in 21st century hotel bathrooms.

Summary: Location is great for shopping and not far from 42nd street theatre. Room clean. Service available, nice but lacking in personal attention. The hotel does not offer a sense of character or feeling for this wondrous American city of New York. If you want a feel for this city, stay elsewhere. In addition, I'd say my room and the overall experience were sub-par for Marriott properties. This would be a place I'd choose for 1 or 2 nights only, with functionality of location being my priority.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTrueDreamOfSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareAgent, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay. You indicated that your room acoomodation and lobby experience were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for having disapointed you. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. In regards to the hair dryer, each room is equiped with a hair dryer. Our apologies if we were unable to assist you in locating it. Additionally, thank you for your compliments on our service at the front door and front desk. I will be sure to pass it along to our team. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the beginning of out tour. The rooms were really nice and the water was filtered. Which was rare in the States. It had a nice old school upper class feel to the place as well. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanOldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareAgent, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review us, and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on a great room accomodation and truly brilliant service. We look forward to welcoming you back for a truly enjoyable meal. In the future, please feel free to contact me or another manager on duty so that we may be able to personalize her upcoming stay. Many thanks and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a Board of Directors Meeting in Manhattan, and Marriott East Side was one of the few hotels that has a meeting room big enough for 35 people. Overall, the meeting part of our stay was good not great. The meeting space worked. The breakfast and lunch food was good. The rooms, however, are small with no view, and need refurbishing badly. The catering staff was pleasant and tried to accommodate. The rest of the staff was not even average. Seemed the objective was to just move as many people as possible in and out of the hotel. Public food that we had was sent back as non-edible. This is not one of Marriott's nicest hotels.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good afternoon

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to rate us. You mentioned in your feedback that overall the meeting part of your stay and the breakfast and lunch was good. However, you had some issues with the service and for that I do apologize.

Our goal is to deliver the best guest experience possible. We are always grateful whenever we receive a review that indicates an opportunity to improve. We would love to know more about what happened in order to better meet your needs in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience to further address the situation. Once again we do thank you for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights and have to say we were treated very well! From the doormen to the front desk to the women cleaning the room, everyone was very friendly, helpful, and polite. We had issues with very loud noises in our room and the front desk staff was attentive and offered to move us. Not sure if it was the elevator but the room was so large and nice we decided to stay (any room with 17 at the end is large!). Very clean, updated, nice-sized bathroom. Would definitely stay here again! Yes, internet is high priced here ($16/day) so plan accordingly (free wifi in lobby).

Room Tip: Room numbers with "17" at end are large, but may be noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yahtzee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#152 of 468 in New York City
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 468 in New York City
4,413 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,327 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £189 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing