We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #284 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel quality.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here three times. Nice location, room standard is just ok - there are better choices closeby. The lounge is closed on weekends, my experiences with the staff are mixed: Some are nice, some others are not as friendly or helpful as I would expect it.

Overall a slightly below-average experience, compared with other Marriott properties in the same category.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benwrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    894
    421
    142
    74
See reviews for
514
523
96
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for a recent business meeting at the hotel and extended a few days. I found the property to have a great location with a friendly staff. By New York standards, I found the size of the room to be generous and the on site amenities to be great including the lobby lounge/cafe. We would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: We had two doubles and while the view was not great, the room was sufficiently sized to accomodate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigDox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here 10 years ago and remember it as being nice. Well, I don't think the carpets have been cleaned since then. The whole place has a worn, dingy feel--you know, dust and fluff along the baseboards, stained carpet, fingerprints and smudges everywhere, worn linen. What a disappointment. Marriott's quality is becoming more uneven. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to send us some feedback. I will ensure that this information about the room is shared with our team to make sure we are providing the best experience for our guests. We strive to show all our guests an exceptional hospitality experience in regards to our service and product and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during this past stay. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It has been a long time since we were in NYC. Since it was where our wedding hosts were staying. The location is wonderful. It was an easy cab ride or walking to the places we needed to be. Our room was pretty good. We like to have 2 double beds and we had plenty of room. Nice closet for wedding dress up clothing. Room had a nice NYC view. We are Gold and enjoyed breakfast only once. It was a pretty good selection of food. Went to one of the restaurants listed on the hotel website and really enjoyed.

One issue...there was construction that started at 7am in the room below us. It totally ruined our morning of sleeping in. They had to have known that when we checked in and they also knew we were there for a wedding rather that a business person that would be up at 7 anyway. We were compensated with additional Marriott points and the staff was most apologetic but we did not get our sleep back.

Don't know if prices were good or bad for NYC. Did get a special rate for weekend nights. Would likely stay there again as we did enjoy the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott East Side. Our goal is to always provide brilliant and consistent service to all of our guests and I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your past stay. We definitely appreciate you feedback and that you took the time to let us know of your experiences. We would love to have the chance to host you again in the future so please don't hesitate to reach out if you happen to be back in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place is the worst from check in to check out. The restaurant was so bad the manager did not charge us for four meals and drinks. The rooms are the size of a postage stamp and over priced.

I am a Marriott Elite Member, and will find a different place to stay on my next trip to New York.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Vince,
First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us and apologize for the bad experiences that you may have had at our hotel. Our aim is to provide a great experience to our guests and it looks like we did not meet your expectations of service. I will definitely make sure to speak to the restaurant about your stay in order to make all future experiences better and I thank you for your feedback.
We value your feedback and please feel free to contact us at your convenience if you wish to discuss the issues you have stated. As an Elite member, we thank for your loyalty and if you do decide to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Marriott East in New York City. This hotel really needs a makeover. Very small lobby and quite noisy. The restaurant is open to the lobby and bar area, not very romantic.
The food is below par. Had to send ours back and ask for refund. The room itself was somewhat
seedy and could also stand to be redone.
Overall was quite disappointed with the Marriott East. Would not recommend staying there until some changes are made.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good morning

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback regarding our service and the overall quality of our hotel.

From your comments, you mentioned your disatisfaction with the size of the room, the food in the restaurant and also the atmosphere in the Lobby. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations in most areas.

Our goal however, is to address your concerns and improve on them to the best of our ability. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience to further discuss these issues.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward in serving you brilliantly in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
472 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very attentive staff will see to your every need. Concierge is excellent and won't steer you wrong. The rooms, like most in NY were a bit small and could use some updating, although you had most everything you needed. Small things like cleaning the glass on picture frames or wiping off the lid on the Q-tip holder seemed to be overlooked but overall was very clean. Bathroom was small and my wife had no place to sit to put on makeup. Shower had great water pressure and temperature worked pretty good, but it drained a bit slow. A/C never seemed to be as cool as the control stated, but was very sufficient. The best part was the bed. Very nice mattress and makings. Plush pillows. Very nice overall. Nice sized desk with lots of plugs and internet connections. Wi-Fi was extra. We did not dine at the hotel but they had a nice dining room. Gift shop was very small. Top notch service everywhere. Location wasn't bad. East Central Manhattan and close to the subway. Many restaurants within walking distance and Broadway shows were only about a 20 minute walk.

Room Tip: A hint-if you like it quieter at night, don't get a room on the front side of the hotel. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing