We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appreciated the upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #203 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“appreciated the upgrade”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

have stayed here multiple ties as it's where a regular meeting i attend is held. But that said, the location in downtown is really good and it's very easy to get around the city from here as multiple subway lines are close by. I was upgraded to Gold status which meant i had free internet (brilliant- but i hate paying for internet!) and breakfast in the executive lounge which looks over the river and the statue of liberty. My room was also on a very high floor with the same view, which was much appreciated, given almost my whole stay was in the conference rooms which have zero character and no windows.

Room Tip: try for a high floor- the lifts are a bit slow, but the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radicalseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    742
    226
    60
    34
See reviews for
479
379
95
453
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just completed our fourth stay at this Marriott in the Financial District. Only one block away from Ground Zero and a short walk to Wall Street ... so ideally situated if that's where you want to visit and explore. Quite a bit of new construction going on in the area but it's really not a problem. All part and parcel of the rejuventaion of the Ground Zero area. We had a bump in the road this time around however ... for the first time since we've been staying there ... but it wasn't the hotel's fault. Noisy neighbors on our floor in the small hours ... One call downstairs and Security made a visit to the low-life perps and all was well after ... but you don't expect this sort of thing at this hotel. Next morning we followed up with the management who were most apologetic and agreed to move us to a higher grade room as the noisy lot were booked in for another night. The hotel also compensated us very well for our disturbance and inconvenience. The hotel continues to be the long-standing Air France hotel of choice for their cabin staff (they weren't the noisy lot) and that speaks volumes. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and the quality of the bed linen is the very best. Before we visit Manhattan we always check out other hotels for deals and prices but always keep going back to the Marriott on West Street ... and believe me ... we are very picky about where we stay, what we do and where we go in NYC. All the staff from the manager down to the bag handlers are very professional and give the impression they are happy you are staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hudson River and the Statue of Liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeelTraveler286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I really did enjoy the spacious room and the excellent service. Friendly staff (not asking for a tip) and really service minded. Dinner was great and breakfast one of the best from NY I experienced so far.
I will return for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJdB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Everything and more you'd expect. Perfect location to everything. Great shopping and of course restaurants Close to theater and park. Hotel service was amazing and friendly. Points didn't hurt either. Always gets you the best view available

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Took our nieces 8 and 5 into the city for a sleepover. This hotel was great! Right next to the 911 Memorial, there's a playground across the street, Seaport within walking distance, rooms were huge. Most NYC hotel rooms are not this big. The girls got a stuffed bear when we checked in. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was very good. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We hadn't booked accommodation about a week before we were due to arrive in NYC, so many of the TripAdvisor top recommendations were booked up. Added to that, prices were very high for anything that didn't look like too much of a gamble.

We stayed (3 adults and 1 child) in mid August 2012 and found it to be a good place - but there are some qualifications to that statement:

1. As we stayed over a weekend, we noticed that this Marriott had a comparatively good rate - if I had payed midweek rates I think I'd have been (much) less impressed.

2. While the location is right by the Trade Centre Memorial and is convenient for Battery Park Ferries, there is little else to see beyond Walls Street. However, the subway network is very good indeed from the location and therefore getting around is very easy, especially if you buy the Metro passes.

3.Because the hotel is situated on West Street, its is also easy to get a taxi uptown or to the East side quickly and quite cheaply.

As for the hotel itself, it was clean and well appointed. Everything the Marriott usually is and promises. Check in was efficient and staff in general were polite and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom well appointed.

We ate one evening in the restaurant and it was disappointing for the price - we found other places around and about to be much better quality.

Because the hotel seems to principally cater for weekday visitors, we found it to be a bit soulless and lacked any real charm. The only common area was a rather scruffy lounge with poorly laid out seating.

All of that said, for the rate we paid - about £200 per night - it represented much better value than much else on offer at the time. So provided you don't mind taking the subway and aren't expecting an interesting hotel with a lively nighttime scene, then it definitely does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: Better to get up high for the views but you will pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for frequent nyc business travelers. They have easy access, via subway, to all points. Their concierge is the best ever! Exec Chef Ed prepares incredible food! They have very nice, professioal staff! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverhome821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#355 of 468 in New York City
98 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#245 of 468 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 468 in New York City
612 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#222 of 468 in New York City
1,205 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing