We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lower Manhattan Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #195 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a great hotel for site seeing in the downtown area. Ground zero is just a few blocks away as well as Wall Street, the Seaport, Trinity Church and Battery Park. Many of the rooms have a beautiful view of the Statue of Liberty. The Seaport is a 15 minute walk and there are tours to Ellis Island. The subways are very close by so you can travel uptown easily which you will want to do for your evening entertainment and dining. This area is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Statue of Liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

9/11 memorial is just around the corner. Quiet area still and even quieter at night. If you want to get the New York experience, I would stay midtown. Not a lot of outside construction noise than expected as it is right beside ground zero. Subway nearby and many places to eat. Staff is average.

Room Tip: If you walk the back there are restaurant and small food stores open 24hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Initial impressions were good. I had contacted the hotel in advance to arrange a crib for the room and the Operations Manager replied confirming its booking. Upon arrival we got a very nice welcome from the lady at the desk (sorry....i didn't get a name but she was Asian...) who gave our little girl a teddy bear and informed us that the ops manager had upgraded us to a suite!

The suite itself was very nice. I guess by normal US standards it would be classed as a normal room - but this is NYC so the extra space was appreciated! There was of course no crib (despite being assured at reception there was....) but eventually it turned up. All good.

First problem. Dining options. We were tired so wandering out with a 1 year old wasn't happening but the choice of restaurants was burger joint and bar or just burger joint. Hmmm. Lucky i like burgers (which to be fair were decent). The choice of food for kids however was pretty grim.

Second problem.....we had baby bottles that needed sterilised. This just required 30 seconds in a bag that goes into a microwave. Upon asking if we could use a hotel microwave we were told by the most rude front desk person since Basil Fawlty (no names but pretty sure it began with N) that the hotel didnt have a microwave! Brilliant! I obviously looked a bit confused by that notion and repeated the 'we don't have a microwave' comment but with a ? at the end. This resulted in a draw of breath and a 'jesus christ i just told you'! Now....I know NYC is famous for its brusque manner on occasion but at the rates this hotel charge i was some what gob smacked. Once I had picked myself up off the floor and stopped laughing at a woman that was so clearly in the wrong job, i realised she was actually just a bitter woman that needed ignored / training / fired. Not being able to do the latter two i went with option 1 and the breakfast people did microwave the bottes for us in the end.....but it took some persuading. Subsequently we were told that it may be against regulations.......not sure if that is true but if so just tell us!

Third - the location. If you are working near Wall St - its great. If you are on vacation....not so much. Head to midtown or Times Sq instead. The 9/11 memorial is quite tasteful right up to the point they try and sell you a tshirt but there is not much else to be down that end of Manhattan for.

Overall - nice enough hotel and great service from the Ops manager but oh boy.....the front desk (apart from the nice Asian lady!) need to sort themselves out. I can't see us returning......

Room Tip: No idea other than there is no street noise on the 37th Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dufc83Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nothing special here. They tried to upgrade the view. Our view looked at street below. All about 9/11experience. Somber area. Stay midtown if visiting NYC. Nightlife dead around this place. Business hotel fine. Staff average at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildcatgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is great if you're business is centered downtown. It's nice to see the downtown area finally coming back, though it will never be the same without the Towers. The 9/11 Memorial is here and as it's still new it's not easy to get into (ticketed) and the area around it is still a construction zone with temporary walls and barricades for the Memorial and the Freedom Tower still under construction. Great place to stay downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were in New York for a wedding and stayed at this hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here. The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was clean and the rooms were nice size. Had a great view of the city and the Hudson River. Taxi's were available right outside and the subway was close. This hotel has to be one of the best we have stayed at. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B5105MMcindyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was shocked by the size of our room. We had 2 double beds but wow, for a NYC hotel we had so much space. We did have a corner room which was really nice as well. The view of the river was nice. The location of this hotel is great. It's not in the touristy Times Square area which is what we like. We love hanging out in the Lower East Side and on Stone Street. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabulousMissM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#214 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#71 of 470 in New York City
678 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#163 of 470 in New York City
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#254 of 470 in New York City
1,195 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#105 of 470 in New York City
1,533 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#230 of 470 in New York City
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street at Albany Street, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £121 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Marriott Downtown features an excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Our hotel in downtown NYC, situated in Lower Manhattan's Financial District close to One World Observatory, offers elegance and contemporary design - simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing