We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #204 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel was very nice and I got upgraded to a nice corner room.

Its in a good location with lots around it and only a short walk to the nearest subway station.
The only thing that I would say is that it is a shame there not a restaurant in the actual hotel. You have to go across the street. The staff were very friendly and I would stay here again if I was in New York City.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank siddu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    732
    222
    59
    33
See reviews for
468
374
94
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great service, the staff at the door greeted us and the friendly staff at the lobby got our keys with swiftness. Staff was very courteous. We felt like it was a home away from home and very welcomed at the Marriott.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had a great view of the Statue of Liberty from my room. Probably the best hotel view I've ever had. There are great views from the concierge loung too. The day service at the concierge loung was amazingly good. However, the night attendant was horrible. He was not unfriendly, just too casual. He wore a dirty apron and plastic crocs while he sat in the customers' seats watching The Voice. I thought I was being pranked. On the other hand, the lady in the morning ran the place like a 4 star restaurant with incredible pride of ownership in her role. It's expensive, but it's a great location for business downtown. Just far enough demo the World Trade tourists and Wall St protestors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDWMember0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel was very nice and I got upgraded to a nice corner room.

Its in a good location with lots around it and only a short walk to the nearest subway station.
The only thing that I would say is that it is a shame there not a restaurant in the actual hotel. You have to go across the street. The staff were very friendly and I would stay here again if I was in New York City.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a great hotel for site seeing in the downtown area. Ground zero is just a few blocks away as well as Wall Street, the Seaport, Trinity Church and Battery Park. Many of the rooms have a beautiful view of the Statue of Liberty. The Seaport is a 15 minute walk and there are tours to Ellis Island. The subways are very close by so you can travel uptown easily which you will want to do for your evening entertainment and dining. This area is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Statue of Liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

9/11 memorial is just around the corner. Quiet area still and even quieter at night. If you want to get the New York experience, I would stay midtown. Not a lot of outside construction noise than expected as it is right beside ground zero. Subway nearby and many places to eat. Staff is average.

Room Tip: If you walk the back there are restaurant and small food stores open 24hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Initial impressions were good. I had contacted the hotel in advance to arrange a crib for the room and the Operations Manager replied confirming its booking. Upon arrival we got a very nice welcome from the lady at the desk (sorry....i didn't get a name but she was Asian...) who gave our little girl a teddy bear and informed us that the ops manager had upgraded us to a suite!

The suite itself was very nice. I guess by normal US standards it would be classed as a normal room - but this is NYC so the extra space was appreciated! There was of course no crib (despite being assured at reception there was....) but eventually it turned up. All good.

First problem. Dining options. We were tired so wandering out with a 1 year old wasn't happening but the choice of restaurants was burger joint and bar or just burger joint. Hmmm. Lucky i like burgers (which to be fair were decent). The choice of food for kids however was pretty grim.

Second problem.....we had baby bottles that needed sterilised. This just required 30 seconds in a bag that goes into a microwave. Upon asking if we could use a hotel microwave we were told by the most rude front desk person since Basil Fawlty (no names but pretty sure it began with N) that the hotel didnt have a microwave! Brilliant! I obviously looked a bit confused by that notion and repeated the 'we don't have a microwave' comment but with a ? at the end. This resulted in a draw of breath and a 'jesus christ i just told you'! Now....I know NYC is famous for its brusque manner on occasion but at the rates this hotel charge i was some what gob smacked. Once I had picked myself up off the floor and stopped laughing at a woman that was so clearly in the wrong job, i realised she was actually just a bitter woman that needed ignored / training / fired. Not being able to do the latter two i went with option 1 and the breakfast people did microwave the bottes for us in the end.....but it took some persuading. Subsequently we were told that it may be against regulations.......not sure if that is true but if so just tell us!

Third - the location. If you are working near Wall St - its great. If you are on vacation....not so much. Head to midtown or Times Sq instead. The 9/11 memorial is quite tasteful right up to the point they try and sell you a tshirt but there is not much else to be down that end of Manhattan for.

Overall - nice enough hotel and great service from the Ops manager but oh boy.....the front desk (apart from the nice Asian lady!) need to sort themselves out. I can't see us returning......

Room Tip: No idea other than there is no street noise on the 37th Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dufc83Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#363 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West Street, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing