We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the location, awful beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #201 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the location, awful beds!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Loved the location!!! It was great and easy to walk around and get to the metro station. I do no have any complain, friendly staff, it was close to a the NYC downtown tourist attractions, but after walking around the city we needed a nice bed and we did not get that for the price we payed. My husband and I shared a double bed and it had a hole in the middle! We will get out sides of the bed and later on we will roll into the middle. Very uncomfortable. Other than that, yes I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinita4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    739
    226
    59
    33
See reviews for
474
378
94
451
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After taking a super long red eye flight, we arrived at the hotel ready to check in 2 hours before check in time. Expecting to have to leave our bags and go out and tour we were pleasantly surprised to be checked in immediately. We flew in for a girls weekend and our room was fantastic. Comfortable beds.Clean. Lots of coffee. Excellent service from the cleaning staff and the hotel staff. The check in/out times are short. Service is excellent. Lobby is clean. I would definitely come back and stay again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors if you want a view. Lower floors look into other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btlbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

First time staying at this Marriott property in NYC. Largest room I've stayed in, and I've been to NYC many times. Very clean & modern rooms. Lobby is also very nice; the staff was very welcoming. Convenient location to Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial, etc & easy subway access for other areas of Manhattan. My room on 34th floor had a great view.

Overall one of the best Marriott's I have stayed at in NY. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Held a smallish summit (75) in the hotel in mid-July. The staff in this property could not be nicer or easier to work this. The food is excellent. Everyone on staff came by to thanks us for meeting at the hotel. Location is very convenient to the subway and to the lower end of Manhattan. The rooms are huge for NYC. The views are wonderful. Highly recommend this property for room size, price and staff!

Room Tip: The high up the better for a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just experienced three nights in this quality hotel. The room was very comfortable. The view from the 35th floor overlooked Ground Zero and Uptown New York. Great service. But with so many great places to eat in this area, don't waste your time eating in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 3rd street have a river and harbor view, possibly the Statue of Liberty. Rooms facing N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Convenient location to Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial, Hudson River Park. Concierge lounge serves decent breakfast and dinners Monday-Friday, but it's the same tired stuff day in and day out; absolutely no variety whatsoever. That's why I'm only recommending this place for short term business or pleasure trips. Anything over 3 or 4 days duration and you'll be wishing for a change of scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel was very nice and I got upgraded to a nice corner room.

Its in a good location with lots around it and only a short walk to the nearest subway station.
The only thing that I would say is that it is a shame there not a restaurant in the actual hotel. You have to go across the street. The staff were very friendly and I would stay here again if I was in New York City.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank siddu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#357 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing