We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in lower Manhattan (but there is a gym issue)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #195 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed other hotels such as millennium Hilton , W and service was always terrible. Huge attitude in most but Marriott was a refreshing difference. From bellman to room service everyone is best in this area.

They started remodeling the gym even though it was reasonable. I know many of the frequent guests are very disappointed and new modern one will open in September. 3-4 treadmills and 2 elliptical are crammed with no free weights. If your goal is to get a great workout try another hotel until September 2014

Room Tip: good rooms will cost you. no need to spend the extra cost. if you are elite, concierge level have gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you found our staff to be extremely friendly and engaging. We work hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay.

We are very excited to have our new state of the art fitness center open this August 2014. Unfortunately until this opens we have our temporary fitness center. We know it does not compare to what is to come and I am very sorry you were disappointed with the temporary facility.

Hope you come visit us again especially when the new fitness center is reopened.

Regards,

Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is located right across from Ground Zero, now home to the 9II Memorial. The concierge and Maria at the front desk were both very helpful with our requests. Our room was comfortable and quiet with a partial water view. We enjoyed the complimentary freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies each evening. The hotel accommodated our conference events with professional ease.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am so happy that our staff was able to help you navigate the city. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Maria and the Concierge Staff. They do a tremendous job helping our guests!

Regards,
Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown hotel last weekend and were very impressed with the cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff and accessibility to theatre, shopping and major attractions. We would definitely stay in this hotel in the Big Apple again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are amazing! We could see the 911 Memorial pools from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKathleen_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Glad to see that our staff was able to make your stay Brilliant!

Hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First of all your makeshift gym was really embarrassing. Many business travelers like myself need a workout facility to stay in shape. You need to advertise that your gym is shut down, or provide a guest pass to a local gym. Location in lower Manhattan is awesome, but staff was very uninterested. Concierge lounge very nice and good/fresh selections. Overall an average overpriced hotel that happens to be in one hellva good location. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Millennium Hilton just a few blocks away-

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are very excited to have our new state of the art fitness center open this August 2014. Unfortunatley until this opens we have our temporary fitness center. We know it does not compare to what is to come and I am very sorry you were dissapointed with the temporary faciliy.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friend and I enjoyed our May 22-24th stay at this hotel very much. The staff (Maria at front desk, Idris and Jay at bell service/front door and our room attendant) was very friendly and super helpful. The room rates were reasonable. The rooms were incredibly clean ane we had a riverview room. I loved the location with great access to Battery Park, great food and bars and close subway stations.
I could go on and on, but suffice it to say, I will be returning in September with my daughter for her 16th birthday and we will be staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that our staff was able to make your stay brilliant. I will make sure that these associates are recognized.

We will see you in September.

Regards,
Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is really nice located in downtown New York. I went with my husban for some days and had a weird experience, because the rooms were really comfortable, the pillows were so soft. But, the attitude of the staff in the lobby was one of the worst ones. They only ansered with yes or no, and dind´t try to help when we needed a taxi or to recommend a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location. I am very distressed about your experience with staff in the lobby. This trully is a weird experience as our staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help all guests with directions or suggestions to for sight seeing. Please acdept my sincere apologies you did not experience this. We hope you will give us another chance to make this up to you.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had we left before 8:30 AM, I probably would have given this hotel a better rating. Unfortunately we had a late flight and were subjected to construction noise (drilling?) in the adjoining room waking us around 8:30 AM!!! Inconsiderate of the hotel management to say the least.
On a positive note, the hotel is very well located just a short walk to the 911 Memorial and Battery Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. We asked for early check in and were able to check in at 10:30 AM. The room was small, but adequate. Nice bedding and a comfortable chair. I do wish hotels would give you two luggage racks. The room faced another building and was somewhat dark without all the light on.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was good and priced fairly. Good bar selection.
All in all, the hotel great until the drilling started.

Room Tip: Room 707 is dark with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishis4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for giving us this great feedback. I apologize for the inconcenience with noise due to the renovation of our fitness center. 8:30am does seem very early to have noise such as this disturbing our guests. Thank you for the nice comments about our staff! We really do have a very friendly staff who love to serve our guests. We hope that you will visit us again soon to experience our state of the art fitness center with 2,050 square feet of optimum exercise space.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#174 of 469 in New York City
262 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 469 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#222 of 469 in New York City
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing