We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top rating due to great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #200 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A top rating due to great Staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Marriott Downtown is subtle. It doesn't boast the grandeur of the Marriott Marquise, nor does it have the "modern" fittings of its neighboring W.. But what is has is better. Before even going inside, we are greeted by name.

The Staff is going beyond what is expected, by today's standards. They've kept it personal.

The rooms are nicely appointed. And we've never had any internet issues. I've held multiple video calls and not once had problems. The lounge on the top floor has great options for breakfast and dinner, though you must have status with Marriott to access. My only complaint being that it seems food stations are broken down a solid thirty minutes before closing.

I've stayed here multiple times, my girlfriend at least ten. We go back because of that personal touch. New York Marriott Downtown is exactly what we need for business trips to the Financial District of Manhattan. Will see you again soon!

Room Tip: South facing rooms will likely have a view of the Statue of Liberty. No matter how many times you v...
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask you to conserve shower products/towels. No issues with this at all.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your fantastic feedback! Our staff tries our best to get to know our guests as much as possible. I am glad that we are able to make it Brilliant for you.

See you soon!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    750
    230
    62
    34
See reviews for
491
381
97
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As a Marriott TimeShare owner, we always try to use our points and stay at a Marriott. On my visit to NJ, I added 2 days and stayed at the Marriott Downtown NY for memorial day weekend. The hotel was great, the rooms were great, and the staff was great. However, the Internet was VERY POOR quality. There was an option to pay extra and "upgrade" to high speed, however, all I was looking for is Email, Web, Facebook, I was not looking to stream movies, and things like that, so I expect BASIC internet , good quality, fast enough for Web Surfing and email to be included. Very disappointed in this from a quality place like Marriott.

But, besides that, the hotel was good, Immediately next to the Freedom Tower, which was fantastic, close to the Hudson river boardwalks, Wall Street, Bowling Green. Overall, good stay.

Room Tip: I liked a high room with a view of the Hudson and the beautiful sunsets over NJ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Our internet system is a new system and I am surprise that you had problems. I would like to apologize for the challenges that you experienced. I am having our IT department take a look at that.

Other than that I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and staff.

Hope you visit NYC again!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at this property located in lower Manhattan's financial district steps from ground zero, south Ferry and near Battery Park. The area around the hotel is undergoing considerable street construction making it difficult for pedestrians. Parking costs $55 per day so dont bring a car. Take #1 train. Recently renovated common areas and conference rooms were okay. My room on the 35th floor was not renovated. The bedding was standard Marriott, which I love, however, one of the mattress showed considerable wear clealy concaved and not at all comfortable. The Hudson River view from bed was very nice at night. No shower caps ladies. Plenty of towels and instant coffee/tea. One major miss, the gym is under remodel and their option was to set up some machines in a very tight roomd. There is only one restaurant, Bill's, on the property and is not managed by Marriott it serves mostly burgers and fried foods, and a decent breakfast. No late night diningor drinking--it closes at 10pm. Not the best Marriott and I am a member.

Room Tip: Higher floor are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: plenty of towels but encourage re using eco friendly property
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very disheartened to hear about your room. Are beds are usually very comfortable. I apologize that you had issued with your mattress. This is not our usual standards and I have informed our housekeeping department to look into this issue. We are very excited to have our new state of the art fitness center open this August 2014. Unfortunately until this opens we have our temporary fitness center. When our restaurant and bar close for the night the front desk can help you find local late night entertainment.

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights May 17/18th as part of a bus tour group. Checkin was easy, they had a secure room to store our luggage since we arrived earlier than rooms are available. Came back at the appointed time and were out of the lobby in seconds. A quick ride up to the 30th floor and voila....Lady Liberty waving her welcome to us! The room was spotless, luxurious bedding, lots of hot water with good pressure....heaven! Decent restaurants within walking distance, and half the things we had come to enjoy just a stroll away. The other half were a quick taxi ride uptown....central park, times square and HALF PRICE broadway tickets to see Chicago! Hopped the subway for the return trip...cheap, easy and not scarey as most TV shows portray it. NYC was clean, friendly and (for a tourist mecca), very reasonably priced. I am not a big city gal, could care less if I ever returned to the circus that is Times Sq.....but oh I would love to come back and explore the museums, have a few more decadent meals and of course another show! I'd also pass on the so-called bargain shopping....things seemed about par with shopping anywhere else I have gone, no great deals. Would not hesitate to return to the Marriott, it was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your amazing feedback. It is so nice to see that you had such a fun time in NYC. Glad to see we were able to take such good care of you. New York City has so much to offer that you cannot see everything in 1 trip.

Hope you come back to NYC and visit us again!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed other hotels such as millennium Hilton , W and service was always terrible. Huge attitude in most but Marriott was a refreshing difference. From bellman to room service everyone is best in this area.

They started remodeling the gym even though it was reasonable. I know many of the frequent guests are very disappointed and new modern one will open in September. 3-4 treadmills and 2 elliptical are crammed with no free weights. If your goal is to get a great workout try another hotel until September 2014

Room Tip: good rooms will cost you. no need to spend the extra cost. if you are elite, concierge level have gr...
See more room tips
Green Features: usual optional Marriott practices. you can hang towel if you like to reuse them etc.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you found our staff to be extremely friendly and engaging. We work hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay.

We are very excited to have our new state of the art fitness center open this August 2014. Unfortunately until this opens we have our temporary fitness center. We know it does not compare to what is to come and I am very sorry you were disappointed with the temporary facility.

Hope you come visit us again especially when the new fitness center is reopened.

Regards,

Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, TX
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is located right across from Ground Zero, now home to the 9II Memorial. The concierge and Maria at the front desk were both very helpful with our requests. Our room was comfortable and quiet with a partial water view. We enjoyed the complimentary freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies each evening. The hotel accommodated our conference events with professional ease.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am so happy that our staff was able to help you navigate the city. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Maria and the Concierge Staff. They do a tremendous job helping our guests!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown hotel last weekend and were very impressed with the cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff and accessibility to theatre, shopping and major attractions. We would definitely stay in this hotel in the Big Apple again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are amazing! We could see the 911 Memorial pools from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKathleen_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Glad to see that our staff was able to make your stay Brilliant!

Hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#300 of 466 in New York City
142 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#241 of 466 in New York City
1,148 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#101 of 466 in New York City
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 466 in New York City
621 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#221 of 466 in New York City
1,232 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#98 of 466 in New York City
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing