We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #195 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I took a little side trip from CT to Manhattan to see the Macy's fireworks display on July 4th. It was a short walk from this hotel to the Brooklyn Bridge. When I checked in, the Concierge lounge was closed, so I was comp'd breakfast - nice touch! I was upgraded to a junior suite which was totally unexpected and so appreciated! I had a corner room with an awesome view of Ellis Island. The bellhop was so thoughtful and gave us recommendations for dinner and fireworks viewing. This property is run so professionally! I was so impressed with my room and the excellent customer service that I extended my stay another night. I told everyone I knew about this hotel and I'll return again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArmyNurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Marriott Downtown. We arrived at 6am (due to a redeye flight), they were able to accommodate us in one of the only two available rooms to let us sleep until our other room was available at no cost. We were there for four nights and had great service. Our room was always cleaned and since we were in an out of the room during the day, they would even come clean our room in the evenings while we were out for dinner, which was easier for our schedule. I have no complaints about this hotel, the staff was very accommodating and the room was comfortable and clean.

The area is not particularly the best location for what we were doing in NYC. I would imagine it's a great location for business travelers or for those who want to be close to the financial district or statue of liberty. But it's pretty far from central park, times square, shopping, etc. However it was convenient to get over to Brooklyn fairly easily (except during rush hour!)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. There are some rooms that will give you a view of the statue of liberty or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the New York Downtown Marriott for 11 nights for our 30th anniversary trip.
The hotel was beautiful. The room was amazing. And the staff was exceptional.
Dee Dee from the concierge lounge was the sweetest, friendliest and kindest person you could ever want to meet. She would go out of her way to make sure you had items that you wanted or needed.
The housekeeping staff was excellent. They tried to do whatever they could to full your requests also.
Our view from our rooms window was spectacular . We had a room on the 36th floor that looked directly at the new Freedom Tower for the new World Trade Centre. What a beautiful sight to see every morning.
The front desk staff were helpful when asking them for area information or places to eat.
Hubby asked where to order pizza from one evening because we were too tired to go out for dinner. We were told of an place ( Steve's Pizza) and so we decided to try it. Oh my, we were more then happy with the pizza we received. I have to say pizza is one of my favourite foods so my standards are fairly high. This one did NOT disappoint. In fact it was SO good that we made sure to order it again from the same place one more time before we left to return home. All in all it was a great trip with nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 1MicheleF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When staying here a week ago, left an article of clothing in the room, when called, they promptly mailed it back. This is the 4th or 5th time I have stayed here. Always a pleasure and great room with view of the Statue of Liberty.

Room Tip: Room on river side 15th floor+
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcat077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here with three people for three nights. We were on the 7th floor and did not notice any noise issues. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and in good repair.

The area is under construction (9/11 and WTC reconstruction), not that it was a problem, just something to be aware of.

The area otherwise quiet and a nice respite from the tourist crammed area around Times Square. The restaurant is average. There aren't a lot of restaurants in the area, you may want to make plans to eat further uptown when you stay in the area.

I recommend taking a walk along the Esplanade and seeing the Irish Hunger Memorial.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherrySlurpees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for the great comments about our staff. We were very happy to host you and your friends. It seems we could have done better on the food selections in Bill' Bar & Burger.
The Downtown area is growing in selections of restuarants especially with the new opening of Brookfiled place.

Hope to serve you again,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. the location is very convenient as far as transportation, but the area is kind of dead. I guess this is still the lingering affects of 911. The hotel staff is wonderful. They are very helpful and accommodating, so no complaint there. The restaurant is awful, and the only plus for me food wise was the Starbucks in the back which closes early BTW. My room was spacious, clean, and modern, but very noisy and I was on the 14th floor. The bed was terrible (the floor was more comfortable). My neck and spine still hurt from the bed sinking in the middle. The lobby is very awkward as there are a few steps and if you have heavy luggage and the door staff is busy, you'll find yourself dragging your luggage a few steps up. The rotating door is inadequate and outdated. It may have served its purpose in the early 80's perhaps, but not anymore. The façade is from the 70's and it screams remodel.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms are quiet, but the lower the louder, so pick a room above the 15t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRIKANESSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for the excellent comments about our staff. I know the area is continuing to develop and the 9/11 museum has just opened. I an very distressed to hear about your bed. We take this very seriously and I will make sure to change this box spring or mattress as this is the most important element to our guests. We really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice older hotel. The rooms are well kept and medium sized. The room rate plus all the taxes leaves a little to be desired. Even for downtown this is a little pricy. You cannot beat the view if you get a room facing the river. There are, of course, lots of great places to eat well within walking distance. Be prepared for the $70 of taxes per night on top of the lofty room rates. Pretty much any room in downtown will require a fat wallet so this hotel will take care of you just as well as any of the high end names.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank suttonj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#176 of 469 in New York City
262 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#240 of 469 in New York City
1,178 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#226 of 469 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#219 of 469 in New York City
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing