We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #201 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NYC Great Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel has a great location in lower Manhattan near 9/11 Memorial. The hotel is clean and staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel was awesome for breakfast!! Loved staying in the city and great places to visit if you love to walk or you can take a taxi!! Nice view of the river from our window.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVINCHARLESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    750
    229
    62
    34
See reviews for
491
380
97
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and really enjoyed it both times: excellent views of the Hudson and New York Harbor, convenient to subways and several good restaurants (including the one in-house), and the staff had always been helpful and accommodating. Not cheap (not sure there is such a thing in NYC), but a great base of operations for sightseeing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank snowmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As travel advisors, Cathy and I were getting a number of enquiries about short vacations to NYC so we decided to take advantage of an Air Canada agent special. We booked into the Marriott New York Downtown from may 30th - June 2nd 2014. We were very much impressed with the property and would certainly have no problem recommending it to our clients who might be traveling to NYC. It is like a boutique hotel surrounded by the towers of the financial district, and right next store to the new 911 Memorial / Museum and the new WTC Transportation Hub scheduled to open next year. The concourse will conveniently connect visitors to 11 different subway lines, the Port Authority Trans-Hudson (PATH) rail system, Battery Park City Ferry Terminal, the World Trade Center Memorial Site, WTC Towers 1, 2, 3, and 4, the World Financial Center and the Winter Garden. It will represent the most integrated network of underground pedestrian connections in New York City. A short walk to Battery Park allows great access to water taxis and hop on hop off buses.

All of the staff we encountered, including in Bills Westside Bar, were extremely friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. I was very impressed with the doorman who arranged a private car to take us to the airport on departure. The bottle of wine & chocolates in our room was a great birthday surprise and certainly put to good use.

On Sunday we took the water taxi around the statue of Liberty and up to 75th Street. From there we walked to Broadway and took in a 3:00 matinee, Matilda at the Shubert Theater. What an amazing show. When we bought the water taxi tickets we also purchased the on-off bus tickets for the Monday. We stood at the One World Trade Centre stop on Broadway from 10:15 until 11:20 before a bus showed up. During that time we counted over a dozen other sightseeing buses going by. Once we were on our bus, we found that the headsets were not working and the only info we received was the odd announcement from the driver over the speaker. We transferred to the uptown loop and again no information from the headsets, just music. I mentioned this to the driver and another Open Tours staff member who said he would check it out, but gave me no feedback. Suffice to say, our overall impression with Open Tours is far from impressive and although their buses are brand new, the only thing going for them was there were hardly any passengers while the Big Bus and Grey Line were packed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Chuckrrr,

It was a pleasure to read your review. We hope you and Cathy enjoyed your birthday! We are thrilled you were impressed with our property and would recommend it. We are pleased to hear our staff provided brilliant experiences. We hope you got a beautiful view of the Statue of Liberty. If you ever need tour bus suggestions, our concierge will be more than happy to assist you.

Warm Regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I arrived after getting off at the incorrect subway line and having to ask countless people where it was. It was 1/2 block from where I was going in the morning. The staff is excellent and answered my questions readily. I had breakfast in the concierge lounge and it was excellent. My room was spacious and overlooked the Hudson River and all of New Jersey. The only issue was that the health club was under renovation and some fitness equipment was put into 2 hotel rooms, very crowded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We went for a 3 day break. It is located in the financial district close to the 9/11 site. Walking distance to Times Square and NYSE. Also ideal for Statute of Liberty. Quality hotel. Breakfast was excellent, great choice and plenty of food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff at the Downtown Marriott are among the nicest group of people I've been around in a long, long time. Recently spent three nights there and I can't get over how nice the staff members were. Started with Troy the doorman - a great smile, a very polite and genuine hello and a happy go lucky sense of efficiency. The front desk and the bell staff were exrememly cordial and warm. The folks in Bill's (the restaurant in the lobby) were amazing. In particular Michelle, perhaps one of the best servers I've ever met and Emilio, the manager, both of whom really get it!!!! After two mornings at breakfast it felt like we had been friends with Michelle forever! Mr. McMahon, Head of Security - outstanding and finally Victoria in housekeeping. I left some stuff behind in my room. When I realized it I called the hotel late at night and spoke with Victoria. She put me on hold for a minute and when she came back on the phone told me she had what I was missing and she would overnight it to me, free of charge! I received the stuff 2 days later! Can't say enoughh about the staff members - I'd visit again in a minute!
Thanks for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: You can ask for either a Statue of Liberty view, Hudson River view or World Trade Center view - all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John4444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear John4444444,

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for submitting your experience online on TripAdvisor. As a General Manager, I am always happy to read comments like yours. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to Troy, the front desk, the bell staff, Michelle, Emilio, Mr. McMahon, and Victoria. We are so lucky to have an outstanding staff! I am also glad to hear we were able to return your lost items back to you.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to the Marriott Downtown in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff was cordial and accommodating. The doorman was very helpful with advice on where to eat and the best way to get around town. We attended a convention held in the hotel and found everything to be first class. I will stay here again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazedchef53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#303 of 467 in New York City
139 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#243 of 467 in New York City
1,148 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#101 of 467 in New York City
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
621 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#221 of 467 in New York City
1,230 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#98 of 467 in New York City
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing