We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious clean budget hotel in New York.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Hill East Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Murray Hill East Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spacious clean budget hotel in New York.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Okay so it's not brand new and fitments are rather dated but for clean, spacious accommodation in a great location I would highly recommend this hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful. We were 4 friends sharing and had two rooms plus well equipped kitchen and bathroom. Two double beds and one king sized comfortable bed settee meant two had to share but no great hardship. Loads of space meant we weren't on top of each other. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crix18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    323
    97
    35
    15
See reviews for
197
156
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canterbury UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at this 'suites' hotel in mid-may 2014. Rooms were large, cleaned daily. There were plenty of local shops and eateries. When we were there they were experiencing an early hot spell and the air-conditioning didn't really work which made the nights uncomfortable as if you opened the windows the noise of the street would keep you awake. But by the second week the air-conditioning magically started to work so I can only assume that during the cold weather that same system is used for heating. When the weather heats up they must switch it to cold. Our loo flooded the first night but this was promptly fixed. Yes the decor is tired but this is more than made up for by the size of the rooms. No free wi-fi in room which is irritating but I am sure if the rooms were re-decorated and wi-fi provided then the nightly cost would be higher. We paid $305 for one bedroom with two queen beds, living room with sofa bed, kitchenette and bathroom. We were 3 adults but the suite could have slept 6. Yes I would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: try to get a high room at the back of hotel for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well, my room was great and big. Location is very good. However, by the price of this hotel they should provide free wi if to all its customers. There are usually a lot of people in the lobby area using the only spot of free wi fi in the whole hotel building.

Room Tip: I got a room with a King size bed just for me, so ... The coffee machine in my room was dirty when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanBsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early May. We booked it through priceline.com and got a good deal. When we checked in we were upgraded to a junior suite which is basically a one bedroom flat with a lounge cum dining area, a bedroom with queen bed and a kitchenette. The kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave, electric stove and basic utensils. The decor may be dates but the room had everything that one needed, especially a large space.
The location is very convenient, on 39th East and Lex. Lexington is full of restaurants and shops that makes the lack of a restaurant in the hotel a non-event. There is a Starbucks a block away.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: A larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freelander270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this apartment hotel on our first trip to New York.Our room was so spacious,it was basically something like a very spacious one bedroom apartment.The location was just perfect!Very close to 5th avenue,Times Square,Empire state building...The room was very clean and the housekeepers kept it clean everyday.I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spacedliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
309 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this apartment hotel after New years. This hotel is very cozy and spacious for New York. It doesnt provide any amenities, but you are in NYC. We had a cozy queen size bed, our suite had a small kitchen, and a good size lounge area. The decor is a bit out dated, but the room was clean. It is a great value for friends or families even. You are 3 blocks away from Grand Central and the 5th Avenue. Time square is also close by. Subway is 5 minute walk, and there are restaurants and venues close by. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

trust me i was a NYC tour guide

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nadro2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was booked into here for 5 nights recently while working in midtown. Location is excellent, 3 blocks from Grand Central. Lots of restaurants close by. Check-in and check-out was fast and hassle free. My suite was on 4th floor and was large and spacious. Everything worked as expected. Plenty of clean towels.

Furniture was cheapish and slightly tired looking. No air conditioning however - only heating/cooling vents in the kitchen and bathroom. I always felt cold in bed because , while there were plenty of pillows, there was only one thin blanket provided.

Wifi was free in the lobby - otherwise it was $8.99/day or $59.99/month in the suite. No weekly rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#186 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,503 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#214 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,577 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Property: Murray Hill East Suites
Address: 149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 168 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hill East Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished rental apartments located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing