We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Good Large Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #183 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and Good Large Hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Staff are excellent at this property. I interacted with at least six staff members and all greeted me with smile and provide great personal, something I would not expect at such a large hotel. Location is in the middle of everything. Rooms are large and clean. Great gym with views of Times Square. Dedicated check-in for elite members with Fiji water and chocolates. Only draw back was the lobby has two nice bars, but the central one was always closed. I would stay again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeNCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,708
    3,770
    1,207
    419
    293
See reviews for
3,538
2,261
274
2,070
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western NC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Pricey and busy - but exceptional service in a great location. We have stayed elsewhere & enjoyed it - but the Marquis will now be our NY home! Room and bath was quite large for NY; maid service was excellent, and all special requests were handled promptly. No issue with storage of luggage (checking in or out); or with elevator wait times. Our room had a great view of times square - which was wonderful in the late afternoon when we were worn out - could just sit & watch the world go by! Also was great after the theatre - instead of fighting the crowds at a restaurant, we popped into Junior's (right across the street) got carry-out, and took it up to the room! (and somewhat unusual for NY - the room has a coffeepot!) The upgrade often costs $$$ - but in our opinion it was worth it. When figuring costs, we also realized that we saved on cab fares being in this hotel, as we could walk to all theatres, rock center, etc. In addition to Juniors', there is a Starbucks in the lobby and on the street level of the hotel. Exercise room also overlooks times sq - all in all, a great property which we highly recommend!

  • Liked — room size and view
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sophiegirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Possibly the best location for a trip to New York - right in the heart of Times Square.

Rooms are comfortable & clean - mine had just the best view of the Times Square billboards.

Breakfast selection was good - although you really should eat out as much as possible, try the cheesecake at Juniors opposite.

Hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. I'd recommend this hotel for disabled guests.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wiiiill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

I stayed 2 nights at the Marriott Marquis and had a great time. I did not realize the check-in desk was on the 8th floor so I needed some guidance when entering the hotel at the street level. The staff was very professional and courteous in helping me. The assigned elevator system is a bit unique but I actually enjoyed the quick speed and the dramatic views. Only once did I feel crowded on my elevator rides. The room itself was clean and nicely furnished. Bigger than most hotel rooms in the city. I was on the 29th floor overlooking Times Square. Magnificent view! The bed and pillows were super comfortable. I did not experience any neighbor noise at all just some sirens from the street, but hey this is NYC!! I ordered pizza and wings from room service one evening during peak dinner hours. The service took about 40 minutes but the price was reasonable for a New York hotel. Food was tasty! The concierge desk suggested this great little diner nearby for Sunday brunch. The type of place you would probably not find on your own. During checkout my travel guest and I requested that the billing be adjusted so that we could evenly split the charges for our expense accounts. The desk staff handled this within 2 minutes and without any hassle. No complaints about this hotel. So if you're looking a good-sized, comfortable room and want to be in the middle of it all in Times Square then the Marriott Marquis is an excellent choice!

  • Liked — Bed was heavenly
  • Disliked — No complaints here
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mimicry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

First impression of the ground floor of the hotel was not good, but as soon as we got to the lobby (on the 8th floor) everything changed. The hotel is lovely, the staff is wonderful. We had a fairly nice sized room with 2 queen beds. The beds and pillows were comfy! The bathroom was also a good size, although I wasn't crazy about the low water pressure in the shower.
Although I really enjoyed the hotel, I probably wouldn't stay in Times Square again. Although it is easy to get to other neighborhoods from it, it is a madhouse with crowded streets at all times!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2007

I went with my girlfriend to a conference and was utterly amazed how beautiful this hotel is.
Everyone was ready to help without even asking for it.
I felt save and secure with the security they have there,
and i was especially impressed with the hospitality coordinator,Felix Cruz.
He always greeted you with a smile and was asking if he could help you in any way.
I will definietly be staying ther again!

  • Liked — Centrally located to all the theaters
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hairdresserPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We just got back from a weeks stay in the Marquis. The location is good (if you don't mind the hectic Times Square). Easy access to shows and subways. The hotel itself if fine, but I would rate it more like a nice 3 star than a 4 star. The rooms/building is older, but well kept. The rooms are fine, but not luxurious. Old popcorn ceilings/walls and such. Just standard furnishings and bathrooms. No robes, no free hi-speed internet, no mini-bar. The bed were very nice though and comfortable. No problem with using the elevators.

Room service was terrible. When we reserved we ordered a cheese plate to be in our rooms when we arrived as we were arriving very late. When we checked in and the front desk confirmed that it was there and all was set (room service was still open, so it was not that they were shut down). We got to our room and it was not there. After an hour and 4 phone calls later it arrived! It was now 1am! Why bother pre-ordering! The next morning we called to order breakfast and they advised it would take at least 45 minutes as the elevators were busy. So no food again for us. A few days later I ordered a salad (well after dinner time rush) and it took almost an hour to get! That was a salad, nothing was even cooked!

So it is fine to stay at, clean and comfortable, but not luxury. We thought of it as more like a nice Best Western. Next time we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Worldwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 468 in New York City
7,844 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,419 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 468 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,937 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 468 in New York City
6,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing