We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely NYC hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newtown Square, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely NYC hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is very nice and centrally located to all of the action of Times Square. The room (2 doubles) was very clean. Housekeeping was very gracious and allowed us late check out. I did not eat in any of the restaurants--the $35.00 per person for the breakfast buffet was a little over the top. There is a great coffee shop on the 8th floor, however.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtownSqGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your great comments! I will be sure to pass it on to our team. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,310
    3,543
    1,134
    408
    269
See reviews for
3,258
2,118
263
1,881
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very nice hotel, rooftop bar/restaurant - "The View"a definite place to vsit, room spacious for New York, but they nick and dime you, 17 dollars for wifi, - it just gives off a bad vibe about the place. What else are they cheap about you wonder?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vimapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank your staying with us and for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have an option for complimentary wifi in the lobby and at Crossroads for our guest. I hope to see you back in the near future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hotel was a good choice for our quick weekend stay in NYC. The king room was large and updated, with a view of TS on the 23rd floor. The gym is on the same floor, which was very convenient - one of the better hotel gyms with wide range of equipment. We dined at The View on the 47th floor. Revolving room offering beautiful skyline views and exceptional food. Meal was fixed price @ $84, which included app, dinner and dessert. The lounge on the 48th floor had a good vibe with the revolving view. If staying here, don’t miss it. For a large hotel, it runs like clockwork. We never waited for an elevator – loved their system.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I love the marriott, as a platinum member I always get upgraded to a room with an amazing view. For such a large hotel everything runs very efficiently, and the concierge lounge is fantastic. The bed wasn't great, but the rooms are clean, decently sized for NY, and if your there for a touristy visit the location can't be beat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SPBboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

First time in new yor didnt expect much in this hotel. Overall its very nice . We had a room facing the times square , great view and spacious room. Breakfast staff were really friendly they took care of us, so well done guys. The last day we booked for late check out as we had a late night the nightbefore. We put the DO NOT DISTURB sign and house keeping keep on knocking at the door. I think this hotel needs to communicate more on checking out between reception and housekeeping. But all together its a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I apologize that we knocked on your door on your last day of your stay even though you had a do not disturb sign on the door. We will be sure to communicate this with our team. Thank you and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I visited NYC to spend time with our daughter, catch a few shows and have a few nice meals. I was a bit concerned as I had read previous negative reviews which highlighted Priceline customers receiving poor service. Happy to say that we received excellent service and bargain prices to boot. We stayed the Wednesday through Friday of Super Bowl week and the hotel, which is located on Times Square was jammed, but everyone in the hotel was polite and service in all areas was superior. The view was outstanding, the room was spacious and clean and the location was ideal for our purpose. They did not have a pool but they do have a nice gym and a trip to the revolving restaurant is worth the price of the drink. ( Beer is $8 with a $5 cover unless you are a guest, in which case it is waved).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I am so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad that you were able to join the excitement of all the events going on. I hope to see you both back in the near future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Myself and seven friends stayed at the Marriott Marquis for a quick weekend trip to NYC. We stayed for two nights in February and it was great. We booked through Expedia with our flight and got an excellent deal!

Check-in was fast and efficient and the woman we dealt with was very nice. Check-in is advertised as 4pm but we were able to get out room at 11am when we arrived from our flight which was a really great!

The rooms were very nice. Clean, nice furniture and comfortable beds. The only complaint is that the beds are only doubles as opposed to queens in a double room. There is also an in-room safe that can be used.

Wi-fi is only available in the lobby unless you pay for access in your room which is $16/day. Overall this is fine because you don't go to NYC to sit in your hotel room online.

The location cannot be beat! You are right in the middle of Times Square and have access to tons of restaurants, shopping and subway is super close! The concierge is also very helpful.

The hotel also allowed us to have a later check out at 1pm and then held out bags until it was time for use to leave.

All in all a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BbqPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am glad to hear that we were able to get you into your rooms early. Hopefully, we get to see you back sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,594 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,036 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing