We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location at Time Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #174 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Large spacious clean rooms. Quiet. Staff easy to work with. Check in not real welcoming. Good location near Time Square. Take away food location not a friendly group. Hotel great just staff issues of unfriendliness

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,592 - 5,598 of 11,369 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Times Square location was excellent. Our first stay at this hotel and we hope to return. We had an awesome view from the room, located high in the building. Wish the hotel had free WIFI and whilst I love coffee a kettle would be an excellent addition as has been mentioned by others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel while attending a conference there. There is construction going on outside so be warned that moving in and out can be a challenge. However once inside checkin was efficient.
I didn't get the king room I requested, perhaps I was being penalized for not booking directly from Marriott, but after a long flight, I was too tired to complain. That being said, the room was fine, you were paying for the location. The Starbucks was closed for remodel on the first floor, but they have one upstairs in the gift/mini-mart. There is a restaurant on the top floor, but didn't try it, after all it's New York, too many restaurant choices!
Finally be aware of the elevator system. You enter the floor you are staying on a keypad and will be assigned a car. This is important because there are no buttons to push for the elevator once you're inside.
Overall, not a bad stay, once the construction is over, but it's New York! My only real issue was the bedding. If I would have complained that would have been an indicator for me to have reported back. Also as a rewards member I need to check if I received credit for my stay. I've stayed there before, I with do a little more research when I return this summer. It will not be automatic.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmz681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great location, nice room. Standard Marriott amenities. It is however, a very busy hotel which may be off-putting for some travellers. Has quite a 'business' hotel feel to it. If you lie big, bustling, busy, business hotels - this is your choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Having stayed in many Marriott Hotels in the UK the standards of this modern glitzy tower block of a hotel were a real let down.

The location in Times Square is great and the views from parts of the building can be staggering but in our room on the 17th floor we had disposable paper cups and a very limited supply of tea/coffee. Tea had to be made by boiling water in a coffee maker and I have never stayed at a 4 or 5 star hotel that provides paper cups in the bedroom. Their was no glass for drinking water after cleaning teeth, no slippers, no dressing gown and considering that a significant number of visitors are from the UK no British TV channel on offer.

many hotels now offer free wifi in the bedrooms but the Marquis charges an awful lot except in the public area on the eight floor but this was not advertised anywhere that I read.

It's almost like no thought has been given to what guests really want.

I can't say that I would be encouraged to stay in this particular hotel again as value for money is very important and I felt let down this week.

Room Tip: Ask for separate beds. You might get better resources in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your experience overall. I will share your information with the rest of my team and we will review our standards and look for ways to improve our in-room amenities. I hope we have a chance to host you again next time your travels bring you to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very nice Marriott style room. Great service, very centrally located. Good beds, clean rooms. Get a room high up as they do the Good Morning America show filming across the street on weekdays. Amazing how loud they are. Good food and good concierge lounge for those who are members. Staff throughout the hotel is very helpful and prompt. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Francofile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Huge hotel right in Times Square. I have stayed here 5 different times and found it perfect every time. The elevators can take awhile to show up but they have a great view once they pick you up.
You will pay a premium to stay here but worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#189 of 470 in New York City
8,284 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#268 of 470 in New York City
4,366 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,901 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £214 - £727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience New York Marriott Marquis, a perfect Times Square hotel in New York City. We offer exceptional spaces for business & leisure travel in our world-class NYC hotel located in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway theaters. Our hotel offers newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing