We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #171 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pretty sad that the streets and exterior of the hotel was under construction. You couldn't see the hotel. The location is perfect because it is in Times Square. Scaffolding everywhere around the building was such a drag.
However the room was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and spacious. It is a very nice comfortable room. We ate in the café on the property and it was wonderful. Broadway is right there and cabs are everywhere and the enclosed entrance makes it nice to get a cab right away.
Had it not been for the construction - that I thought ruined the ambiance of Time Square and the hotel - I would have rated it higher.

Room Tip: I believe we were on the 29th floor and you could hear street noise. However, you are in New York C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the New York Marriott Marquis. We appreciate your patience with us while the front of our hotel undergoes a renovation. We are looking forward to a new, modern Marriott Marquis to debut to our guests soon! Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,319 - 5,325 of 11,233 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a huge hotel located at the heart of Times Square. Most Broadway shows are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are clean and decently sized, but completely devoid of charm. There is a convenient little shop to pick up snacks and beverages. The bell staff were friendly and accommodating when we stored our bags before and after check out. It was great to be able to enjoy the view of Times Square from the comfort of the room.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a Times Square view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelligrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is excellent and you will save money as you won't need taxi cabs for attending shows. The property has nice large rooms and I recommend you request a south view from the 28th floor. When staying on the 28th, the elevator will only stop, the great majority of the time, at floors 8 (Lobby) or 1. Hotel can be expensive and I usually use Marriott points when staying there. However, you can find reasonable rates during the winter, if you care to take the chance of cold weather.

Room Tip: See above....request floor 28 with a view to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a great hotel in a perfect location! The famous bleachers in Times Square are just outside this hotel. The theater district is just a block away as well as many wonderful places to dine.There are also 2 Starbuks in the hotel and a couple of different dining options. Carnegie Deli is within walking distance and is a must, as well as shopping on 5th avenue. The subway is very close by as well. We did take a taxi to the 911 Memorial and rode the subway back.

It is also an amazing place to stay if you are going to New York for the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 29th floor and our view was of the bleachers in Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We choose this hotel specifically for the view of Times Square. The occasion was an overnight trip, to New York to take our grandson to his first Broadway show. The hotel was perfect for our needs, a short walk from the Times Square subway shuttle from Grand Central Station. It is not a bargain, and I would pick something more reasonably priced if we were staying any length of time, but for a child's first overnight in the city it is perfect. We had a large king room overlooking Times Square, on a higher floor, the one could spend the day (and night) looking at the sights in Times Square from the full length windows. The room has a pull out couch so was perfect for an extra person. There was no problem with getting a late check out at 1:30 so we were able to spend the morning sight seeing iwth time to come back and get our bags. The room was well appointed, very comfortable and spacious. The lobby shops on the 8th floor lobby had a large variety of snacks, light fare, etc. to bring back to the room. We did not eat in any of the restaurants. The hotel has a very modern feel, with an elevator system where you punch in your floor number and the letter of the next elevator car for your floor show on the screen - additionally they were the bubble type elevators where you could see as you rode - a great favorite with the kids. We had brought a wireless card with us so we did not have to pay the wireless charge for the various devices we had brought with us. I really resent paying an outrageous amount for internet connections when paying an exorbitant amount for the room. It is so petty. There was constructon work on the exterior of the hotel, which was swathed in scaffoding - but we were not disturbed by any noise or inconvenience (they could have signed the hotel better - it was challenging to find, and I had been there before).

Room Tip: If you can splurge - the higher floor rooms overlooking Times Square are spectacular - especially at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bombur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was recommended to us. And I would do the same for anyone visiting New York who wanted to be in the centre of things.As with most large hotels it has no charm and is very impersonal. Right on Times Square with easy access to subway and bus routes.You have to lug your luggage to the 8th floor to check - in, not ideal after a long journey.The high speed glass lifts are like something from " Star Trek " Rooms are well appointed and clean. But you have to pay $18 to have wifi in your room a big error of judgement by the management at these room prices .It is free in the public areas though. I would not recommend "The View" restaurant. After visiting the Empire State the views from the revolving restaurant are disappointing. The bill for four came to $424,on which I was expected to pay a 20% gratuity. It was "customary" I was told. Needless to say I refused. I would go back if visiting NYC again

Room Tip: Ask for Times Square views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Feathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel - located on Broadway in Times Square - and we were blessed with a 5 star stay!

When the what is important is "LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION" - this hotel gives it. In the heart of Times Square, you have many restaurant selections, great stores and of course ... the Broadway shows.

The hotel has upscale dining and their rooms are fabulous! And if you like to work out - you can work out with a nice view of Times Square!

This great Marriott hotel should be your destination when you visit Manhattan!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,138 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 469 in New York City
9,757 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#186 of 469 in New York City
2,411 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 469 in New York City
4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £229 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing