We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Broadway and Time Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #184 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Broadway and Time Square”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is going through some façade and interior renovations. These are not intrusive. Great location for Broadway shows and right in the middle of Time Square. Short walks to sooo many activities. Great views from our room. Close to many restaurants and of course shopping for the girls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We're happy you came back to stay with us again. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the great things that the Times Square area has to offer and could also take it all in from the great view in your room. We can't wait to welcome back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,682
    3,755
    1,204
    419
    292
See reviews for
3,518
2,252
274
2,062
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms were large and comfortable, we asked for a refrigerator and it was brought right up. We got a corner Times Square room on the 38th floor and didn't notice any construction noise. It was in a great location in Times Square. We ate at Carmines down the street and it was a great family restaurant. (The food was great - yum) We walked to Rockerfeller Plaza and then continued to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The only thing we question is the 2 person rule in the concierge lounge. It was my husband, myself and my son and the lounge wasn't even 25% full for bfast and they wouldn't let the three of us in because of the 2 person rule (a rule is a rule he said). I think they should allow 3 or 4 people in if the room is empty. They felt bad and said that we could bring the food to our room but it's hard for three people to sit in our room at the desk with one chair and enjoy bfast. We enjoyed 9/11 memorial and museum, Little Italy, the NY media boat tour and central park while here and had a great time! We would stay here again because we are Marriott Elite, the room was big and it was in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAamyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the perfect hotel to stay in to get everywhere! We walked to plays and subway entrances. When we needed a taxi, they were always right there. Our room was nice and the housekeeping staff were wonderful. They kept the room clean and always were glad to help with any request.
We ate in the bar area and had a great food.
I absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyday3645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a family member and thank goodness we were. The establishment is practically in the center of Times Square, and one side (the side we happened to face) is directly across the street from Broadway. Needless to say we didn't have to walk very far for food or entertainment.

We stayed on the highest floor of the hotel and the view was incredible. The room itself was clean, modern and roomy for my partner and two children. And the gym is incredible (who wouldn't want to work out in front of a panoramic window view of Times Square?!)


We will be returning on out next trip out to New York.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesireeCherisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have already reviewed it. I said it was great with very limited negative comments like (about breakfast staff attitudes) an dlack of shower caps in bathroom.

Helpful?
Thank Lakis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

An superbly place/,located hotel in the centre of the Theatre action area.
The Hotel is very modern, our 11th floor room was large and the bathroom looked nearly brand new.
A unique computerised elevator system in the core of the building and the rooms are set in a forum style around the central core of the building. Ours faced the 1540 Broadway illuminated signage. Even at night when you open the curtains you think its daytime. The curtains do very well in keeping out the light.
Breakfast is excellent. They even cater for Gluten intolerent diets. Some of the staff (several not all) however at breakfast seemed to feel their job was a chore- not rude but slowish and some seemed disinterested.

One negative, they don't provide shower caps, which was very strange as we had stayed in about 9 other equal or slightly lesser hotels in North east USA and Canada and they all did..

We were allowed to overstay our 12 noon check out without any problem for some extra 30-50minutes,

We found the wi fi easy to access. We didn't pay because we were with a tour group, but there are circumstance where you may need to pay, so watch that. The lobby (on the 8th floor) had free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Cant comment on other floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have the usual " save the environment " stuff regarding towels etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We appreciate you staying with us and providing such a great review of your experience! We do certainly provide meals to meet many different dietary restrictions and I'm glad you found gluten intolerant items to enjoy. Also, while shower caps are not a standard in-room amenity, we do provide them based on request so feel free to ask. Thank you so much and we can't wait to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was very much looking forward to staying at this hotel because of its stellar reputation. The behavior of some staff members clouded the experience for me. I traveled with my sister, who is a Marriott Gold member. No one seemed to care. Our room was not ready at 3 PM, and the indifferent and impersonal front-desk clerk told her there were "no rooms with views available" and that my sister should have "paid in full in advance" to get a room with a view. At my sister's insistence, she kept searching and finally miraculously found a king room with a sofa bed for three people with a view.
Concierge staff were worse. Every time I had a question for the concierge, I stood in front of the desk while the person snapped "just a moment", typed on his or her computer for two minutes, and then said "can I help you" without even looking up.
The coup de grace was when, on our last morning at the hotel, a member of housekeeping banged on our door at 8 am to ask us if we were "done in the room" yet. My sister asked her when check-out time was and she replied, "now through 11 in the morning". When my sister informed her that no, we were not done, she did apologize later on when she saw us in the hallway, but probably only because she sensed my sister's wrath!
Concierge lounge: Breakfast is average, member can only bring one guest, and NO free drinks at cocktail hour.
Bottom line: Location good. View is wonderful (if you're lucky enough to snag a room with a view). Staff: Uppity and rude, they do NOT treat Gold members like Gold members.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I will review your comments with my team so we can focus on improving our service. Please accept my apologies that your room was not ready at 3:00pm. Our standard check-in time is at 4:00pm and we do our best to accommodate guests earlier when their room is ready. I will also make sure to speak with our Concierge team as this does not represent the high level of service we hold our associates to. I hope you'll give us another chance in the future to show you the true guest experience we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,830 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#183 of 468 in New York City
2,329 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,923 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#103 of 468 in New York City
6,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing