We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, under construction, rooms a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #183 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location, under construction, rooms a little dated”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It is sometimes difficult to navigate which floor you need to be on with any building in NYC and this Marriott is no exception. The elevators here can be confusing, you have to select your floor then it tells you what elevator to catch (seems like it sends everyone to the same elevator and waiting times can be great) there are no buttons inside the elevator to choose from, oh and if you are afraid of heights you should know that they are made of glass. The executive lounge was great and the service was top notch, the gym had plenty of equipment and a great location. This hotel is right on times square and steps away from broadway shows, should be fantastic when they get all of the renovations done and maybe they will next work on the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,696
    3,759
    1,205
    419
    293
See reviews for
3,528
2,256
274
2,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shamley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location. I don't think you could get any better if you want to be close to Times Square.

Unfortunately they are let down on almost everything else, specifically customer care (or lack of it).

A lot of people have mentioned the lifts on here, and they are quite a novelty. When its quiet they are brilliant as they turn up quick, have a great view, and move swiftly. When its busy though, expect to wait. I've just stayed here while at a conference and there were some people tweeting they were stuck on their floor for over 40 minutes. I didn't have to wait longer than 10 minutes - but then i don't think I've had to wait that long elsewhere. Overall the novelty of the lifts, and the speed of them when the building isn't busy, make up for the long wait when it is busy.

The thing that really let this place down for me was the staff. When i checked in the guy barely spoke to me other than asking if i wanted to pay $100 per night extra for a view of Time Square. He simply took my details, handed me a key card with a number on it, then called the next person forward. He didn't tell me what floor my room was on, didn't tell me where breakfast was, didn't even say something like "enjoy your stay". I found this very odd as usually in NYC i find the staff polite and friendly.
When i'd found my room i went back down to reception and asked the concierge if there was gym - she gave me a blunt "yes" - and asked about the revolving restaurant - she said "level 3". She didn't tell me where the gym was, what times it was open. She didn't offer to make a reservation in the restaurant for me. I figured I'd had enough and just went elsewhere.

The next issue i had was that if you turned the air-con off in my room (1761 by the way) then it made a repetitive thud. This isn't noticeable so much in the day, but is at night. I told the receptionist the next day and they told me to leave the air-con on! Thanks very much!!!! As my room was also near the lifts and next to the ice machine it was quite noisy. Add to that the fact that behind the wall the bed was against, seemed to be the laundry room, which was open for noise by about 7.30 every morning, it made it quite an unenjoyable stay. I did consider asking to move, but really didn't want to speak to the staff again. I had one more encounter with a rude concierge during my stay - i won't bore you with the details, she just had a rude attitude.

Interestingly during the conference another person commented how bad he thought the staff were, and when i checked out the guy in front of me was asked "did you have a good stay?", he said "no" to which he was asked "why" and he responded "too many things to go through". So it seems i'm not the only one who thinks the place has some failings.

With all of the above being said, if you can handle rude, miserable staff then the location really is good. Just make sure you don't get a room ending in 61 (by the ice machine, lifts and laundry room) and you don't expect a warm welcome.

I think if Marriot got in a good manager here they could make this a great hotel. Because of the staff its only average.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room ending in 61 (by the ice machine, lifts and laundry room)
See more room tips
Green Features: telling me to leave the air-con on 24/7 isn't very "green"
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopefuloli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to provide the details of your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed our location but our goal is to be so much more than just a location and I'm sorry you experienced so many issues during your stay. Your comments give us a great opportunity to speak with our team and work on retraining where necessary. For you to encounter multiple different staff members who were not hospitable is troubling. I hope that we can regain your trust and have you stay with us next time you are in New York City to show you a true Marquis experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you like to be in the center of everything, definitively, this is the best place to stay. Theaters, restaurantes, shops, subway, everything at walking distance. But take into account the noise and traffic. It's even dificult to walk in the área..

Rooms are fine, size is very good compared to others NY hotels, 2 beds + sofá with enough place for 3 people as we were. The bad thing is that a renovation is already needed....

That's the end of the good staff..Service in general is really bad. Staff at front desk are like asking people to leave the place..No kindness at all, never. and the worst, by far, are the elevators. I'm not exageretatin, but if you plan de go to your room a coulple of times during the day, savee at least half an hour for every up and down. It's really incredible...

Wifi is very expensive...$20 a day...

Resuming, abosolutely avoidable...And if yoy want to be there, the are menay alternative with better services around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for staying and providing a review of your trip. Please accept my apologies for the poor staff service you experienced. I will share your comments with my team so we can use this to learn and grow. I assure you this isn't the standard level of service we strive to provide and our associates do work hard to ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay. I hope you'll give us the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel is in the heart of Times Square and the Theater district, so very convenient if your main purpose is seeing shows, or generally going to anything in midtown. It is a very busy location, and they do host a number of trade shows in the lower level conference / ballrooms, so be prepared to encounter a LOT of people. We had a Times Square view room on an upper floor. Room was nice size for midtown and the view was excellent. Far enough up that much of the noise was muted. We arrived at the hotel mid-morning, well ahead of check-in, but staff was very accommodating and we were in our room within minutes of arriving. In addition, we had arranged for extra towels and toiletries and they were delivered to the room within 30 minutes of our arrival. While they have a nice bar overlooking Times Square, it closes very early. This was disappointing that we could not enjoy late night cocktails on-site. We were there for an extended weekend of Theater going (5 shows in 5 days) but comfortably walked to Rockefeller Plaza, 5th Avenue, Central Park and Macy's as well. The View revolving restaurant at top of hotel hosts a Sunday Brunch that provides a beautiful panorama of the city, while filling you up with delectable treats. No doubt you pay a premium for the location, but if you are visiting midtown sites or going mostly for theaters, it is a very central, convenient location.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor, or the west side of the hotel for quieter rooms (lower street noise levels).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dljohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Been to a conference at the Marriott Marquis New York.

I think that this is the worst Hotel I've been in the recent years and that this Hotel is hurting the Marriott brand.

The Elevators do NOT work, you have to think twice before going back to your room.
There is NO reception at the rooms.
The Air Conditioners are not working well at the internal floors.
There is NO normal internet connection, it is constantly disconnecting.
The decor is obsolete and old.
You can't do anything without just waiting.
The walking distance between an elevator and the room is 100~200 meters ! unbelievable that someone planned such a hotel.

the good:
Benjamin the shoe polish guy located at the 8th floor is just great.
The laundry service did a good job
The mattresses were quite surprising

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: irrelevant. first they should be a hotel then practice optimization in their cost savings under the environmental ticket.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZakDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We appreciate you staying with us and I'm sorry that you experienced these issues while you were here. I'm glad you found some positive things, but I will address the faults with our Engineering team so we can work to improve. We work hard to provide you with a wonderful experience and I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hold on to your children, and don't let go. This place is amazingly busy; if you can find a busier, more terrifying hotel lobby in New York, let me know, (so I can avoid it). This Marriott is so stunningly indifferent to anyone that you really need to just approach it like a campout in an expensive refugee camp. You are there to "survive" New York; see shows, museums, walk around, but this hotel is an industrial machine, indifferently vacuuming up money from your wallet, jam-packed with people that will scare the sh_t out of you--"But it's a Marriott, can it be unsafe for the kids? (Yes!)"--really, the only thing this place has going for it is location, location, location. You are paying for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I'm sorry you felt so negatively about your experience at our hotel. If there was something in particular that happened while you were here I invite you to contact me to discuss it further. While our building is large, we still care about each individual guest - of all ages - and your safety, security and comfort is our top priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent 4 nights here recently and even with all of the construction going on inside and outside of the building, it was clean, it was quiet and it was efficient. This is a great location you are near all of the shows!! It is a nice walk to Rockefeller Center, or Hell's Kitchen, you can even hoof it to Central Park. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamirabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us and providing such a great recommendation of our hotel! I'm glad you found everything to be clean, quiet and efficient. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again when you're back in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,834 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 468 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,927 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing