We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #175 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel in the middle of Times Square! There is a lot going on in this hotel – a Starbucks, a Broadway theatre, a restaurant, a lounge, etc. Even with all of the various activities, I still felt secure in the hotel.
There are subway and shuttle stations within walking distance in all directions.
The room was nicely sized. Don’t pay extra to overlook Times Square, for as little as you are in your room, it isn’t worth the $100+ a night. Our room overlooked the Hudson River and was perfect – and I imagine more quiet.
Catching a ride back to the hotel was made easy by the bellmen downstairs, for practically the same cost, we had a private car (which was cleaner, smelled better, the driver was more courteous, etc.). I highly recommend!

Room Tip: save over $100/night and opt for a room NOT overlooking Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieG958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,945
    3,870
    1,262
    436
    304
See reviews for
3,764
2,320
283
2,157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I had only one night to stay in NY and needed the right place to enjoy Manhattan. The location is perfect, right on Times Square. The hotel is pretty big, which makes it a bit impersonal, but that's about the only downside.
The rooms are very nice, great view. The reception was very friendly.
The executive lounge could serve a better breakfast, choice is a bit limited.
The gym is great, overlooking Times Square and with state of the art equipment.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First think I should say and probably the reason I'm giving 4, not 3 stars is the customer service. Fantastic. Bellmen, concierge, check-in staff. All great. If it weren't for them this would have been a 3 at best.

I'd argue this hotel offers the best views of Times Square too. That said, there are 2 other hotels I'd rather stay in any day of the week. I was a first time NYC visitor and wish I'd known what I know now before booking. The Marriott Renaissance is across the street!! It's brand new and a tad cheaper as well.

Maybe I'm a bit snobby, but I feel like the hotel was a outdated, the room had a tub shower for crying out loud. Less updated and luxurious feeling than I prefer at $400 a night. You can get that and more across the street. I'd stay at the Renaissance next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandonBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

First time in the square and the hotel was absolutely perfect for what we had planned. The hotel is right in the busyness of Times Square and our view from the 20th floor was absolutely stunning! Construction at the hotel was a little abrasive but was not a total bummer. The room was large, comfortable and the couch was perfect for a view of the action. The restaurant offered great food with very good service. The buffet on the top was OK, expensive but the revolving floor was worth at least one meal for the view. A must stay (even with the price) if you want to experience Time's Square. As others did mention, the elevator system is a little confusing and can test your patience but don't let that spoil the atmosphere and enjoyment of the bustling Square!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We're happy to have been your hotel choice for your first stay in Times Square! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and got to experience some of the different amenities we offer. We hope you'll have the chance to stay with us again next time you're back in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is amazing,,,especially for NYC! It's right in Times Square but the rooms are cut off so you cannot hear the noise below. The prices are NYC prices on everything from the $17 cosmo to the over priced wine, but that is any MidTown hotel so don't blame them for the sticker shock.

The only issue I had was the elevator system is a nightmare. It takes forever to get anywhere because of them, but there isn't much they can do. I would definitely stay here again and loved the hotel, the staff and everything about it. The reason it got 4 out of 5 stars is that the cleaning crew woke me up in the mornings by coming in my room (not all the way but close enough) while I was sleeping to ask if we wanted our room cleaned. What they should have done was checked with the lobby to see if people have checked out yet or even better, the front desk should ask what time you plan on waking up and delivering a do not knock before XYZ time so that guests aren't bothered. The hotel isn't cheap so waiting until people are normally awake and not in the room shouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Look at my hotel review for this place but really was happy with the room and location. Would stay there again if I wanted to be in Times Square.

Helpful?
Thank perkinscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just got back from New York with my two boys for their first trip to NYC. We stayed at the Marriott Marquis and we were thrilled with the hotel, except for the elevators. Every one was very helpful and the room was huge for New York standards. If you do not have a package, I would skip eating breakfast here, $33 for the buffet and about $23 for an omelet a la carte. So not the best deal in town but if you are on a package, a good deal.
We had a room on the 44th floor but could still hear sirens from below, you are basically on Times Square. Our room was about 425 sq ft. and it was very nice. Read review about mold and smells in the bathroom, we had none. Our room was clean and comfortable. There was also a twin size love seat/sleeper sofa which wasn't the most comfortable for my son but he still slept there. I wouldn't have slept there because it is a pull out with bad springs (as most are).
On the 8th floor are the restaurants as well as a gift shop/convenience shop/coffee shop. Even though the lines were long in the a.m. they moved quickly.
Now the negative about the hotel, there is only one…THE ELEVATOR SYSTEM. It doesn't make sense. They say that certain elevators as assigned to certain floors but there are 13 elevators and you wait at least 10 minutes no matter what floor you are going to . They need to rethink their system. I don't want to go into detail in how I would assign the elevators/floors but I heard time and time again how horrible the system is.
Would I stay here again? Yes, I think this is a great hotel for families with older children, just because I am not sure I would be comfortable staying here with young children because it is on Times Square. Just too many people and it is a bit overwhelming.
I do give this place a solid A for families, professionals and adults.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkinscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We greatly appreciate you writing a review of our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed your experience so much! I'm sorry if you had some issues with the elevators, but it sounds like your stay was positive overall. Your comments will be shared with our team to recognize them for their hard work as everything we do is aimed at providing each guest with a wonderful stay. We can't wait to have you back again when you're in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,967 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,549 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing