We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view - great location - hotel pretty average!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view - great location - hotel pretty average!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent 4 nights here as a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children 10,9) 28/7/14 to 1/8/14. Booked a Times Square view room with inclusive breakfast. Rooms ok for size, decor pretty basic but the view is worth paying the premium for. Sound proofed rooms ensured a great nights sleep. Centrally located in Times Sq, this proved to be ideal for us. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was very good. Chose to eat out locally as there were so many restaurants close by. Worth paying the premium for the view!!!

Room Tip: Pay the premium for the Times Square view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,587
    3,682
    1,186
    412
    285
See reviews for
3,431
2,215
270
2,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The main reason we stayed here is because of the elevators. I had stayed here before as a child and i remember it being so much more spectacular than it is nowadays. The hotel is in stages of refurbishment outside. It looks horrendous!! If we had been told this before we would not have booked. We are platinum members and expected much much more.
The hotel rooms are fine, however you get a certain Las Vegas type feel here. This hotel is so big that everyone treats you like a number. Nothing special at all.
As a platinum member you expect to get breakfast served either at the executive lounge during the week and then at the restaurant when the lounge is shut. The latter never was granted, however points were given. At a price of $33 per adult and $15 per child we obviously did not take that offer! Rip off!!
All in all a very disappointing stay, i would not recommend this hotel to anyone, except if you want to waste your well earned money on a very quick elevator!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 888Pets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback about the hotel. I'm sorry we were not able to meet your expectations, especially as one of our loyal Platinum Elite guests. Our goal is to create a personalized experience for each guest and from you comments it appears we still need to focus on this. For our Concierge Lounge, our hotel is one of the few that offer only additional bonus points instead of a choice between breakfast and bonus points based on the Elite Member Benefits through Marriott Rewards. Again, we appreciate your review of our hotel and I hope you'll give us a chance to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is amazing! I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were a lot bigger than most hotel rooms in New York. We were able to walk out and be right on Broadway and Times Square! It is the perfect location! We left our rooms and went to see Motown and it was awesome! Everything was right at our finger tips! The only thing I hated was the elevator system that packed people in like sardines. It would send you to a certain letter of the alphabet and you would have 50 ppl trying to get on. If they would fix that I would have no other complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajasmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great review! We're glad you were surprised by the size of your room - they certainly are large. I'm sorry you experienced some issues with our elevators but it's great that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope this positive experience will make our hotel your choice property for your future travel to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
306 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel in the middle of Times Square! There is a lot going on in this hotel – a Starbucks, a Broadway theatre, a restaurant, a lounge, etc. Even with all of the various activities, I still felt secure in the hotel.
There are subway and shuttle stations within walking distance in all directions.
The room was nicely sized. Don’t pay extra to overlook Times Square, for as little as you are in your room, it isn’t worth the $100+ a night. Our room overlooked the Hudson River and was perfect – and I imagine more quiet.
Catching a ride back to the hotel was made easy by the bellmen downstairs, for practically the same cost, we had a private car (which was cleaner, smelled better, the driver was more courteous, etc.). I highly recommend!

Room Tip: save over $100/night and opt for a room NOT overlooking Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieG958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I had only one night to stay in NY and needed the right place to enjoy Manhattan. The location is perfect, right on Times Square. The hotel is pretty big, which makes it a bit impersonal, but that's about the only downside.
The rooms are very nice, great view. The reception was very friendly.
The executive lounge could serve a better breakfast, choice is a bit limited.
The gym is great, overlooking Times Square and with state of the art equipment.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First think I should say and probably the reason I'm giving 4, not 3 stars is the customer service. Fantastic. Bellmen, concierge, check-in staff. All great. If it weren't for them this would have been a 3 at best.

I'd argue this hotel offers the best views of Times Square too. That said, there are 2 other hotels I'd rather stay in any day of the week. I was a first time NYC visitor and wish I'd known what I know now before booking. The Marriott Renaissance is across the street!! It's brand new and a tad cheaper as well.

Maybe I'm a bit snobby, but I feel like the hotel was a outdated, the room had a tub shower for crying out loud. Less updated and luxurious feeling than I prefer at $400 a night. You can get that and more across the street. I'd stay at the Renaissance next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandonBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

First time in the square and the hotel was absolutely perfect for what we had planned. The hotel is right in the busyness of Times Square and our view from the 20th floor was absolutely stunning! Construction at the hotel was a little abrasive but was not a total bummer. The room was large, comfortable and the couch was perfect for a view of the action. The restaurant offered great food with very good service. The buffet on the top was OK, expensive but the revolving floor was worth at least one meal for the view. A must stay (even with the price) if you want to experience Time's Square. As others did mention, the elevator system is a little confusing and can test your patience but don't let that spoil the atmosphere and enjoyment of the bustling Square!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We're happy to have been your hotel choice for your first stay in Times Square! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and got to experience some of the different amenities we offer. We hope you'll have the chance to stay with us again next time you're back in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,316 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,987 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing