We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #174 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Excellent Hotel in centre of New York. Front Desk staff are really good and provides wonderful customer service. We stayed on 21st floor and the room was massive. The glass lifts were real experience. We stayed for five nights but only ones we opted for B Fast in the hotel. It was OK nothing extraordinary.
I do recommend people travelling to New York for first time, should opt for this hotel, thought it might be bit expensive but worth every single penny.

Room Tip: Go for high floors and look for two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Maneesh_singh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,953
    3,876
    1,263
    438
    304
See reviews for
3,772
2,324
283
2,161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Comfortable, well appointed and a downright friendly front desk staff! In the age of surly -snotty- frontline staff, it is a pleasant surprise to be greeted with a genuine smile and kind word. Spoiled the "rude NY" expectation ... In a great way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kae370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We're so glad you got to enjoy our warm hospitality and that it changed your view of New York. Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review. I will be sure to recognize my entire team for a job well done. We can't wait to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Added to the fact that this is a really nice hotel, its in the most perfect location. Everything is just a short walk away. Room service was prompt and delicious, rooms comfortable, clean and spacious. I really enjoyed my stay there

Room Tip: Need to book early to get better deals. They add little upgrades if you ask them
See more room tips
Green Features: I do not know about the environmentally-friendly practices so not much to say there
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks so much for submitting a great review of your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities you used, like room service. I will be sure your comments are shared with our team to recognize them for their hard work. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We are a family of 5 2 adults and our three boys aged 10, 9 , 6 and stayed here with a Times Square view from 8th-13th August, from the check in staff to concierge to reception, all staff encountered were always very warm welcoming and accommodating! Being our first time to New York we had a lot of questions! And these were always answered in the most professional way, we had an especially fantastic service from David at the check in desk who was incredibly thoughtful, and helpful from places to visit and get to to the subway system!

The location of this hotel is also another fantastic plus, we love to walk and were able to walk to Central Park, Bryant park, Madison square gardens, the New York library, grand central station, amongst many other places, also near to subway if you need to go further downtown or uptown!

On check in We mentioned that we were celebrating our sons birthday, and on our penultimate night we returned to our amazing Times Square room from a 12 hour day of sightseeing to be greeted with ice cold milk and cookies, the boys faces were just delightful, mariott really does offer a personalised service, and they cater to your every need. It was such a lovely gesture and a memory that the boys will always cherish!

All the staff we're really helpful but our dealings with David and Raymond who always had a smile on their face no matter what time and were Particularly helpful

We do not understand why people complain about the lifts so much, we actually found this system really efficient and rarely experienced any wait times except for once or twice which would be expected. The same goes for the outside building works we were never affected by this once during our stay!

Overall an amazing stay from check In to the helpful late check out at 12! And location, location, location, Would definitely stay again! Thank you mariott and a big thank you to the very helpful David at chek in!

Room Tip: Always go for a Times Square view definitely worth it! And a higher floor! No worries about sound or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Sham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us for your recent trip and taking the time to share such great comments! The service you received is a clear example of the high standards we have in order to ensure we exceed our guests expectations. The associates you encountered seem to have made a wonderful connection with you and your family and I will ensure they are recognized among our team for their hard work. We hope you'll have a chance to return to New York City in the near future so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had a great stay with our family. Perfect location and the room was a great size for NYC. The check-in experience was great and we had nothing but great things to say about anyone who helped us with luggage, getting our car or a cab. My only complaint isn't really about the hotel but about the construction that is happening outside of the hotel right now. It made it difficult to get to the hotel because roads were closed. Not the hotels fault but I do wish that I was warned when we booked the room - it would have saved us a lot of frustration.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of Times Square -- it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was my second time staying here and as some of the other reviewers said, it is all about location, location, location! For central location and especially if you want to see shows, you can't beat it - which was one of the reasons we stayed here again, we were able to walk to our shows, and there is plenty to do and see in Time Square itself - we spent about an hour and a half just people watching one night! Easy access to other parts of the city and other tourist locations too. Times Square Metro stop has multiple train lines going through it.

As other reviewers mentioned, there is some construction going on the outside of the building...looks like it may be to put some new LED screens on the building on the Times Square side. I was a bit concerned when I read about that after our reservations had been made, but we found that the construction wasn't an issue for us at all. No trouble locating our hotel, and no issues getting in or out of it, or getting around because of the construction. We had absolutely zero issues with the construction at the hotel itself - in fact, it was a total non-issue. It didn't impact the service at the hotel, our room, or our overall experience in any way whatsoever.

I encountered no rudeness with the staff (which some other reviewers had mentioned in previous reviews), in fact, I found it to be quite the opposite, all the staff was quite friendly and helpful. Love the fact that they have their own cab stand around the corner with a fleet of waiting taxis, and the door man will whistle a cab for you...no standing on a street corner and flagging a cab necessary, which made our life a whole lot easier when we did need to find a cab!

No issues with the elevator service, was super quick most times. There was one exception (only one) the entire time we were there where we waited for approximately 10 mins for an elevator on the ground level and it was getting a bit crowded with people waiting, but to be fair, this was at around 5:00 when people seemed to be coming back from a day of sightseeing, or getting ready to go out to shows or dinner, so I'd expect the elevators to be getting more use and slightly slower given the number of people traveling on them. One day I accidentally forgot to get on the elevator at the ground level and got on the escalator instead which took me up one floor. I took the elevator from there. I was dreading a long wait, but it seemed to be a lot quicker from there (I was the only person on it). Given the size of the hotel (I think it is close to 1800 rooms), they do a pretty good job managing the guest traffic on the elevators - if you didn't have some kind of system in place to manage elevator traffic flow it would be utter chaos.

I didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on that, but each morning we grabbed a Starbucks at the shop in the lobby and a bagel before starting our day. Whatever they say about the NY water is absolutely true, because it was one of the best cups of coffee I've had!

Deducting one star because there is no in-room wi-fi, and at the prices being charged for rooms, I personally think it should be included. However, there is free wi-fi in the lobby which is super-fast. Also, no mini-refrigerator in the room, there is more than enough room for a mini-fridge, so I am not sure why there isn't one in the room as standard practice, they definitely should consider adding them to the rooms for the convenience of the guests.

Rooms are just slightly dated but positively huge (especially by NYC standards!) and impeccably clean. There may be swankier hotels (the size of a shoebox) but I'd definitely stay there again for the location, size of the room (my husband commented on how big it was), amenities, and above all, the service. If you want to be in the center of everything, especially if you are there to play tourist IMO it's perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 26th floor, on the side away from Times Square. If you don't plan on spending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellefior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

PROs: Good location in Times Square and good services. Clean spacious room and great view of Times Square.

CONs: WiFi NOT available to Silver Elite...

Can't give this hotel more than 3 stars when compared to the other Manhattan hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Times Square view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrapenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and submitting your comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the location and service of the hotel. We strive to provide a welcoming and personalized experience for each guest. We hope you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again when you are back in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,975 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,554 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
2,367 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing