We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #134 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our 4th visit to NYC and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. Location is key and you couldnt beat this hotel. It has large rooms and its definitely worth upgrading to a Times Square view room. All areas are very clean and staff very friendly. I did need ear plugs but i am a light sleeper.The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The only frustration was the free wifi was only available in the lobby but that was the only complaint. Breakfast was very busy so we opted to visit the Cosmic Diner on 52 Steet ( turn left out of the hotel and its on the right at the end of the block) Really good food, very reasonable and friendly staff. The terrace at the hotel is a lovely area to sit at the end of a busy day and the bar has a wide variety of cocktails. The subway stations are near and its very safe to use this mode of transport even to the Yankee stadium in the Bronx.
All in all an excellent stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Times Square view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singstardiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We thank you for your fantastic five-star review as well as your in-depth feedback. It makes our day to read that our hotel is the best in which you've stayed. Our team will be thrilled to hear this. We'd love to serve you again on your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,128 - 2,134 of 5,533 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was located to close to everything we were interested in seeing on our first visit to New York City. We had a view of Times Square and the train was located within walking distance. The rooms were large enough for 2 adults and two teenagers. The room were clean and comfortable. There was no free internet in room. We only ate breakfast once in the hotel. There were lots of choices but we don't care for our food to be prepared ahead of time. The receptionists need to be more personable and greet people when they enter the hotel. The people at the hotel entance were exceptional; smiled and greeted you everytime! The hotel was a good value for the money and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridajfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am happy you were pleased with our very central location. I will be reviewing your feedback regarding our front desk with the team to see how we can make improvements going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Location is perfect for walking to shows. Bryan Cranston is next door, Jersey Boys across the street, Book of Mormon and Wicked within 2 blocks. Nearly all the theaters are within 5 blocks which is easy walking distance for NYC. Not having to get a cab after a show is wonderful! All the TV show studios are close, too. We got takeout breakfast from Crown diner on the corner. It was fast and adequate and half the price of the hotel breakfast. They will make omelets to order and also have a buffet that is priced by weight. Hotel breakfast always had lines. If you want an expensive, slow breakfast you can try Stardust Diner one morning, just for the music. The hotel front desk and bellhop service were impeccable. $1 per bag to leave your luggage after you check out. They also have a concierge. Since it is a French hotel chain there are a couple of unusual things to mention for Americans - nearly everyone staying in the hotel is French so it can feel a little disorienting, although charming, to be in NYC and have everyone in the elevators speaking French, and the bedding is Euro style, meaning no top sheet, only a duvet. The rooms were QUIET, even by the elevator. The bathroom was large, although a bit lacking in counter space. Large shower with rain shower head. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and all the beds are king size. Towels were a bit cheap feeling compared to the Brooklyn Marriott that we stayed in the night before, but perfectly adequate. Black-out drapes worked well. ADA accessibility was perfect in the hotel, not so great for the subway, but that's another story. Views of Times Square from the restaurant and our room window. Elevators can get a bit busy in the morning, but it wasn't too bad. We walked easily to Rockefeller Center, Central Park, MOMA, Carnegie Hall, 5th Avenue, and the Circle Line Cruise. Access to multiple subway lines is very close. Subway costs $2.50 per ride. Easy walk to Bryant Park - the NYC library there is worth checking out - beautiful building and ongoing museum type exhibits. We mostly ate lunch and dinner at restaurants in other parts of the city, but there are some good places within walking distance on 9th Avenue in Hell's Kitchen (try Nizza for Italian or 5 napkins for burgers). We had dinner at the hotel once and the food was pretty good with great service. All in all a very nice stay for NYC. No complaints.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been recently renovated and they all have king size beds. Can't go wrong. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank food_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Fantastic! Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all of your feedback regarding your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

When we arrived we were given 2 rooms both had not been cleaned we had yo go back to reception and request rooms that were ready . Prior to visit I gad asked for rooms with a Times Square view . ... We never got them .
After a couple of days I asked for a coffee machine and was told they are allocated on a first come first served basis .. We never got one .
Yes the balcony view at the bar area is amazing ! I personally was unimpressed as was my husband .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Lisa - Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your stay. We do apologize that you encountered a couple of issues during your stay. That is obviously never our intention. However, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We will certainly be sharing your review with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

this was first visit to US , New York , Time square and novotel .I needed to have everything as perfect as possible . before my visit , I did several surveys to find out where should I stay in new York . as a tourist , Time square was ultimate destination . the second step was , which hotel in time square . i found Novotel in the list , however old reviews showed rooms issues , construction complains in reception , entrance , etc .
moving up in the reviews , i found better feedback(s) . the renovation has been completed . it covered rooms , restaurant , reception ,etc . so i took the decision , did the reservation .
one of the confusing things when you reach the hotel is that reception is not at hotel entrance . you need to take elevator couple of floors to reach reception . another "worrying" note was the reception . it had new weird decoration with full of blue lights . it sounded like you are entering discotheque not business style brand hotel .
during check-in , i was eligible to room upgrade as Accor gold member . I was granted time square view room in good floor . however , the room was double bed . i had to choose whether to accept the upgraded room or to stay in normal room with king bed . i decided to take time square room and try to switch room later
talking about the room : it's PERFECT . the room size was really suitable . there were huge LCD (50x size) . the usual amenities were available and in nice new condition . the surprise was the beds . the queen beds was the largest queen beds i have ever seen . I decided immediately to continue in this room and don't switch . i used the most near bed to the window for my sleep and the other one for throwing my belongings when i reach the room :-) . one thing to mention is that there is no complementary water or boiler in the room . i requested boiler and shower slippers and i got them with no extra charge
as i part of my gold membership , i got free internet in room . the internet speed is WOW . i streamed HD videos on YouTube with no problem at all . again the best internet i have ever seen
next , let's go to food :) . i made my reservation with breakfast . it was good choice . there were multiple varieties with all good taste .it's not the best ever breakfast , but a very good one . one thing to be taken is that they don't make on demand omelets , waffles . no chef to make your custom requests . it's not a problem for me but some people may hate the breakfast just for this
the hotel had wonderful terrace seeing the beautiful view of time square .
at last day , i did a reservation for shuttle bus to airport . the hotel was known and shuttle bus was able to come on time
finally , thanks Novotel team for nice experience in my first ever visit to US/NY

Room Tip: of course time square rooms + high floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaaFikry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a very thorough review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you found our accommodations comfortable for your first (of hopefully many) visit to the U.S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A group of us stayed at the Novotel for 4 nights over a weekend. Our biggest complaint were the elevators continued to have problems, at one point none were working and a long line of guests had to take the service elevator. This was after the shows got out on Saturday evening. One of our group was actually stuck on an elevator for a while. The line for breakfast was ridiculously long each day. We had a reception the first night and even though my husband ordered a drink several times it was over an hour before he got it and our host had to request it directly.

As for the rooms they were clean though small. The bathroom was poorly lit. I had to sit by the window to apply my makeup. The room did not have enough light either. You could hardly see to read the instructions for the safe. The bathroom had a very shallow basin which splashed water all over the counter every time you used it. I was constantly wiping the water off the counter. Some of our group complained how slippery the shower floor was.

That said, it was a good location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your thoroughness and honesty. We wholeheartedly apologize that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please rest assured that our intentions are always to deliver the best possible service to our guests. We will take your review and make improvements where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a good location inside Manhattan, Novotel can provide it to you, and you will not spend a lot of money. You have to book a room as early as you can, of course. But you will be around nice places to see and to shop, and main subway lines as well.
On the hotels' corner there is a drugstore with good choices os food, breakfast and water. Cheaper than you'll find into the Novotel. So you can save some money.
The hotel's bar has nice drinks with great service.
Overall, extremely recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcelopaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate your kind words about our property and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
439 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,256 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 469 in New York City
9,767 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,979 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 469 in New York City
6,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £143 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing