We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for first timers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #135 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in the Novotel Times Square between 30th April and 4th May as part of our honeymoon in the USA.

The hotel is located right on Broadway and 4 blocks north of Times Square - perfect location for first timers in NYC. The entrance is on 52nd W and Broadway and its really easy to find. We flew into Newark and it was only about 30mins and a $70 taxi ride away.

We arrived early at the hotel (check in was 3pm), and the receptionist advised us that our room wasn't ready and that they didn't want us to change rooms because the view from our room was too good. We checked our bags and went for a quick drink in the bar until our room was ready. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the bar had a magnificent view of Times Square and Broadway - including a fantastic roof terrace which is well worth a cocktail or two on. The drinks aren't cheap by any stretch of the imagination - $30 for a two drink round including tip... but it is New York.

I'm glad we waited for our room, the view was SPECTACULAR!! We were in room 2110 (21st floor) and could see Times Square and Broadway in all its glory! The room its self was clean and very modern. The bathroom was a very high standard and the bed was at least a Super King Size! I woke up at 4:30am to find my wife siting on the chaise lounge just looking out onto the NYC view in front of us.

I've seen a few reviews about the length of time for breakfast, however as we stayed on a room only basis this was not an issue. There were plenty of breakfast places in close proximity to the hotel - including a McDonalds directly below on Broadway.

The only downside was on checkout, the receptionist said we had drinks on our room which needed to be settled. As we paid cash for all our drinks we knew this was false and challenged it. The receptionist asked if he found the receipt if he could charge it to my credit card.... this was abruptly refused! The hotel agreed to waiver this, however it kind of left a sour taste in our mouths.

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and we'd definitely consider staying here next time we're in New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of Times Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveC1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your thorough review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay, overall, but I do want to apologize for the issue you experienced at check-out. We'd be honored to serve you again while in NYC, and provide an unforgettable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,213 - 2,219 of 5,694 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just returned from a visit to NYC and the Novotel was our home base. We arrived early expecting to just leave our luggage and go sightseeing. They were able to accomodate us so that we could freshen up and leave our luggage in our room when we arrived. We ate breakfast there before heading out. While a little on the pricey side - as every meal is in NYC - we ate a huge breakfast that was delicious and lasted us until dinner! The room was updated and lovely, comfy bedding, nice amenities, super location, and friendly employees. The last time I stayed at this hotel was 2007 and It has been renovated since then. I loved it then and really love it now. We plan a return trip soon!

Room Tip: High floor on the Times Square side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel, location, and friendly team members. We certainly hope we get the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Located very close to Times Square. Good service and very helpfull concierge service. Nice size room on the 29th floor - recommend going for a high floor to get the view. Well equipped gym but as the hotel is located close to Central Park its easy to go for a jog there as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dak83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad we could provide you with a great stay while in NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is on one of the best places in Manhattan. You can sit on a terrace, drink your cocktail and see directly on Times Square under you. Amazing!
The hotel has been completely reconstructed and all rooms including lobby and restaurant have modern and breath taking new look.
You can have also a breakfast as buffet with everything what you could want. Just one unpleasant thing is that you need to wait in queue during the morning peak.
The price is not cheap, but I take it as adequate for this hotel and great service.

Room Tip: Invest a little bit more money and take a room with view on Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We're thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went with a friend to the Novotel Times Square, located on 52nd street. There is a brand new bar with an unbelievable view on Times Square. It is not advertised and there is no signage from the street. But go to the hotel and go to the lobby, the bar is right there. There is a beautiful outside area and a great restaurant with very reasonable prices for great food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMaskedwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Glad you enjoyed our bar and amazing views! Thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Broadway, few steps away from Times Square, and it's new. Same standard quality of other new Novotel around the world. Big room, comfortable bed, big shower, in general good room. Only problems:
- I would have preferred to have a minibar, whilst in the room there is a refrigerator but you have to buy water and take it to the room
- the queue at the restaurant in the morning was incredibly long: I had no breakfasts at the hotel 'cause I didn't want to waste more than 1 hour. But as in NYC you can eat almost everywhere, this was not such a big problem...
- One USD each luggage left at the concierge... not too much, but come on!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxTreviglio_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. We will certainly be sharing your review with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in room 2505 on the 25th floor. The room was beatiful and very modern. We had a Times Square view and it has to be said that the view was AMAZING! As it was my 30th birthday, we were given complimentary wifi for the 5 nights we stayed. Location was amazing and easy walking distance to all sights! Would highly recommend this hotel and have already told friends/family about it. The only very minor thing was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Would definitely stay here again. Also ensure you watch Les Mis at the Imperial theatre!! What a. Show!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonno108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are honored you chose to spend your birthday with us, and in NYC. We certainly are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,394 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#101 of 470 in New York City
484 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 470 in New York City
9,898 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,658 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#190 of 470 in New York City
8,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £130 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing