We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel. You pay for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average hotel. You pay for location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is newly renovated.

Location is everything.

Reception is in an upper floor. Very strange decoration.

The room was big although the fabrics were not very good. They have a very big tv which was good. The bathroom was kind of small.

But I prefer to pay a couple of dollars more and stay in the wonderful Sofitel New York. I cannot believe that they cost almost the same! But they are worlds apart!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cramond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
While your review is not the kind of review we strive for, we appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel. We're glad we provided you with a central location, but it seems as though we fell short in other areas. We will certainly be sharing your review with our team to see how we can improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,392
    1,925
    452
    119
    67
See reviews for
1,983
1,544
160
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a short break in New York staying at the Novotel, Times square. The room was large enough for two very comfortable double beds and was very clean and modern. The outside bar has fabulous views of Times Square and it was lovely to spend the evening looking over New York, with very attentive service from the bar staff. We didn't eat in the hotel as there is so much choice nearby.don't miss Stardust Diner opposite the hotel where the waiters and waitresses sing throughout the evening.

Room Tip: Would be worth paying extra for view of Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, found our team attentive, and our guest rooms clean and modern. Hope to see you again if you should return to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just was lucky enough to spend a week at the Novotel in Times Square. As a travel agent from Aus who had sold this property to a few friends and also had friends recommend it to me, I was eager to see what the hype was all about. Normally when people tell you how great something is, you try said thing and are disappointed.. I can 100% say this was not the case with the Novotel. They easily went above and beyond our expectation.
First impressions truly last, and you feel welcomed at this hotel from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. First encounter was with Rita at the check in desk. She was so friendly and helpful and made us feel excited about our trip by making the experience feel personalised. We also asked for a free late checkout and was granted this without hesitation.
We then arrived to our room only to be surprised by the quality and modernness of our room. The pictures this property has and on trip adviser do not do it justice. The rooms are much larger then they appear on line. And our room was spotless from top to bottom. It felt clean and comfortable. Special mention about the bed..by far the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in.

You are also given some comfy novotel slippers and dressing gowns, and instantly feel a little bit richer. We were welcomed by a card from the reservations manager telling us to enjoy our stay....talk about the service! Everyone was so friendly and helpful, right down to the men out front getting you a taxi. Which was excellent because it made you feel like you had a safe welcoming place to come back to after braving Times Square.
The concierge was helpful and knowledgable with directions and things to do. Don't be afraid to ask him for help, it is what he is there for.

The only constructive thing I would mention about the property is that the breakfast is quite expensive and for what was on offer, in all honesty you could go to APPLEBYS on the corner and have it cooked fresh for almost half the price and feel much more satisfied after.
I was also surprised that wifi was not complimentary in the guest rooms, especially considering the quality of the property and their tech savvy reputation.
We were also a little unlucky that on one of our nights, the hot water was switched off for maintenance between a certain time frame, and we did not see the letter notifying us until the next day as it was put in the corner of the room. Wouldn't have bothered us except that we had been out all day and my partner was very ill.

But Overall, the experience was absolutely excellent. Clean, funky property, spacious rooms, amazing service, amazing views, and good location if you are a fan of Times Square.
Still within easy distance to many subways and walking to Central Park. Definitely gives you that jaw drop moment.

Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene21818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for your review. We are honored by your kind words regarding our hotel and team. We appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback, and apologize for the small inconvenience regarding our maintenance during your stay. We will share your review with our team to see where we can make improvements going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

They have certainly done a great job of renovating the hotel rooms, but unfortunately the lobby was still ongoing when we were there, which was a bit of an inconvenience. The only let down was the view. We booked a Times Sq view, but to take advantage of it you had to press your head against the glass and turn to the right.. Seriously? Felt like deceptive advertising.. If I went back, I'd only book a random any room for location, NOT the view.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank acesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We apologize for your experience on this occasion. We can assure you that many of our guest rooms offer amazing views of the city. We do wish we could have rectified the situation during your stay. We always aim to surpass our guests' expectations, and it looks like we fell short. We do hope we'll have the opportunity to renew your feelings toward our hotel in the future. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Came to New York for a quick trip with my mom and we didn't spend much time at the hotel but we had great cocktails at the Super Nova bar. The cocktails (planet Claire and champagne hoity-toity) were inventive and delicious and the service was out of this world (pun intended). Gerard, our bartender was knowledgeable about the menu, courteous and fast. He even told us about other places to check out in the city including a little gem for dinner. Even if you aren't looking for a place to stay, this bar and bartender are a great post show spot. The views of Times Square cocktails and service can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMGinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled your mom and you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed a quick trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just back from a great stay at this newly renovated hotel where we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. The room we stayed in was lovely (wonderful pillows) with a great view of Times Square. The only thing lacking was a kettle and cups. Our present (a bottle of champagne) from friends in the UK was not delivered when they had requested it to be, so the hotel compensated with complimentary breakfast. All sorts of everything, and all very scrummy!! The manager even came to congratulate us and have a chat.
We would definitely recommend Novotel NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks again for choosing to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with us! Outstanding! We hope you enjoyed our hotel and everything NYC has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Novotel over Memorial Day weekend. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. Nice clean chic modern hotel just steps from all the lights and action of Times Square and Broadway shows. We saw Bryan Cranston (from Breaking Bad) right outside the hotel signing autographs after his show, All the Way. Very cool. Easy walk to Rockefeller Center and Central Park, and close to the subway, which we caught for a quick ride to the Village and Soho. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable king size bed with a great view of Times Square....and quiet, even though the action was so close. Delicious breakfast buffet in the morning too. Service was excellent. Even when you're in the City That Never Sleeps, you might want just a little sleep after a full day and night of exploring, and this worked prefectly for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank geokoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,281 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Property: Novotel New York Times Square
Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing