We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #136 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed as a family of four at the Novotel New York Hotel for 10 days in late June. The hotel's Broadway location is perfect and the hotel looks onto Times Square. It's within walking distance from restaurants, shops, theatres and several main attractions e.g. the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Centre, Central Park, Fifth Avenue, Macy's and Bloomingdale's. Public transport is also easily accessible with the subway and buses offering frequent and efficient transportation to reach other attractions in Downtown, Midtown and Uptown Manhattan and beyond.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly. The doormen were always polite and the concierge was very helpful. Check in was prompt and the staff at reception were excellent and also very helpful, especially Vincent. The house keeping staff were great and our room and bathroom were always clean and tidy.

The newly renovated hotel is very modern and was always in immaculate condition. We were fortunate enough to have a room on a higher floor with a Times Square view. The rooms have air con, a large flat screen TV and a mini fridge, and was big enough to accommodate four of us. The lifts from the lobby to the other floors were very quick and always in service. The lobby has good seating areas, large flat screen TVs, games consoles and complimentary use of computers. The restaurant and the bar look really nice and offer a lot of food and drink choices. The outside terrace is a great feature of the hotel, which provides excellent views of Times Square and has plenty of seating.

Check out is at 12:00 but for an additional $1 per bag the hotel will store your baggage until 23:00, which is useful for later flights.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Novotel and would recommend this hotel, we'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor with a Times Square view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bhaz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We really appreciate all of your comments and feedback, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,506
    1,999
    475
    123
    72
See reviews for
2,065
1,618
170
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boaz, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May 2014. It was very modern and very clean. We loved the location. It was in the middle of Times Square and walking distance to great restaurants. I was well pleased with the hotel and would recommend it to anyone. If I were returning to NYC I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Croppinnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for the positive review! Your recommendation is very much appreciated and I hope your next stay with us is sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Novotel Times Square for 8 nights in July. Great location, great lobby and rooftop bar. We experienced problems with the elevators over the July 4th long weekend when we forced to use the service elevator. The waits for regular lifts was far too long. In general, the staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. Very mixed experience of a great location with problems with customer experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I am sorry to read that we missed the mark when it came to guest service on this occasion. Our team holds exceptional guest service in high regard, and I apologize that you may not have received that exceptional service. We will most definitely use your comments to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok for a short stay but I wasn't overly impressed by it. The lobby and reception area is nice and stylish and loction is great but it stops there. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the mini bar was empty. No complimentary water which you would expect from a 4 star (we had this in another nearby hotel that was a 3 star) and you have to pay for wifi. It was noisy on Friday night feom street noise outside. Also we booked a standard room with 2 double beds for 3 people (2 of us were going to share one of the doubles) and we were given one double bed and an uncomfortable rock hard sofa which we had to make up into a bed ourselves (the sheets and pillows were dumped on top.) It wasn't even sofa bed,it was literally a sofa. We asked to move rooms to a room with 2 doubles and they they said they don't guarantee that you get the two double beds but we weren't told that when we booked! We booked a standard double double. They did give us a new room the next night though which we were happy with but still lacked any facilities. On the plus side the staff were friendly enough and location is good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I apologize for the various issues you encountered during your stay. I will certainly be sharing your review with our team to see where improvements may be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyldesley UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

First of all it's in a great location - right on Times Sqaure. It was highly recommended to us and didn't disappoint. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and had no complaints at all. Most enjoyable aspect is the bar terrace overlooking Times Square where you can sit in the evening with a drink taking in the sights, sounds and aromas of New York. Nothing to quibble about. It was just great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted that we could offer you a great experience while in New York. The terrace overlooking Times Square is a favorite of many. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at novotel for 10 days with our 8 month old baby. Whilst the hotel is new and in a good location, there is nothing else that I can say that is good about this hotel. The staff are unhelpful and rude. You feel like you are an inconvenience to them if you ask for help. You need to take a lift to the lobby (there are only 2 lifts) and another lift to your room (there are only 4 lifts). The lifts are slow and were always broken down. One night the hotel decided to do a test fife alarm at 10pm, why I don't know, but it scared my sleeping baby. The hotel restaurant is over priced and the food is substandard. Like I said, hotel is in a great location but there are plenty of other good hotels near by that we will stay at next time. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Amanda - Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to read that your experience with us did not exceed your expectations. An experience such as yours is never acceptable, and again, we wholeheartedly apologize. We do hope we are able to earn the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
6,429 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,779 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 467 in New York City
356 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Property: Novotel New York Times Square
Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing