We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and neat NY-hotel with good views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #136 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Laren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Modern and neat NY-hotel with good views”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Based on the Tripadvisor-opinions we chose this hotel. Depending On the thought that a hotel in this surrounding should offer a high standard of facilities and maintainance, Novotel Times Square didn't disappoint us. The only room that could have been maintained a little bit better was the gym. Some equipment wasn't working properly...

The view from our 27th floor room was excellent and the elevators and lobby are nicely designed and furnished. The view from the 7th floor terrace to Times Square also made up to our expectations.

Reception personnel was really nice and explained to us how we would get a free wifi connection. They also explained the bill very good allthough the height always disappoints...

The restaurant is a little small for breakfast, so you'll have to stand in line to have a table. After that the buffet suffises greatly.

All in all an address to advise strongly! Your money is well-spent @ Novotel Times Square

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ_Hildebrand_Laren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated. I am happy to read that fellow TripAdvisor users were able to help you make an informed decision when choosing to stay with us. I will let the proper personnel know of your comments about the gym and we will see what we can do to minimize problems with our equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    1,971
    465
    120
    70
See reviews for
2,021
1,592
167
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

That's a modern hotel, very comfortable rooms, staff always friendly. I didn't like that we have to pay for the wifi, as the rates of the hotel are already high. Very good located, near central park, moma and a beside times square.
I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlinha_Freitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation! Our contemporary offerings, friendly staff, and comfortable guest rooms are three things on which we pride ourselves, and I am elated that you felt the same way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you're planning to head to NYC near Central Park, Times Square or Radio City Music Hall, consider staying at the Novotel. Location is right on Broadway and 52nd, an easy walk to Central Park and surrounding attractions including the Late Show, Columbus Circle, Wicked, Cinderella, and Rockefeller Center. Great views either from your room (if you're on Broadway) or the hotel bar/lobby terrace looking onto Times Square. With all the surrounding "action", it's very quiet. You can't hear the cabs or the trash. The Novotel is clean and modern with comfortable beds and plenty of outlets. My only watchout is that the shower is enclosed in glass and the shower door could be a challenge for larger individuals. Overall, very friendly service. I made the mistake of forgetting an item in the safe and appreciated their friendly and quick response in which they were able to send my item free of charge. I am very grateful! This was a business trip and the rate was a good value vs. other chain hotels in the area. I would highly recommend staying at the Novotel for a future visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Broadway, higher up (it's NYC!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tskinn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am delighted to hear that you were able to get a good night’s rest despite staying in the city that never sleeps! Your recommendation means a lot to our team, and we hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very happy with the hotel, stayed 2 days over 4th of July long weekend. Great location and a great hotel especially in NY. The weekend was a New York Broadway play weekend for us. Went to Jersey boys (right across the street) and saw Newsies. We had a great time! plus if you are into steaks. Gallaghers steakhouse is right next door. YUMMY

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NealWallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are thrilled we could provide you with a great place to stay during the long weekend! The next time you’re in town to see a show, we hope you’ll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I can't imagine a better place for an hotel to stay to visit NYC. Very close to Times Square, to a Metro stop, to theathers... the hotel has been recently renovated; rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is very kind, i'll be back for sure. My only disappointment: wifi is not free in the rooms, only in shared places, like hall and restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davide T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review! Friendly staff and cozy guest rooms are important in a hotel, especially if you’re looking for a place to relax amid the hustle and bustle of NYC. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wow! Right in the heart of the broadway district, 5 minute walk to Times Square! This hotel is totally modern, clean with super comfy beds! Breakfast at this hotel was delicious, hot, with a huge choice of different foods on the buffet and great coffee. Very friendly staff, just a great experience!

Room Tip: All floors have awesome view of New York City at night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbucto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Your five-star review is greatly appreciated! I am so happy you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, comfortable beds, and personable staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and have a spectacular view! The rooms were nice but I don't care for dark ambient lighting or fluorescent headboard lighting but details were well appointed. The hotel was super quiet and staff was extremely helpful as well as nice. I think this is a great hotel for swanky get togethers and the location was perfect for all things NYC!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertRhayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSternagel, General Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I am delighted that we could provide you with friendly service and a quiet, “swanky” place to stay while exploring New York City. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,714 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,369 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Property: Novotel New York Times Square
Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing