We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #374 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel in perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

if you want a decent clean hotel close to Times square then this is your hotel,
less than 1 block walk to the middle of times square,easy access to taxis from the other side of the hotel,room are VERY small though

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahmoud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer many sizes of rooms that we would be happy to show you the next time you visit NYC.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    1,266
    908
    424
    320
See reviews for
858
1,272
235
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I tried The Paramount because my usual hotel was full. I'll now be staying at The Paramount.

The room was very clean. It was average size compared to other Manhattan hotels. The bathroom was a decent size, certainly not the smallest I've stayed in.

If you want a nice quiet room, you don't want to stay in Times Square. The usual sirens and NY sounds didn't keep me awake at night, but might affect others - I also like to keep the windows slightly open.

Wireless internet in the room was expensive, so like other guests I used the free internet access in the lobby. The lobby itself is dark, with a large fireplace and lots of seating.

There's a coffee shop attached to the hotel which was pretty good (better than Starbucks). The bar area was nice - it's away from the street entrance so it wasn't too busy.

I used the free gym every day and only saw someone else in there on one occasion! There were 3 treadmills, some fixed weights and free-weight dumbbells with benches. More than adequate for a hotel gym.

For some reason my room keys kept losing their magnetic code, so I had to go to reception a few times. I'm not sure what caused this - I've stayed in many hotels with electronic keys and never had such a problem before. The hotel staff just kept re-syncing my room keys without any problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for taking to the time to share your thoughts! I always appreciate comments such as yours, for they make all our hardwork worthwhile. As you noted, we have clean rooms, well located and our Corso coffee is amazing. I am so glad you had the opportunity to share our wonderment. Thanks again for staying with us, and I hope that we have the opportunity to create a memorable experience for you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed over the weekend to see musical, and this hotel offers a better deal for the good location it has. Our room was small, but it was very clean, no complaints on that. The lobby area is super cozy, one of the best I've seen. Unfortunately, check-in time was terribly long, waited half an hour at the lobby while seeing other guests got their room within few minutes.
Our room faced the street, and it was noisy almost entire night, we kept hearing trucks all night long. But I guess that's why it is called the city that never sleep.
If your purpose is to see musical, this hotel can be a good option. Bear in mind the noise and the crowded broadway street (I eventually chose to walk on 8th avenue instead).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! I am very pleased that we were able to host such a memorable experience. We do have other rooms behind the hotel that are more quiet for your needs. I do apologies that our check-in was long and sometimes if you want rooms with a view they take a little longer. I appreciate your loyalty and hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just Came back from a long weekend break in NYC.. We Travelled from Ireland for my daughters 18th Birthday. . There was 4 of us in a double double room. It was not a very big room but it met our needs perfectly. Location is BRILLIANT... SPOTLESS CLEAN. but expensive to eat or drink in.. Considering it is NYC, there is Pizza & Pasta etc next door and all around..
We had a Perfect Time and Would Recommend this Hotel EVERYTIME...

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely review! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your continued loyalty.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Paramount and so glad we chose to stay again - the hotel's location is fantastic and very central.

We arrived at the hotel at 12pm with a view to just drop our bags off as we were early for check in (check in is at 3pm), but we were able to check in early and received an upgrade (at no extra cost!!). Catherine on the front desk was so helpful, and was even kind enough to give us a code for the WIFI that is usually chargeable. The lobby is very chic and smells amazing!!

Rooms are a little on the small side but are very comfortable and immaculate - same for the bathrooms too! There is also a laptop size safe in the room - which was great as safety was important to us.

We will for sure be booking to stay again at the Paramount for our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSihera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience of our hotel! It is fantastic to see that our location was so conducive in making your stay a successful one. We are so fortunate with our ideal location that is so centrally located. I am so pleased that your accommodations enhanced your pleasant experience as well.

Thank you so much once again and we look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Rooms are small (at least mine was). Guy at the front door has no idea what time the kitchen closes. Also didn't know where i could get a slice of pizza nearby (1/2 a block away). WiFi pay-wall is more annoying than most. I was at this hotel for a business trip and the hotel was totally OKAY. Just Okay. Not terrific. Not Awesome. Certainly not the paramount.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatherdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please allow me to sincerely apologize if you did not enjoy your stay. Guest comfort is a key concern of ours, and to hear that you did not receive quick and immediate attention is troubling to hear. Please be assured that we will discuss your concern with our staff so that issues such as these do not occur again. I do thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Arthurdale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My daughter took me to New York to see Wicked and we stayed at the Paramount. This was a great hotel for us. Central location to everything we wanted to see. Yes the rooms were small but met our needs perfectly. I will definitely go back....plan to make it a yearly event.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for the nice words and for spending time with us! Our team prides themselves on ensuring our guests stays are wonderful, mission accomplished! It is great to see that your room was comfortable as well!

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,703 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,635 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,961 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#329 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing