We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #380 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“November 2013”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very good location. Small room. Really small bath. Both renovated. Basic room amenities but NO fridge.
Reception nicely renovated with free wifi.
Drawback: After long travel, receptionist still made me wait for an hour to get my room at 3:00 sharp (although it was ready).
Good: Receptionist NERMA noticed I was tired and uncomfortable so she offered free wifi in room during my stay.
Drawback: Room service took forever to provide me with a fork. My food was getting cold, so I called and she said: "we're working on it!"
Drawback: Porter charges $2.00 fee for kept luggage after checkout.
Drawback: A bit pricey for the quality and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sincerely sorry for the unfortunate issue you experienced with room service. This I have addressed based on your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    1,354
    999
    479
    374
See reviews for
977
1,365
272
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here this past Saturday. It was my first Priceline purchase and it worked out very well. The location is between 7th and 8th avenue, right in the heart of the theater district. We needed just a place to crash after a wedding that we attended. I'll start with the bad. The other reviews hit the nail in the head. The room was extremely small. The bed took up about 80% of the room. That concludes the bad. Now the good. Very cool/trendy lobby. The service was outstanding. Carlos was especially nice and let us check out an hour later. The most important aspect of any stay is cleanliness and this hotel was very clean. The guys out front valeting were great and my car was brought maybe 5 minutes after I handed them my ticket. Very pleased with the experience especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
On behalf of my team and myself, we are so pleased that you love our hotel and that your friends and family have enjoyed our staff’s service and the value of what our hotel offers. Thank your for recognizing Carlos outstanding servicer, I have shared your comments with him and he was thrilled by your recognition. We look forward to welcome your family and yourself to our hotel in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here over the weekend and would not recommend it to anyone. Terrible hotel experience & lack of customer service. The lobby looks very nice & modern but it ends there. Upon arrival I had checked in some bags as my room wasn't ready. Coming back from a long exhausting day the bellman was no where to be found. End up going to our room without the bags. The TV channels didn't work. It was very static and couldn't watch the channel we wanted. The window in the room was filthy! Dinner at the bar/ restaurant was a joke. We sat ourselves as the hostess was nowhere to be found. Had to ask the busser for the menu. Waiter was very short. Food was mediocre & very over priced. Would have been better off dining outside. The 7am wake up call was never delivered. The extended check out that was requested over the phone was never taken down. I specifically asked if the key will still work and was told yes. The key didn't work. If you are new to New York, their parking policy is really strict. If you park your car for 25 hrs or more you will be charged a 2nd day. We are new to the area and was not told this upon check in. If I had known this I would have moved my car. Oh 1 more important thing to remember, if you are parking your car at the hotel, make sure to note down your gas level when you check in. I specifically remember that there was over a half a tank of gas left the day I check in & the next day when I check out the tank was nearly empty. I know they park your car at a different location but it doesn't take half a tank to drive there and back. Very fishy! I don't recommend this place for families or business travelers. Even the wifi has a surcharge.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. On behalf of the team and myself, we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us. I did inform all of our Department Heads and they were very disappointed as well. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay before joining our group at another hotel in Times Square so gave this place a try.
Price is cheaper than many for the location but you get what you pay for.
Whole hotel is VERY dark, from the lobby to hallways, etc.
Reception people friendly and helpful enough and we did like the security checking for keys when we got back late one night.
Rooms are very small and no coffee maker, etc. TV reception faded in out too much.
If you need a room to just sleep while out and about this place is ok.
Good location!
Stay up higher if you don't want the noise of NYC all night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed some aspects of our hotel, we do offer many sizes of rooms that we would be happy to show you the next time you visit NYC. I do thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and myself stayed at the Paramount for our anniversary, when checking in we spoke with Cathy who was extremely helpful. When she heard it was our 25th wedding anniversary she went the extra mile and up grated our room. The room was beautiful and the location is perfect.
Cathy helped make our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695ginav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and I am please to hear that your had an amazing experience at our hotel. I will share your comment with Cathy. We hope to have you stay with us if your future travels bring you back to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at the Paramount Hotel from 11/11/13 – 11/13/13. As soon as I walked into the hotel I received excellent customer service. The front lobby staff, I believe her name was Nathalie, was extremely professional and welcoming. She insured my luggage was stored while my room was made available. She called me and let me know that my room was ready, and upon my departure from the hotel made the check-out experience fast and easy so that I could catch my train. The storage room staff were also very professional as well.

I felt the rooms were small, but had a nice cozy feel to it. The fitness room was sufficient for a hotel of its size, containing several cardio and weight lifting machines, and dumbbells. The hallways were fairly dark, and I felt they would do better to brighten them up. The bathroom tub in my room could have used a little upgrading. But the bathroom and the room itself were kept very clean. The cleaning staff did a great job with room cleanliness, towels, etc. Overall, the hotel has a comfortable, laid back, unpretentious feel to it.

In summary, I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely choose this hotel again during my next business trip to NY which will be very soon and often.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful 5 Star review. I am so pleased that you got the uniqueness of our hotel - great service, great design, great value.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

From the minute we checked in, we had an excellent stay. The location is great, the room is great. The hotel is beautiful. My 8 year old daughter and i loved every minute. Can't get closer to Times Square.
Carlos U. at the front desk was great!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor - had no problem with the street noise. It was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review!!! I am very proud of our staff, especially Carlos and the service he provides. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,121 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#345 of 468 in New York City
17,519 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#360 of 468 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 468 in New York City
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing