We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad attitude from reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #382 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad attitude from reception staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in the Paramount Hotel before but found this experience very disappointing. I was staying with my sister and my young son who is a baby under 1 year. Upon arrival I found the room had no kettle for me to boil water for my babys bottle. I went to reception to ask them if they had any kettles for such circumstances. I was told "we dont do that here you will have to go and buy one". The attitude was very dismissive and I left reception quite upset. I was not offered any help with bringing my luggage to my room which I have always had before in every hotel I have ever stayed in within the USA. I tried to find a kettle that night but as I had only arrived I did not have time to go to every shop to find one. I went back to reception at 11.00pm and asked if it was even possible to have a cup of hot water until I could buy a kettle. I got the exact same response "we dont do that here go to the coffee shop next door". I can accept that no kettles are provided and maybe nobody in the hotel drinks tea or coffee but the attitude of the staff members was appalling and very unfriendly. I had to buy a kettle for $40 to boil water. The room was ok but had no stopper in the bath so I could not give my baby a bath and the sinks stopper did not work properly so I could not even sit him in that to wash him. The hotel is certainly not child friendly. I can accept the issues with the room as the clening of it on a daily basis was excellent and the fact that no kettle was provided but my main reason for writing this review is the staffs attitude. A little compassion and friendly attitude goes a long way. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EeyoreDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We value each of our guests and it’s never pleasant to be informed that a guest had a negative experience. Our hotel prides itself in providing the best possible customer service to our guests. This is not indicative of the service we seek to provide. I would like to further investigate your concerns with our management team to ensure this matter is addressed. Please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on your reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    1,354
    995
    477
    373
See reviews for
972
1,362
271
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have for many years stayed at The Paramount Hotel in New York and would never choose anywhere else. It's central location,comfort,cleanliness value for money and friendly staff make this one of the best boutique hotels in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traynor150921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate the loyalty to our hotel and look forward to servicing you as our guest in the future.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

With awesome service, great location and a reasonable price, I will stay here again and have no problem recommending the Paramount to friends and family. This was a great home base for a New York weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate you sharing your 5 star experience with us! How awesome is it to receive awesome service, a great location and a reasonable price all in one place? Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to New York City.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Paramount is really an interesting place. One of the most beautiful lobbies you'll see anywhere, a full refurbishment, a terrific location if you're doing anything related to Times Square/Theatre district or just looking to be in midtown, and generally a friendly, helpful staff. It's also idiosyncratic - one of the darkest hotels in which I've ever stayed (the lobby is vampire friendly at 11 am, and it's almost laughingly dark in the elevators to the point where the numbers are hard to see), the rooms are postage-stamp sized but fairly typical for a boutique hotel in NY (and are clean, albeit quite spartan), the workout facility is small and cramped, an d there are small things like the coffee shop doesn't open until 7 am (in NY??). I also had a bad experience with the concierge, who made a recommendation for dinner (was looking for mexican food) and sent me to a little hellhole of a place located in Hell's Kitchen that had no liquor license and had seating for about four people. Pleasant surprises included a meal I had (try the waffle-ized chicken sandwich, strange though it sounds), and a cozy and - of course - hyper-dark lounge. It's an aesthetically striking facility that gets even better on closer inspection - just sitting in the lobby to check email, people-watch and relax is a wonderful experience - and I'd go back. Sun glasses definitely not needed indoors!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowslower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It’s unfortunate to here that the recommendation you were provided did not work our well. Your feedback has been shared with the team in order for us to provide the best service possible to each of our guests. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time you’re in New York City.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Paramount Hotel from May29-June 2. The location was perfect. We wanted to see Motown the musical . We were just steps away from the theater . The Paramount is near everything! The staff was very helpful as well as friendly. The rooms were a bit smaller than what I'm accustomed to however they were very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Loved the lobby! There are a few things that I wished they had : more lighting in the halls and elevators, a refrigerator ,microwave and a coffee pot. Overall i enjoyed my stay. I would definitely reserve a room again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feliciab35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We’re glad to hear that our hotel is positioned perfectly for everything you wanted to be near including Motown. We have several different size rooms that our staff can assist you with to upgrade to if your found your room to be smaller than you would have liked. Also, there are refrigerators available upon request. Always feel free to ask for any additional amenities you may need prior to or during check-in. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights here, in a deluxe king. Well, first off, don't trust the pictures on the website. Deluxe king does not come with a couch (as shown). When I questioned front desk about if we were in a deluxe, she said yes. I said 'but its supposed to have a couch', she said 'sir, I just work here'. Yes, actually said that. To which I showed her a pic of the website and the couch for deluxe room and she said 'I didn't make the website, I only work here'. Unbelievable.,
Room had no couch, no clock, AC didnt work properly, bathroom faucets leaked, low water pressure, etc etc.
Hotel lobby had a sleazy vibe to it.
Save your money and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn a few blocks away, which might not be a 'boutique' hotel (still trying to figure out what that means), and stay at a place with corporate standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tabascov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Please allow me to apologize that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We value each of our guests and it’s never pleasant to be informed that a guest had a negative experience. Our hotel seeks to provide customers with the best information possible through our website which notes the correct details of what is included in each room. I apologize if your concern with the couch was not further investigated. I would like to follow up on your concerns with the rooms overall. We provide ourselves in providing highest level of customer service to all of our guests. Please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on your reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to hearing from you and resolving your concerns.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Angola, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My fiancé and I attempted to stay here in mid-march and it almost ruined our mini-vacation to NYC!!!! First we were left standing outside waiting for 30 minutes for the guy to bring us a luggage rack to bring our bags upstairs. When we finally arrived in our closet of a room that had a view of absolutely nothing, I attempted to take a shower; to my dismay the faucet turned on (cold water only) and then fell off in my hand. After waiting another half hour for maintenance to get to our room, he couldn't fix it; in turn we were "upgraded" to a larger room. Instead of being offered bell service to move our stuff, we had to ask for it and ended up waiting 20 minutes before we just grabbed our stuff ourselves. Upon arriving in our new room, I finally got to take a shower with hot water!!! Yay!!! However when I got out of the shower and reached for a towel...there was (what looked like) PUBIC hair on the towel!!!! Good thing I packed my own towels! So my fiancé and I decided to go out fit a while, before we left we told the manager about the disgusting towels and he apologized and said it would be taken care of before we returned. Sooooo, we get back to our room after we ate and there is a pile of new towels on out bed but the pubic hair towel is STILL hanging in the bathroom!!!! At this point we're beyond disgusted, my fiancé decided to got down stairs again and inform the manager and asked him to come up to our room to see that he has incompetent staff. The manager yelled at my fiancé and when my fiancé went to use his cell phone to call hotels.com to complain to then, the manager SLAPPED HIS PHONE OUT OF HIS HAND and said that he was kicking us out of the hotel and calling the police!!!!!!! Hotels.com did refund all of our $ for this hotel and found us a room that was much nicer and slightly cheaper at the Edison only a block away...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmj8883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. We value each of our guests and it’s never pleasant to be informed that a guest had a negative experience. All of our managers and staff have been trained to provide the highest level of customer service possible to each of our guests. This type of behavior is not acceptable in any way; therefore I would like to further investigate the alleged actions to ensure this matter is appropriately addressed. Please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on your reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to hearing from you and resolving your concerns.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,113 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,467 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#361 of 468 in New York City
1,216 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,969 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 468 in New York City
4,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing